HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 17, 2012, 04:08 PM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
420 Posts
I don't know. It is said in RVOSD Manuel.
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 17, 2012, 04:38 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
It protects the osd from irregularities from the selected rx. It keeps the voltage to a manageable level.
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 05:47 PM
team n00b - captain
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2011
158 Posts
Dragonlink UHF 12ch receiver wiring to RVOSD5

This is the first time I've heard the rx needs separate power ... the only decent manual was posted by webdr in his review in this thread.

The latest RVOSD5 documentation (version 6) seems to indicate the rx is supplied power from 4 outputs: rudder, throttle, aileron and elevator OUT (see page 12, and 13-14 in the ver6 PDF). If I'm understanding you correctly, you're saying the only 2 lines to the dragonlink 12ch receiver are PPM & RSSI?

FROM THE DOCUMENTATION(s):
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

[1] PPM output on Dragonlink Receiver CH9 ----> RVOSD5 elevator input
Reference:

"Connect the PPM receiver to the elevator input of the OSD"

[2] RSSI output Dragonlink Receiver CH12 ---->RVOSD5 aileron input
Reference:

"When the RSSI input is selected to PPM1 or PPM1 and PPM2, you have to connect RSSI from receiver 1 to the aileron input..."
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

You sure you need a separate UBEC to power the rx? or am I missing something ...
gitcho is online now Find More Posts by gitcho
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 05:54 PM
team n00b - captain
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2011
158 Posts
isn't that only true when you set RSSI to "analog"? If RSSI is set to PPM, you don't need the capacitor ... that's how I'm reading it in the forum: RVOSD G5 instructions (work in progress...)


When the RSSI input is selected to analog, you have to connect RSSI to the temp/rssi input. A 10K-100K series resistor have to be connected between signal output of the receiver and signal input pin of the OSD, this is to protect the analog RSSI input on RVOSD.

... and a few lines down ....

When the RSSI input is selected to PPM1 or PPM1 and PPM2, you have to connect RSSI from receiver 1 to the aileron input...

I need to document this as soon as I figure this out ... this is crazy


Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
I have that receiver and use it with my other OSD, Dragon V2 which accepts only PPM input.
Works very nice.

I haven't used it for RVOSD but I thing it will work nice as well as DOSD. Their working protocol is same.

For RSSI you should put a capacitor between receiver and OSD.

Cheers
gitcho is online now Find More Posts by gitcho
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 05:58 PM
team n00b - captain
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2011
158 Posts
The newest RVOSD5 documentation (version 6) PDF has something about that on page 18 ....

RVOSD5 Review http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...mentid=4359785

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMEIV View Post
Hi,
I would like to know if RVOSD can work with FrSky receiver TFRSP http://www.frsky-rc.com/ShowProducts.asp?id=80 and combined PPM ?
The usefulness of this receiver is to be compatible with radio futuba and to have an output-ready for RSSI.
And RSSI input connected to the temp/rssi input in regular mode ?
gitcho is online now Find More Posts by gitcho
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 06:08 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
If you want it to work.

4 wires to and from osd and rx.

Red --------- to center pins on both osd and rx
Black ------- to out pins on rx an osd
White ------ to inner pin of ppm on osd and rx
Orange ---- to rssi on rx and temp input on osd (a 10k resistor should work here) rx------resistor-----osd

Now that is done, hook up the UBEC to ppm 2 input of the osd (or any free output)

Follow the directions I gave earlier and you will have a working system. One you have it going we'll work on the rssi.
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 06:12 PM
team n00b - captain
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2011
158 Posts
yeah man - just want it to work ... u da boss - will try it ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by man2000me View Post
If you want it to work.

4 wires to and from osd and rx.

Red --------- to center pins on both osd and rx
Black ------- to out pins on rx an osd
White ------ to inner pin of ppm on osd and rx
Orange ---- to rssi on rx and temp input on osd (a 10k resistor should work here) rx------resistor-----osd

Now that is done, hook up the UBEC to ppm 2 input of the osd (or any free output)

Follow the directions I gave earlier and you will have a working system. One you have it going we'll work on the rssi.
gitcho is online now Find More Posts by gitcho
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 06:40 PM
2Vision-Air
bakchos's Avatar
Canada, QC, Blainville
Joined Aug 2009
2,214 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by man2000me View Post
If you want it to work.

4 wires to and from osd and rx.

Red --------- to center pins on both osd and rx
Black ------- to out pins on rx an osd
White ------ to inner pin of ppm on osd and rx
Orange ---- to rssi on rx and temp input on osd (a 10k resistor should work here) rx------resistor-----osd

Now that is done, hook up the UBEC to ppm 2 input of the osd (or any free output)

Follow the directions I gave earlier and you will have a working system. One you have it going we'll work on the rssi.

On mine i have the UBEC connected to the RX directly and it works fine, any advantage of powering it from the OSD then having the OSD sending 5v to the RX ?

thanks
bakchos is offline Find More Posts by bakchos
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 17, 2012, 07:04 PM
team n00b - captain
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2011
158 Posts
OK ... think I know why I'm having issues - the RVOSD5 is only outputting 5v on both vtx and cam rails - instead of 12. The jumper is in the correct (default) position to output 12v, but it's only putting out 5. My ESC is plugged into the "Main Batt" port, which is not disabled ... feeding it with a 3s 1800mah
gitcho is online now Find More Posts by gitcho
Last edited by gitcho; Jan 17, 2012 at 07:05 PM. Reason: cam not powered either
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 07:06 PM
Registered User
AlanFlorida's Avatar
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jul 2004
2,102 Posts
Anyone know when these will be back in stock.... I have sent several unanswered emails. Thank you!
AlanFlorida is offline Find More Posts by AlanFlorida
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 07:12 PM
The way of being is doing.
IMEIV's Avatar
Italia, Emilia Romagna, Ravenna
Joined Apr 2009
434 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gitcho View Post
The newest RVOSD5 documentation (version 6) PDF has something about that on page 18 ....

RVOSD5 Review http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...mentid=4359785
Yes, but on page 18 I see a reference to V8R7SP that must be prepared to broadcast the rssi signal. In fact carry instructions "When the RSSI input is selected to PPM1 or PPM1 and PPM2, you have to connect RSSI from receiver 1 to the aileron input... This mode does not need calibration and can be used with one or two V8R7SP Frsky receiver's specially modified like this, the added part is a standard diode 1N4148"

But seems that TFRSP receiver is different because has an output prepared for RSSI.. for this reason I ask "why it was necessary a capacitor". In this case, with TFRSP receiver, I think that I have to connect RSSI plug on temp/rssi input. While with V8R7SP the rssi information is drawn from aileron input.

Would seem useless buy a TFRSP receiver with a prepared rssi output and then modify it for a correct rssi trasmission... but I believe that it will not.

Maybe some owner will tell us with greater certainty.
IMEIV is offline Find More Posts by IMEIV
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 07:14 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
On mine i have the UBEC connected to the RX directly and it works fine, any advantage of powering it from the OSD then having the OSD sending 5v to the RX ?

thanks
I plug it in the osd incase there is an issue with the rx the autopilot still has power for the servos. Also my rx is way out on the end of the wing. Less wires to run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gitcho View Post
OK ... think I know why I'm having issues - the RVOSD5 is only outputting 5v on both vtx and cam rails - instead of 12. The jumper is in the correct (default) position to output 12v, but it's only putting out 5. My ESC is plugged into the "Main Batt" port, which is not disabled ... feeding it with a 3s 1800mah
If your are using the ESC bec then plug the 3 wired throttle in the throttle output osd the osd. You should solder a servo wire (red and black) to the esc side of the 12v or build a plug that goes inbetween the battery plug and the ESC plug and solder a servo wire to it to power the OSD through the main battery or aux battery plug. red to pos and black to neg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanFlorida View Post
Anyone know when these will be back in stock.... I have sent several unanswered emails. Thank you!
No idea. lol
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 07:33 PM
team n00b - captain
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2011
158 Posts
BAH! good call man2000me ... the RVOSD5 was delivering 5v to the cam and vtx because I was only giving it 5v from the ESC!! I had assumed my ESC was putting out 12v, but it was the current sensor that was delivering 12v to the main battery port, not my ESC ... just tested it now & found my mistake. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by man2000me View Post
If your are using the ESC bec then plug the 3 wired throttle in the throttle output osd the osd. You should solder a servo wire (red and black) to the esc side of the 12v or build a plug that goes inbetween the battery plug and the ESC plug and solder a servo wire to it to power the OSD through the main battery or aux battery plug. red to pos and black to neg.
gitcho is online now Find More Posts by gitcho
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 08:03 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
You have it working?
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 08:33 PM
team n00b - captain
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2011
158 Posts
not yet - had to run to LHS for some deans & servo extensions ... if I still can't seem to figure it after this, maybe I'll have to get on skype or something ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by man2000me View Post
You have it working?
gitcho is online now Find More Posts by gitcho
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 710 Dec 07, 2014 10:02 AM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 11:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 01:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 03:51 AM