Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 28, 2003, 11:18 AM
Registered User
FLYWINGFAN's Avatar
Minneapolis MN
Joined Sep 2002
1,666 Posts
SA CAP 232 w/350= Fantastic

Hello,
You may have seen my post a couple weeks ago about my SA CAP having an inflight wing failure. Bill at SA was very helpfull in getting my CAP back together, and It is back up! While I was fixing it, I aquired a EPS 350w/ B gearing to play around with.I had been using a EPS400 which provided good performance as well, but I decided to give the 350 a go. The results were nothing less of fantastic. Cruise at 1/2 throttle, aerobatics at 3/4-full. The setup I currently like the best is an 8x6 prop with a 8 c AA nicd pack, AUW with gear is about 18 oz, without is about 17.5. I plan on getting a KAN or HeCell pack as soon as possible for even better perfomance. I will post pictures of my new(variation on a theme) covering job soon.
-Sam
FLYWINGFAN is offline Find More Posts by FLYWINGFAN
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 28, 2003, 02:49 PM
Truss-Loc Monkey
Stevens AeroModel's Avatar
Colorado Springs, CO
Joined Feb 2002
4,368 Posts
Awesome! What prop are you turning? Glad to hear that it is back in the air.. Kudos on the re-build.

-Bill
Stevens AeroModel is offline Find More Posts by Stevens AeroModel
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2003, 09:16 AM
Registered User
FLYWINGFAN's Avatar
Minneapolis MN
Joined Sep 2002
1,666 Posts
Hey Bill,
With the 350 geared 4.33, I use an 8x6 . I find that the plane does best with speed.
-Sam
FLYWINGFAN is offline Find More Posts by FLYWINGFAN
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2003, 11:33 AM
Truss-Loc Monkey
Stevens AeroModel's Avatar
Colorado Springs, CO
Joined Feb 2002
4,368 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by FLYWINGFAN
Hey Bill,
With the 350 geared 4.33, I use an 8x6 . I find that the plane does best with speed.
-Sam
I like the speed as well. Hate that wanting feeling on the left stick. The C ratio is about as tall as I care to go for the 300 size motors for this airframe. Thanks for the report!

-Bill
Stevens AeroModel is offline Find More Posts by Stevens AeroModel
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2003, 10:04 PM
Registered User
FLYWINGFAN's Avatar
Minneapolis MN
Joined Sep 2002
1,666 Posts
400 vs 350

Hello all,
I switched in my EPS400 "B"(2.38)w/ 9x5 DD prop tonight to compare. The slightly heavier motor bumped the weight up a bit, but it wasn't much. The 400 certainly gives a higher top speed, which I like, although it doesnt feel as "feathery" because it is heavier. Right know I am using AA nicds, which is limiting the performance of the 400 because they can't deliver the current very well. I plan on picking up a KAN 950 pack in the near future, so I can get the full results. I will have to get some video taken as soon as possible!
-Sam
FLYWINGFAN is offline Find More Posts by FLYWINGFAN
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2003, 01:46 AM
Stick Masher
Fort Collins, CO
Joined May 2003
227 Posts
Re: 400 vs 350

Quote:
Originally posted by FLYWINGFAN
Hello all,
I switched in my EPS400 "B"(2.38)w/ 9x5 DD prop tonight to compare. ...
I will have to get some video taken as soon as possible!
Can't wait to see it. Have you tried anything brushless in it yet?

Derek
derekl is offline Find More Posts by derekl
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2003, 09:40 AM
Registered User
FLYWINGFAN's Avatar
Minneapolis MN
Joined Sep 2002
1,666 Posts
Hey Derek,
I don't as of yet have any brushless setups. I do hope in the future to invest in one though.
-Sam
FLYWINGFAN is offline Find More Posts by FLYWINGFAN
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2003, 10:17 AM
veni,vidi, roto volubilis
Happy|Harry's Avatar
Aberdeen, Scotland
Joined Jul 2003
6,917 Posts
`
Happy|Harry is offline Find More Posts by Happy|Harry
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2003, 10:52 PM
Registered User
FLYWINGFAN's Avatar
Minneapolis MN
Joined Sep 2002
1,666 Posts
I discovered another intersesting something. When flying w/the 350 at 1/2-3/4 w/wot bursts my 8c AA battery is hot, and so is the motor. W/ the 400, flying at 2/3-3/4 w/ slightly longer wot, the battery is quite recognisably NOT as hot. It also seems the 350s power might be dimming. I wonder if my 350 came with some kind of defect that although I was getting the correct power amount, was causing undue heatage. Just a thought, I still have to confirm that the 350 is indeed dying, I hope not but it would be interesting to compare with a new one on current draw and motor heat.
-Sam
FLYWINGFAN is offline Find More Posts by FLYWINGFAN
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2003, 09:58 AM
Truss-Loc Monkey
Stevens AeroModel's Avatar
Colorado Springs, CO
Joined Feb 2002
4,368 Posts
Keep us posted.

How many flights do you have on the 350? Any idea of the amp draw?

-Bill
Stevens AeroModel is offline Find More Posts by Stevens AeroModel
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2003, 11:50 AM
Registered User
FLYWINGFAN's Avatar
Minneapolis MN
Joined Sep 2002
1,666 Posts
Hey Bill,
I think I probably have 15-20 flights on the 350. the GWS Table says, w/ 4.43, 8x6 prop 7.2v= 7.2A, 8.4v=8.4A, 9.6v=10.9A. Their is an huge jump in current, but also a huge jump in power, 8.4v=12.25oz, 9.6=15.4. They note not to use 8 cells with the 8x6 prop, But since I was so carefull with my throttle management, I figured it would not be a problem. I don't know maybe it was a problem? I orderd 2 Kan950 packs from you earlier this week, and I am really excited about seeing how the CAP flys with those.
-Sam
FLYWINGFAN is offline Find More Posts by FLYWINGFAN
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2003, 12:10 PM
Truss-Loc Monkey
Stevens AeroModel's Avatar
Colorado Springs, CO
Joined Feb 2002
4,368 Posts
Hmm... 15-20 flights... sounds like a familiar number for a speed 300.

I think you'll like the zip on the Kan950's.

I'd bet that you could go to a GWS HD prop but that may decrease your pitch speed... I'll play around with some of these motors next time I am at low alt.

Thank You,

-Bill
Stevens AeroModel is offline Find More Posts by Stevens AeroModel
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2003, 02:44 PM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
Florence, Al
Joined Oct 2000
29,298 Posts
Wonder what she'd do with a Razor 350.
Tram is offline Find More Posts by Tram
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2003, 02:52 PM
Truss-Loc Monkey
Stevens AeroModel's Avatar
Colorado Springs, CO
Joined Feb 2002
4,368 Posts
I can tell ya what it does on an RZ-300 (ESTES comes to mind)

-Bill
Stevens AeroModel is offline Find More Posts by Stevens AeroModel
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2003, 02:58 PM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
Florence, Al
Joined Oct 2000
29,298 Posts
Hehe.. D size?

The Razors weigh a little less than the EPS300's right? Man, it would be unreal.

Might just have to try it..
Tram is offline Find More Posts by Tram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got my SA CAP 232 today! EKI16 Parkflyers 5 Mar 16, 2004 07:17 AM
RSA SA Cap 232 Squadron seamus0g Parkflyers 20 Oct 18, 2003 02:49 PM
Gearing for a Wattage CAP 232 w/ Astro 020 ? thomer Power Systems 2 Jul 22, 2003 06:48 PM
Which GWS system is best for the SA Cap 232 Speedfreak Parkflyers 0 Jan 31, 2003 05:01 PM
Stevens Aeromodel Cap 232 w/ speed 300....9-cells too much? phoneguy Parkflyers 4 Nov 07, 2002 08:35 PM