New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Sep 02, 2011, 07:42 AM
massimo is offline
Find More Posts by massimo
Registered User
massimo's Avatar
Joined Nov 2001
1,124 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BushmanLA View Post
Yes. You can exchange the normal aileron out for rudder out in your case.
thank you , di you think I would have a good stabilization with a skywalker only with rudder +motor+elev in rth mode ?

I really appreciate your opinion
massimo is offline Find More Posts by massimo
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 02, 2011, 08:23 AM
BushmanLA is offline
Find More Posts by BushmanLA
Registered User
BushmanLA's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
1,823 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by massimo View Post
thank you , di you think I would have a good stabilization with a skywalker only with rudder +motor+elev in rth mode ?

I really appreciate your opinion


In fly by wire mode you probably will not have as good stabilization with a rudder only setup. Ailerons tend to give you pure roll while rudder will give you roll and yaw mixed. As far as the stabilizer is concerned that yaw component is unwanted and unexpected. My guess is that it will work good enough.

Return to home etc should work just fine though.
BushmanLA is offline Find More Posts by BushmanLA
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2011, 12:29 PM
massimo is offline
Find More Posts by massimo
Registered User
massimo's Avatar
Joined Nov 2001
1,124 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BushmanLA View Post
In fly by wire mode you probably will not have as good stabilization with a rudder only setup. Ailerons tend to give you pure roll while rudder will give you roll and yaw mixed. As far as the stabilizer is concerned that yaw component is unwanted and unexpected. My guess is that it will work good enough.

Return to home etc should work just fine though.
appreciate! thank you
massimo is offline Find More Posts by massimo
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2011, 04:12 PM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Le Havre, FRANCE
Joined Feb 2007
1,875 Posts
Help.

I finish the build of my Skywalker and tried to test the RVOSD5.
This is the way I hook up everything.
4S battery connected to Aux batt.
AS battery connected to 3A UBEC, 5V from UBEC to power ESC
Signal cable from ESC goes to Throttle out.

I can get access to all menus with the 3 position switch except main menu.
I got AP menu only while scrolling.

Did I do something wrong?

Pls. help me.
lrrps is offline Find More Posts by lrrps
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2011, 04:28 PM
ScooterInVegas is offline
Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2011
1,932 Posts
Flight menu with switch only. Use the remote that came with your OSD to go into the main menu.
ScooterInVegas is offline Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2011, 04:56 PM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Le Havre, FRANCE
Joined Feb 2007
1,875 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScooterInVegas View Post
Flight menu with switch only. Use the remote that came with your OSD to go into the main menu.
Thanks a lot Scoot, i forgot about the remote.
lrrps is offline Find More Posts by lrrps
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2011, 04:59 PM
ScooterInVegas is offline
Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2011
1,932 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps View Post
Thanks a lot Scoot, i forgot about the remote.
Homer - D´OH (0 min 2 sec)
ScooterInVegas is offline Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2011, 01:31 AM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Le Havre, FRANCE
Joined Feb 2007
1,875 Posts
Ok, got the main menu working, adjusted the throttle FS correctly (I think so) but motor turns very slowly up to middle throttle, if I increase throttle moteor stops, also if I switch off the TX, RTH doesn't activate.

Any idea?
lrrps is offline Find More Posts by lrrps
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2011, 07:18 AM
kristjane is offline
Find More Posts by kristjane
Have a nice day! Kristjan
kristjane's Avatar
Slovenia, Novo mesto, Šentjernej
Joined Jan 2006
917 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hitchman View Post
Waypoint autopilot is disabled for any unit sent out of the USA. As far as I know RangeVideo will not provide the code to unlock waypoint autopilot unless you live in the states. If this is why you are buying the RVOSD you should get confirmation from Alex or Vova before purchase. You can still navigate with the waypoints manually which is a still a very good option.

Mark
Hmm, I was thinking to buy RVOSD, but this post make me thinking that this is good idea... Why to pay for something, that is not included in package. Also if buying, I will have to pay import taxes (20% WAT, customs fee) I'm living in Slovenia (Europe).
Also is there support for models with V-tail planes. On your page there are only aileron type planes and flying wings supported. I'm working on plane with V tail, flaps and motor controlled.
Best regards,
Kristjan
kristjane is offline Find More Posts by kristjane
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2011, 08:25 AM
sigma_fr is offline
Find More Posts by sigma_fr
julius
sigma_fr's Avatar
Grenoble france
Joined Jul 2005
319 Posts
RVOSD mount + Elektro Junior S

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1191

ju
sigma_fr is offline Find More Posts by sigma_fr
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2011, 02:09 PM
ScooterInVegas is offline
Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2011
1,932 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristjane View Post
Hmm, I was thinking to buy RVOSD, but this post make me thinking that this is good idea... Why to pay for something, that is not included in package. Also if buying, I will have to pay import taxes (20% WAT, customs fee) I'm living in Slovenia (Europe).
Also is there support for models with V-tail planes. On your page there are only aileron type planes and flying wings supported. I'm working on plane with V tail, flaps and motor controlled.
Best regards,
Kristjan
Vtail, yes. this should be the same as a 'flying wing' control setup.

I you HAVE to have Way Point in autopilot, just buy an OSD with that feature that is sold from outside the States. Me? I "fly" FPV. I only need/want the RTH function if I lose video or Tx control of the plane. The RVOSD works VERY good. Scott
ScooterInVegas is offline Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2011, 01:07 PM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Le Havre, FRANCE
Joined Feb 2007
1,875 Posts
Did anyone get to test the lost video feature that kicks in the RTH?
I tried that at home but the motor doesn't start up as it should to bring the plane home when I disconnect the power to the VTX.
lrrps is offline Find More Posts by lrrps
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2011, 01:18 PM
Elcheapo is offline
Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
1,311 Posts
RTH is triggered by RC link lost, not video lost. What you do is to turn off transmitter if video is lost.
Elcheapo is offline Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2011, 01:32 PM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Le Havre, FRANCE
Joined Feb 2007
1,875 Posts
Got it Elcheapo, thanks for chiming in.
lrrps is offline Find More Posts by lrrps
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2011, 01:55 PM
Firatp is offline
Find More Posts by Firatp
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScooterInVegas View Post
Vtail, yes. this should be the same as a 'flying wing' control setup.

I you HAVE to have Way Point in autopilot, just buy an OSD with that feature that is sold from outside the States. Me? I "fly" FPV. I only need/want the RTH function if I lose video or Tx control of the plane. The RVOSD works VERY good. Scott
Does anyone why waypoint function is disable to user from outside of US?
In my country no one cares about it. I have just ordered RVOSD and learned this now. It might be good if it has.
Cheers
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 734 Feb 11, 2015 06:13 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 10:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 04:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 12:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 02:51 AM