HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 23, 2011, 11:57 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
116 Posts
Discussion
I am new to RC and bought a aurora 9 tx. What is this? It came with it

http://cgi.ebay.com/Hitec-Switch-Har...item2eb5f9fcd1
Chestersdead is offline Find More Posts by Chestersdead
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 23, 2011, 12:04 PM
Registered User
Ken Myers's Avatar
Commerce Township, MI
Joined Aug 2001
4,466 Posts
A receiver switch with charge-jack built in. Very common accessory. Especially used by glow/gas folks or anytime a receiver battery is used.
Ken Myers is offline Find More Posts by Ken Myers
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 01:24 PM
Registered User
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
11,715 Posts
As Ken Myers said.

One plug goes into the receiver, the receiver battery goes into the socket, and the "spare" plug can be plugged into your charger so that you can charge without removing the receiver battery from the model.

In the "off" position, the switch stops power going to the receiver, but connects the "spare" plug so that the battery can be charged.

You won't need it if you have an electric-powered model that gets power for the receiver from a BEC.
abenn is online now Find More Posts by abenn
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 02:02 PM
Registered User
union township clermont county Ohio, United States
Joined Jan 2001
158 Posts
You may find that your switch harness will come in handy when you bind your receiver. To bind your receiver, you apply power and at the same time push the bind button on the reciver. That takes two hands. If you use an electronic speed control with a bec to bind it takes two hands to plug it in. you need a third hand to push the bind button.
little nail is online now Find More Posts by little nail
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 02:51 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
116 Posts
OK that makes sense...Now that your talking about binding...I thought I binded my rx successfully but when I turn the model back on today...It wasnt binded...Have you heard of this happening? It binds but loses the bind after its turned off. Maybe im doing something wrong...But i have the model saved in my tx.
Chestersdead is offline Find More Posts by Chestersdead
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 06:23 PM
Registered User
union township clermont county Ohio, United States
Joined Jan 2001
158 Posts
Once your receiver is bound, it should stay bound. Make sure you program the fail safe. I didn't, my transmitter gave up the ghost and the plane wound up in the next county. Interesting story. It was a slow stick, they make great free flight models. It was found in a dry creek bed, didn't even break a rubber band. Hitec replaced my transmitter and gave me a new receiver.
little nail is online now Find More Posts by little nail
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 07:39 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
116 Posts
why did they replace your tx and rx?
Chestersdead is offline Find More Posts by Chestersdead
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Is this a good deal? Aurora 9 with 2 rx, programmer, 2 battery, plus more? Chestersdead Radios 7 Jun 02, 2011 01:29 PM
Help! I am new and bought a not working heli... gaaunapoi Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 8 Mar 27, 2011 01:01 AM
Sold Hitec Aurora 9 TX&RX +HPP-22 + Telemetry Pack sold joe1l Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Mar 07, 2011 04:09 AM
Sold Hitec Aurora 9 2.4 TX & Optima 9 chn 2.4 RX-$359 Howard L Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2010 08:19 AM
What Am I Supposed To Do With These Numbers That Came With My Radio? DWavs Parkflyers 4 Mar 11, 2003 12:36 AM