SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 29, 2011, 04:37 AM
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Le Havre, FRANCE
Joined Feb 2007
1,875 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
Be very careful any time you are messing with the RVOSD and you have a prop on the motor. If you test RTH/failsafe on the ground your motor WILL start.
To be safe, always expect the motor to start any time you change anything. Its probably best to leave your prop off until you are fully conversant with the user interface. I still have unexpected motor starts occasionally.
Cheers
Frank
Right it's like a gun, it has to be considered loaded with a round in the chamber.
lrrps is offline Find More Posts by lrrps
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 29, 2011, 02:40 PM
Registered User
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Brøndbyvester
Joined Jun 2009
615 Posts
I'm not sure how short I should make the servo wires that are connected to the RVOSD. Are your wires so short, that you have to let the RVOSD stay inside the plane, while you connect/remove the servo wires - or do you have them as long, so that you can take the RVOSD out of the plane, while all the servo wires still are connected ?

I think that it is much more easy to work with the RVOSD if you can take it out of the plane, still with all wires connected. But I'm not sure if these long wires, will add more vibration than needed.

I'm flying a skywalker.
SpookiePower is online now Find More Posts by SpookiePower
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 02:27 AM
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Le Havre, FRANCE
Joined Feb 2007
1,875 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpookiePower View Post
I'm not sure how short I should make the servo wires that are connected to the RVOSD. Are your wires so short, that you have to let the RVOSD stay inside the plane, while you connect/remove the servo wires - or do you have them as long, so that you can take the RVOSD out of the plane, while all the servo wires still are connected ?

I think that it is much more easy to work with the RVOSD if you can take it out of the plane, still with all wires connected. But I'm not sure if these long wires, will add more vibration than needed.

I'm flying a skywalker.
IMHO long wires won't induce more vibes, they put more weight but make easier to work with.
lrrps is offline Find More Posts by lrrps
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 03:23 AM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,991 Posts
Its generally good practice to keep all wires as short as posible to reduce the lkelihood of picking up interference. This must be balanced with practicality though. If your leads are to short you will struggle and likely end up with plugs getting half pulled out.
Just keep it tidy.
ommadawn is online now Find More Posts by ommadawn
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 03:50 AM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
418 Posts
Hi,
I am near future RVOSD5 user. I have just ordered mine and waiting fir delivery.
Experienced user, do you have any advice for me fir initial setup.
One quick question!
Does RVOSD support antenna tracking?
Thanks
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 04:14 AM
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
Uppsala, Sweden
Joined Sep 2008
3,614 Posts
@Firatp
Read, understand and follow the manual!

Also, take it slow. If you haven't flown FPV before learn to do so before even thinking about installing the RVOSD. Make sure everything works on the ground and make rangechecks to identify and eliminate as much RFI as you can.
boopidoo is online now Find More Posts by boopidoo
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 08:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
137 Posts
....
GavinW is online now Find More Posts by GavinW
Last edited by GavinW; Jun 16, 2012 at 11:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 10:42 AM
Registered User
United States, AK, Wasilla
Joined Nov 2001
639 Posts
It works fine with ChainLink on PPM.
hobbyboy is offline Find More Posts by hobbyboy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 10:46 AM
Registered User
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Brøndbyvester
Joined Jun 2009
615 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
Its generally good practice to keep all wires as short as posible to reduce the lkelihood of picking up interference. This must be balanced with practicality though. If your leads are to short you will struggle and likely end up with plugs getting half pulled out.
Just keep it tidy.
Thanks I would really like to be able to take the OSD, out of my skywalker, without removing any of the wires first. But I definitely have to make the wires shorter than they are now.
SpookiePower is online now Find More Posts by SpookiePower
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 12:47 PM
Registered User
BushmanLA's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
1,820 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
Hi,
I am near future RVOSD5 user. I have just ordered mine and waiting fir delivery.
Experienced user, do you have any advice for me fir initial setup.
One quick question!
Does RVOSD support antenna tracking?
Thanks
Remember that Range Video has their own support forums. You can get quick answers there.

http://www.rangevideo.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3

Antenna tracking is not supported at the moment. Supposedly a ground station is in the works.
BushmanLA is online now Find More Posts by BushmanLA
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 10:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
137 Posts
....
GavinW is online now Find More Posts by GavinW
Last edited by GavinW; Jun 16, 2012 at 11:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 02:28 PM
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
1,310 Posts
Quote:
Do you by any chance know how much the RVOSD5 weighs?
RVOSD5 board = 30gr
GPS+cable = 12.6gr
Current sensor = 10.8gr
Elcheapo is offline Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 09:14 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
137 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcheapo View Post
RVOSD5 board = 30gr
GPS+cable = 12.6gr
Current sensor = 10.8gr
Thanks
GavinW is online now Find More Posts by GavinW
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2011, 03:05 AM
Registered User
massimo's Avatar
Joined Nov 2001
1,118 Posts
Hi guys ,
I already asked this to Vova but he is very busy and have not received your response. I wanted to know if the rth of rvosd5 also works with only 3 channel models (without ailerons). I appreciate your response.
massimo is offline Find More Posts by massimo
Last edited by massimo; Sep 02, 2011 at 03:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2011, 07:38 AM
Registered User
BushmanLA's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
1,820 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by massimo View Post
Hi guys ,
I already asked this to Vova but he is very busy and have not received your response. I wanted to know if the rth of rvosd5 also works with only 3 channel models (without ailerons). I appreciate your response.
Yes. You can exchange the normal aileron out for rudder out in your case.
BushmanLA is online now Find More Posts by BushmanLA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 702 Nov 15, 2014 06:25 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 11:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 01:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 03:51 AM