Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 26, 2012, 11:14 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2007
60 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
1st question : did you do the RC safety wizrard ?
if no, do it.
If yes, when asked for level flight, did you give cruise throttle of left throttle to zero ?

I did that mistake once.
Hello - thanks for the response

Yes - I did do the rc wizard and also set the cruise throttle at the same time

When the RTH function was started, the throttle went to the required setting -- it was just the sharp right turn that was the problem


Thanks
gzmann is offline Find More Posts by gzmann
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 27, 2012, 02:48 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
432 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CN I Dawg View Post
Did you precisely balance the prop using a magnetic balancer? The prop, of course, is the main source of vibration. There is some vibration caused by turbulence but usually very little. Also, try varying your throttle setting. The vibration at different RPM's can be dramatically different.
Best,
Steven
The two blades of my folding prop have exactly the same weight on the balance. So are balanced. In all RPM low or high the vibration in flight are at full scale.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
1st question : did you do the RC safety wizrard ?
if no, do it.
If yes, when asked for level flight, did you give cruise throttle of left throttle to zero ?

I did that mistake once.
Yes i do the RC wizard. For Level Flight I give cruise throttle.

I think the problem is caused by RVOSD contact with other elements inside Zephyr bay. I think this amplifies the vibrations. Do not believe ?
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 03:54 AM
Multi Rotor Maniac
Stunt Double's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Oct 2007
2,770 Posts
Why dont you hold down the plane, give it full throttle and put your finger onto the RVOSD unit and feel for vibrations?
Stunt Double is offline Find More Posts by Stunt Double
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 05:17 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
432 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stunt Double View Post
Why dont you hold down the plane, give it full throttle and put your finger onto the RVOSD unit and feel for vibrations?
On the ground vibrations are a little less at low values but at full throttle they always reach full scale.
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 08:00 AM
Crash=start of next project
CN I Dawg's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Nov 2010
665 Posts
I think the problem is caused by RVOSD contact with other elements inside Zephyr bay. I think this amplifies the vibrations. Do not believe ?[/QUOTE]

Yes, it is possible you are at a point in the Zephyr cavity that's at resonance, thus actually amplifying the vibration amplitude. You can try moving to a different location, try a different dampening material or some have had luck with weighing down or compressing the RVOSD. Hope you sort it out soon.
CN I Dawg is offline Find More Posts by CN I Dawg
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 12:52 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2007
60 Posts
I think there are/were 2 questions going on at the same time here
I was asking about the problem with my RVOSD always wanting to go right and up everytime I engage RTH

Anything I might be able to do?
gzmann is offline Find More Posts by gzmann
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 12:24 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
432 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CN I Dawg View Post
I think the problem is caused by RVOSD contact with other elements inside Zephyr bay. I think this amplifies the vibrations. Do not believe ?

Yes, it is possible you are at a point in the Zephyr cavity that's at resonance, thus actually amplifying the vibration amplitude. You can try moving to a different location, try a different dampening material or some have had luck with weighing down or compressing the RVOSD. Hope you sort it out soon.
I think the video below can tell more than 1000 words.

You can see three Level Flight test, one vibration test in flight and one on the ground.

Sorry for quality.. I uploaded the video in the shortest possible time..

http://vimeo.com/42940473
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 03:59 AM
Registered User
Portugal
Joined Nov 2009
774 Posts
Your AHI is not well calibrated. Set properly neutral AHI procedure on the ground with motor off.
HF_ATL is offline Find More Posts by HF_ATL
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 05:17 AM
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
Uppsala, Sweden
Joined Sep 2008
3,581 Posts
Wow, I've seen the vibration graphs so maxed out (0:50).
boopidoo is offline Find More Posts by boopidoo
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 07:05 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
432 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HF_ATL View Post
Your AHI is not well calibrated. Set properly neutral AHI procedure on the ground with motor off.
I set AHI neutral first time on the ground and second time in air but nothing change in Level Flight...

Do you saw the vibrations ? ... they are a lot. I think this is the problem.

Though I set neutral AHI with high vibration I suppose that AHI drift right or left..
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 08:18 AM
Registered User
Portugal
Joined Nov 2009
774 Posts
Set cruise and glide throttle to idle and set again neutral AHI on the ground with motor off.
Remember to save configuration.
Then, try again the level flight mode at high altitude. Now you can eliminate (or not) the vibration variable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMEIV View Post
I set AHI neutral first time on the ground and second time in air but nothing change in Level Flight...

Do you saw the vibrations ? ... they are a lot. I think this is the problem.

Though I set neutral AHI with high vibration I suppose that AHI drift right or left..
HF_ATL is offline Find More Posts by HF_ATL
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 11:07 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
432 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HF_ATL View Post
Set cruise and glide throttle to idle and set again neutral AHI on the ground with motor off.
Remember to save configuration.
Then, try again the level flight mode at high altitude. Now you can eliminate (or not) the vibration variable.
I just try to set neutral AHI on the ground with motor off but when I go in flight.. however with controlled flight or autopilot... the AHI drift left or right.

You can see in the video..
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 01:24 PM
Crash=start of next project
CN I Dawg's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Nov 2010
665 Posts
[QUOTE=IMEIV;21733555]I just try to set neutral AHI on the ground with motor off but when I go in flight.. however with controlled flight or autopilot... the AHI drift left or right.

Is there anyway the RVOSD could be shifting position once in flight? Your vibration is quite high on X and Z axis. You can concentrate there. El Cheapo would have to weigh in on your vib levels being capable of over driving the rest of the electronics.
CN I Dawg is offline Find More Posts by CN I Dawg
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 04:57 PM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,851 Posts
If the vibrations are upsetting the IMU, when the motor is stopped the AHI settles down by itself after a short time. Have you tried getting up some altitude and letting the plane glide for a minute or 2? The AHI should correct itself if the vibes are the cause of the problem.
ommadawn is offline Find More Posts by ommadawn
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 06:19 PM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
432 Posts
[QUOTE=CN I Dawg;21734566]
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMEIV View Post
I just try to set neutral AHI on the ground with motor off but when I go in flight.. however with controlled flight or autopilot... the AHI drift left or right.

Is there anyway the RVOSD could be shifting position once in flight? Your vibration is quite high on X and Z axis. You can concentrate there. El Cheapo would have to weigh in on your vib levels being capable of over driving the rest of the electronics.
You mean that RVOSD it's not fixed properly inside the plane and it moves once in flight ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
If the vibrations are upsetting the IMU, when the motor is stopped the AHI settles down by itself after a short time. Have you tried getting up some altitude and letting the plane glide for a minute or 2? The AHI should correct itself if the vibes are the cause of the problem.
No but I will try. thanks for the advice
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 644 Aug 18, 2014 10:26 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 10:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 04:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 12:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 02:51 AM