HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 16, 2012, 11:03 AM
Registered User
Portugal
Joined Nov 2009
816 Posts
Yes.

With the Main Bat jumper on the disable position, just connect the 12v source to aux battery port on RVOSD.

RVOSD will get 5v after being connected to the receiver via the servo cables, assuming UBEC is connected to the receiver.
Other approach is to connect directly the UBEC output to one free RVOSD specific ports (check diagram to find out which pins belong to the internal 5v rail).


Quote:
Originally Posted by IMEIV View Post
Yes. For example in my first platform a Flying wings I have this configuration MainbattDISABLE_Cam12V_Vtx12V (because for main I use 4S LIPO and aux 3S LIPO) and servos are fed by bec inside the ESC.

In this second airplane with 7 servos I can set again MainbattDISABLE_Cam12V_Vtx12V.. Fed the Vtx (12V) with a 3S 1000mAh Lipo and finally connect bec to the receiver to fed servos (and I cut red wire in esc plug). It's ok ?
HF_ATL is online now Find More Posts by HF_ATL
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 16, 2012, 11:12 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by man2000me View Post
Correct. I run a bec on all of planes just for the added safety of the esc burning out.
Ok good and thanks. But now I have a new problem... I use FrSKy TFRSP receiver http://www.frsky-rc.com/ShowProducts.asp?id=80 and I can't see a BATT entry for the BEC... Where can I connect the BEC plug and the ESC plug ?

You can find attached an image of the receiver and also the instruction.
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 12:15 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
You can either use a y cable or a free servo slot.
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 12:19 PM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
420 Posts
Hi,
I have the same receiver. You should connect BEC any channel slot which is not used.

For RSSI, you should put a transistor between receiver and RVOSD as explained at Manuel.

The only thing I dislike is range problem. The receiver is not enough sensitive. Sometimes some position, it switches to Failsafe after 250meters. The maximum range I reaches us 800 meters.
Be aware of range problem and set your failsafe as it is explained and RTH as well.

Cheers
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Last edited by Firatp; May 16, 2012 at 12:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 02:35 PM
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
1,311 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzmann View Post
Hello
On my osd with the FLY BY Wire engaged-- the aileron stick on the transmitter provides full servo movement buy i only need a 25% deflection of the stick to get full movement of the servo which makes it very sensitive to fly== the other 75% of the deflection does nothingto the servo and is basically dead space

Basically in FBWire -- I have an aileron stick that moves the servo full travel with only slight stick movements
in Normal ( no FMW) -- my servo and stick movements/travel is normal

HOPEFULLY this makes sense

sorry i do not have a video camera to do that
This is completely normal, on FBW mode the stick movements are interpreted as desired angles. So when you move the aileron stick, the autopilot will try to set the commanded angle by moving the ailerons.
The autopilot is a lot more fast than you controlling the airplane so it can make more aggressive movements on the controls.
If you roll the airplane to the same direction you move the stick, you will see the ailerons leveling when the desired attitude is set. If you center the stick, the ailerons will move to the opposite way, because the autopilot is trying to level the airplane.
Elcheapo is offline Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 03:11 PM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
Hi,
I have the same receiver. You should connect BEC any channel slot which is not used.

For RSSI, you should put a transistor between receiver and RVOSD as explained at Manuel.

The only thing I dislike is range problem. The receiver is not enough sensitive. Sometimes some position, it switches to Failsafe after 250meters. The maximum range I reaches us 800 meters.
Be aware of range problem and set your failsafe as it is explained and RTH as well.

Cheers
Thanks Firatp.. I will connect BEC in a receiver slot not used. Perfect...

Regarding the range problem I install in my first platform a FrSky receiver modified with antenna dipoles instead of the original. And it is something that I recommend...
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 03:38 PM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Another question regarding rssi.. It's better to set minimun value of the RSSI with RadioTx OFF or set minimun rssi value with the radio signal that starts to glitch ?
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 04:24 PM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
420 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMEIV View Post
Another question regarding rssi.. It's better to set minimun value of the RSSI with RadioTx OFF or set minimun rssi value with the radio signal that starts to glitch ?
Receiver gives full RSSI value if you TX off. Strange!!!
I switched my Futaba TX to range check mode and put it further place to get lowest RSSI value.

Regarding modified antenna. I tried 45cm long antennas but didn't help much.

Please let me know if you solve this problem. Maybe RX is not a good one
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 04:07 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
Receiver gives full RSSI value if you TX off. Strange!!!
I switched my Futaba TX to range check mode and put it further place to get lowest RSSI value.

Regarding modified antenna. I tried 45cm long antennas but didn't help much.

Please let me know if you solve this problem. Maybe RX is not a good one
No. Perhaps I have not explained. I have minimun value when TX is OFF.. but I ask if it's better to set for the minimun this value when tx is off or the value when commands starts to glitch...

Firatp try this antenna http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...t=falcon+dipol
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 07:04 AM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
Receiver gives full RSSI value if you TX off. Strange!!!
I switched my Futaba TX to range check mode and put it further place to get lowest RSSI value.

Regarding modified antenna. I tried 45cm long antennas but didn't help much.

Please let me know if you solve this problem. Maybe RX is not a good one
Firatp what distance do you reach with TFRSP receiver in ground distance ? Airplane on the ground and radio Futaba TX in range check... maybe 100meters...
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 08:34 AM
Registered User
guyst's Avatar
Joined Feb 2010
669 Posts
Anyone knows whats going on with RV support?

I was communicating with them until April 26th where they stopped replying my emails.
I got 2 RVOSD 5.0 with GPS connector problem.

I use this email - support@rangevideo.com
guyst is online now Find More Posts by guyst
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 08:40 AM
DS state of origin NSW Vs QLD
Forrest12's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
1,371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by guyst View Post
I was communicating with them until April 26th where they stopped replying my emails.
I got 2 RVOSD 5.0 with GPS connector problem.

I use this email - support@rangevideo.com
Your best bet is use the contact us
And get a ticket number

http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php?...0d3437f80225f2
Forrest12 is offline Find More Posts by Forrest12
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 09:13 AM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
420 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMEIV View Post
Firatp what distance do you reach with TFRSP receiver in ground distance ? Airplane on the ground and radio Futaba TX in range check... maybe 100meters...
No, not ground distance. The distances are on the air.
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 10:03 AM
Registered User
guyst's Avatar
Joined Feb 2010
669 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forrest12 View Post
Your best bet is use the contact us
And get a ticket number

http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php?...0d3437f80225f2
I did that already on April 18th....
I got 2 emails back but since than nothing...
guyst is online now Find More Posts by guyst
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 06:20 PM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
No, not ground distance. The distances are on the air.
Yes I understand that the distances are on the air but I was wondering if you had done a distance test on the ground in Low Power mode...
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 710 Dec 07, 2014 10:02 AM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 11:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 01:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 03:51 AM