HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 29, 2012, 11:17 AM
I love the smell of elapor....
MaximumBob's Avatar
Setauket, New York
Joined Oct 2009
309 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
Great stuff Bob! Its a common problem.
The PCB connector is the GPS socket on the RVOSD top printed cct board. I pushed on my GPS plug too hard once and tore the thing clean off the board. Luckily it came away without damaging the tracks, so a buddy with SMD soldering skills reattached it for me.
I suggested checking that cos sometimes it gets damaged in a crash if the lead gets ripped out.
Cheers
Frank
Frank, going to order some spare gps cables from RV. thanks again for your advice. it prompted me to go looking through a bag-o-partz and i cant believe i found a gps cable. Hope the fpving is good down in OZ. In New York its cold, rainy and quasi-snowing out. If you are in Sydney, go have a Carlton Cold Lager and a Steak on me down at Philips Foot! HAppy New year
MaximumBob is offline Find More Posts by MaximumBob
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 01, 2013, 08:28 PM
Multi Rotor Maniac
Stunt Double's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Oct 2007
2,850 Posts
Might try my luck here... The other day I flew my plane with RVOSD/dragon link and was getting some strange glitches. Each time I gave it high throttle input it would go into failsafe which triggered RVOSD RTH. The failsafes were lasting about 5 seconds each time then after I could regain control. I repeated it about 5 times in the air. When I landed I tried again with high throttle but couldnt replicate it. Other times ive had a radio glitch it was while flying far away and only last for less than a second.

My best guess is the ESC BEC failing. But im not 100% sure, could be the dragon link or radio as ive been having some glitches with a copter too. Any ideas?
Stunt Double is offline Find More Posts by Stunt Double
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 09:43 PM
Praying for better weather
Coyote64's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
4,174 Posts
You should look at the variables, if you can not replicate your problems at close range as you can at long range then the only variable is your rc link. I would be thinking for sure its your UHF. Especially seeing the new version problems with Dragonlinks reliability
Coyote64 is offline Find More Posts by Coyote64
Last edited by Coyote64; Jan 02, 2013 at 04:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 10:33 PM
FPV Pilot
blueprint's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2007
2,485 Posts
Hi Guys,

Bit of a perdicament here. I fly an FPV Raptor with DragonOSD and the FY30 as well as a SkySurfer with the FY20 and a DragonOSD.

I really like dragonosd and am very comfortable with it. Buddy of mine uses the RVOSD and really likes it. What i like about the RVOSD is that it has the Stabilization built into it where as the DragonOSD i'd have to purchase an FY20 or FY30.

When you consider the cost of the DragonOSD and the FY30 it comes to about equal that of the RVOSD.

I plan on using this on my new Penguin. Help me decide guys.

Thanks
blueprint is offline Find More Posts by blueprint
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 03:31 AM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,958 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stunt Double View Post
Might try my luck here... The other day I flew my plane with RVOSD/dragon link and was getting some strange glitches. Each time I gave it high throttle input it would go into failsafe which triggered RVOSD RTH. The failsafes were lasting about 5 seconds each time then after I could regain control. I repeated it about 5 times in the air. When I landed I tried again with high throttle but couldnt replicate it. Other times ive had a radio glitch it was while flying far away and only last for less than a second.

My best guess is the ESC BEC failing. But im not 100% sure, could be the dragon link or radio as ive been having some glitches with a copter too. Any ideas?
Have you done a range check? I recently had a Mk1 DL Rx fail on me. It would go out of range at about 1.5km.
Were you pointing the Tx antenna at the plane?
How far away was it?
Try connecting your 5v servo rail to the aux V input. Its a great way to keep an eye on what is happening with your RC supply rails, if you suspect BEC problems.
Swap out the DL Rx if you have a spare.
Also check your 5v wires coming out of the BEC. I had a case where they twisted together and the insulation rode up, allowing a short on the 5v supply. Theres an interesting clip of it here, watch the 5v Aux in the top LH corner.:
Near miss (2 min 2 sec)

A video clip would help.
Hope this helps..
Cheers
Frank
ommadawn is offline Find More Posts by ommadawn
Last edited by ommadawn; Jan 02, 2013 at 03:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 09:16 AM
Gravity is patient............
Joined Mar 2006
1,910 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueprint View Post
Hi Guys,

Bit of a perdicament here. I fly an FPV Raptor with DragonOSD and the FY30 as well as a SkySurfer with the FY20 and a DragonOSD.

I really like dragonosd and am very comfortable with it. Buddy of mine uses the RVOSD and really likes it. What i like about the RVOSD is that it has the Stabilization built into it where as the DragonOSD i'd have to purchase an FY20 or FY30.

When you consider the cost of the DragonOSD and the FY30 it comes to about equal that of the RVOSD.

I plan on using this on my new Penguin. Help me decide guys.

Thanks

RVOSD5 is much easier to use and configure than the dragon osd. The dragon seems more like a college research project than a finished product. But it works well enough if you have the time to put into it. I have one on the shelf, but never could get it to work with the imu and a baro sensor at the same time, so I put it aside. At any rate the RVOSD is pretty simple and is well documented (in one place).
billyd60 is offline Find More Posts by billyd60
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 12:38 PM
Registered User
superevan's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Aug 2007
347 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyd60 View Post
RVOSD5 is much easier to use and configure than the dragon osd. The dragon seems more like a college research project than a finished product. But it works well enough if you have the time to put into it. I have one on the shelf, but never could get it to work with the imu and a baro sensor at the same time, so I put it aside. At any rate the RVOSD is pretty simple and is well documented (in one place).
Agreed, rvosd works right outta the box and is well documented.
superevan is offline Find More Posts by superevan
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 12:45 PM
FPV Pilot
blueprint's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2007
2,485 Posts
thanks guys!
blueprint is offline Find More Posts by blueprint
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 06:13 PM
2Vision-Air
bakchos's Avatar
Canada, QC, Blainville
Joined Aug 2009
2,185 Posts
quick question guys, i have been using RVOSD5 for a long time but i am moving to another plateform, i will have

1- Aileron
2- Elevator
3- Throttle
4- Ruder
5- RVOSD 3 position switch
6- Pan
7- Tilt
8- Navigation lights on/off switch.

i wanted to have my flaps working since they are pre installed on the wings, but i am short on channels.

Anyway to have the OSD control the flaps and save a channel ?

otherwise i might reconsider the tilt and have only pan working.

what do you guys think ?
bakchos is online now Find More Posts by bakchos
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 04, 2013, 09:43 PM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,958 Posts
Connect rudder to your aileron channel on the Rx. Its not a completely satisfactory solution, but it works for me. Also, Nav lights??? I would sacrifice those before any flight controls.
Another option is Channel Wizard. I bought one but havent fitted it yet. It allows you to split a channel into multiple extra channels. Make your 8ch into 12 easy.
Channel Wizard adding 8 ch. via trainer (1 min 11 sec)

Cheers
Frank
ommadawn is offline Find More Posts by ommadawn
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 09:46 PM
2Vision-Air
bakchos's Avatar
Canada, QC, Blainville
Joined Aug 2009
2,185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
Connect rudder to your aileron channel on the Rx. Its not a completely satisfactory solution, but it works for me. Also, Nav lights??? I would sacrifice those before any flight controls.
Another option is Channel Wizard. I bought one but havent fitted it yet. It allows you to split a channel into multiple extra channels. Make your 8ch into 12 easy.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lE7slObvq_Q
Cheers
Frank
Thank you, but i like the nav lights, this plane is a night flyer and i want to be stealth when i decide to

i guess i can live with pan only, i will check that channel wizard !

thanks !
bakchos is online now Find More Posts by bakchos
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 04, 2013, 11:55 PM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
415 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
quick question guys, i have been using RVOSD5 for a long time but i am moving to another plateform, i will have

1- Aileron
2- Elevator
3- Throttle
4- Ruder
5- RVOSD 3 position switch
6- Pan
7- Tilt
8- Navigation lights on/off switch.

i wanted to have my flaps working since they are pre installed on the wings, but i am short on channels.

Anyway to have the OSD control the flaps and save a channel ?

otherwise i might reconsider the tilt and have only pan working.

what do you guys think ?
I would use ch8 for both flap and navigation lights.
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 06:56 AM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,958 Posts
Good idea. Switch up turns Nav lights on, switch down is flaps lowered..
ommadawn is offline Find More Posts by ommadawn
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 06:59 AM
2Vision-Air
bakchos's Avatar
Canada, QC, Blainville
Joined Aug 2009
2,185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
I would use ch8 for both flap and navigation lights.
Only problem is i need Nav lights to be on when i land/takeoff, so that means they would be off when i switch the flaps off.
bakchos is online now Find More Posts by bakchos
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 05, 2013, 03:44 PM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,958 Posts
Easy. Use a latching push button operated by the servo arm. One press on, one press off.
Ideally you would also use a 3 position switch on the Tx.
ommadawn is offline Find More Posts by ommadawn
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 699 Oct 20, 2014 11:38 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 10:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 04:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 12:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 02:51 AM