HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 05, 2012, 06:18 PM
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
1,310 Posts
Check vibrations again, at the end of the video I can see the AHi going to much wrong on the roll axis...
Elcheapo is offline Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 05, 2012, 10:57 PM
can't buy vaporware
7oneWo1f's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Nov 2011
8,492 Posts
No luck with the hercules question.

Next question: Where can I get the pitot tube? I didn't see it on their site, although they mention it.
7oneWo1f is online now Find More Posts by 7oneWo1f
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 11:35 PM
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
1,310 Posts
RVOSD can handle elevons, so if you use elevator plugged straight to the receiver it should work.
RVOSD will use elevons in any autopilot mode. Just make sure the elevator and rudders will stay neutral(failsafe properly set) when RC link is lost.

Yes you can add an airspeed sensor, take a look here:
http://rangevideo.com/forum/showthre...light=airspeed

BTW, you can find all you need to know about RVOSD on the Rangevideo forum.
Elcheapo is offline Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 02:04 AM
can't buy vaporware
7oneWo1f's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Nov 2011
8,492 Posts
Thanks Elcheapo
7oneWo1f is online now Find More Posts by 7oneWo1f
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 11:48 AM
Registered User
aguriga's Avatar
Spain, Madrid, M
Joined Mar 2011
33 Posts
Hi

Im having a problem with the RVOSD, and im not the only one. Two weeks ago i received the osd, once i checked all the connections, I powered it up and at the first moment everything was working. Today reading a spanish forum, two users noticed that the temperature indicator was marking 0 degrees, so i have checked mine and i also have the problem. They told me that the only solution to this problem is to change the graphic board Isnt there any other way? I mailed Vova to see what can we do but i had no answer.

Thank you
Regards
aguriga is offline Find More Posts by aguriga
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 12:31 PM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Hi,
I have some problems to binding my new DL receiver.

My configuration is:

- Futuba T12FG
- Dragon Link
- RVOSD5

DL module is connected to Futuba T12FG with the trainer port. Futuba T12FG is in trainer mode... I select student.. 12channels and PPM modulation. 2,4Ghz Futuba module is disconnected. On the DL module I can see the green light.

I turn on the Transmitter while I'm holding red button... I see a green light flashing on DL module and I power on the DL receiver. I turn off the transmitter and I turn it on again normally but nothing happen.

RVOSD5 is in PPM mode... I go in the PPM configuration but none value attached to a channel moves.
Elevator in (PPM 1 in RVOSD) is connected to ch9 of the DL receiver.

Please, can you help me ?
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 06:50 PM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,997 Posts
Does the DL Rx work without the RVOSD? When I installed my DL to my Futaba 9Chp Tx, I had to add the resistor in the PPM line to get it to work.
ommadawn is offline Find More Posts by ommadawn
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 11:14 PM
Registered User
picard10th's Avatar
United States, FL, Marco Island
Joined Jan 2007
664 Posts
FBW problem

Alex,
In FBW mode the text blinks and disappears in a few seconds, all other modes stay on screen. Can I fix that or is it a firmware issue?

All other issues fixed! so far....Ready for air.
picard10th is offline Find More Posts by picard10th
Last edited by picard10th; Aug 07, 2012 at 02:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 11:28 PM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
Does the DL Rx work without the RVOSD? When I installed my DL to my Futaba 9Chp Tx, I had to add the resistor in the PPM line to get it to work.
I made a second test. And to be sure I disconected RV OSD and anything else.... I try DL receiver only with a 4,8V NI-Mh battery attached and a servo in channel 1.

The results are discouraging: no binding and no servo movemens on channel 1. And the scheme is simple only with one battery and one servo and anything else.

Now, what can I do ?
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 11:39 PM
New Beeeeee
RUBNorris's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Apr 2011
1,100 Posts
Ok, got Rvosd and DLv2.

What is ppm? How can i use less servo wires. Is there a video out on how to set up rvosd? Neeb here:'(
RUBNorris is online now Find More Posts by RUBNorris
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 07, 2012, 05:03 AM
Graham Dyer
pardus's Avatar
Johannesburg, South Africa
Joined Jul 2003
700 Posts
I have ArduPilotMega 2 and Remzibi OSD which I'm pretty happy with but a friend is now looking for a waypoint/RTH/stabilization/OSD system and is considering RV-OSD5. I have no knowledge of it apart from the little I've read here on the forum and the website. My friend is not very computer savvy.

APM2 + minumOSD costs around $287 excl. postage (excl. current sensor), RV-OSD is $299.

Can someone who has used both give me an objective comparison?
pardus is offline Find More Posts by pardus
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 07, 2012, 05:04 AM
Registered User
Portugal
Joined Nov 2009
806 Posts
RVOSD is capable of using a PPM signal from receivers that have that output port. In that case, there will be only one input from the receiver connected to the OSD and you assign all the channels via software (using the remote control in the menus).

Please take the time to read this carefully, it has all the information you need:

http://rangevideo.com/forum/showthre...n-progress-%29



Quote:
Originally Posted by RUBNorris View Post
Ok, got Rvosd and DLv2.

What is ppm? How can i use less servo wires. Is there a video out on how to set up rvosd? Neeb here:'(
HF_ATL is online now Find More Posts by HF_ATL
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 07, 2012, 05:12 AM
Registered User
Portugal
Joined Nov 2009
806 Posts
No firmware issue, that's how its supposed to be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by picard10th View Post
Alex,
In FBW mode the text blinks and disappears in a few seconds, all other modes stay on screen. Can I fix that or is it a firmware issue?

All other issues fixed! so far....Ready for air.
HF_ATL is online now Find More Posts by HF_ATL
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 07, 2012, 06:37 AM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,997 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMEIV View Post
I made a second test. And to be sure I disconected RV OSD and anything else.... I try DL receiver only with a 4,8V NI-Mh battery attached and a servo in channel 1.

The results are discouraging: no binding and no servo movemens on channel 1. And the scheme is simple only with one battery and one servo and anything else.

Now, what can I do ?
Has the system ever worked? Did you buy in new or used?
Are you using a new receiver?
The later Dragon Link systems run different firmware, so its possible the two may be incompatible, if it is a later Rx with an earlier Tx module. I doubt it though. But most likely its just a setup thing.
Have you read this:
http://www.dragonlinkstore.com/v2/node/10
Here is a dedicated Dragonlink thread that will help.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1518533
Mike moderates the thread and is really helpful.
Cheers
Frank
ommadawn is offline Find More Posts by ommadawn
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 07, 2012, 07:03 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
Has the system ever worked? Did you buy in new or used?
Are you using a new receiver?
The later Dragon Link systems run different firmware, so its possible the two may be incompatible, if it is a later Rx with an earlier Tx module. I doubt it though. But most likely its just a setup thing.
Have you read this:
http://www.dragonlinkstore.com/v2/node/10
Here is a dedicated Dragonlink thread that will help.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1518533
Mike moderates the thread and is really helpful.
Cheers
Frank
I buy a new DL system with three receivers ALL NEW... I tried with a second new receiver but nothing.

I read http://www.dragonlinkstore.com/v2/node/10 and I use to connect DL to Dragon Link the trainer port.

Mike told me to set 8ch PPM modulation.. I made it but nothing changed....
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 702 Nov 15, 2014 06:25 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 11:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 01:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 03:51 AM