Old Jun 16, 2011, 10:44 PM
DWA
John 3:16
South Orange County,CA.
Joined Dec 2004
10,018 Posts
Discussion
Trying something inspiring this summer or fall for the next generation sloper

I am the Cubmaster for my local Cub Scout Pack; Pack 727. I have a very large pack with about 100 boys in it (age range from 5 years to 11 years old).
I plane on doing a model aviation show and tell and I will bring all my RC planes to our schools multi purpose room and talk all about flying. With an emphasis on gliders and slope soaring because that is what I love most about RC. I have about 35 built aircraft (slope and electric) ranging from a 4 meter glider to indoor micro stuff to display. I will also bring some kits and talk about building model airplanes, and talk about aerial photography and flying full scale as I am also a licensed pilot.

If all goes well I will repeat this talk for the next 2 years that I am Cubmaster. (once a year, as we get new boys in each year)

I think it would be so cool to be an old guy on the slope and have one of the scouts I gave this talk to come up to me and say. “I remember you, you were my Cubmaster and got me into model aviation and slope soaring, oh and I also fly 747’s for a living.”

So what do you guys think?
Any advice you guys might have would be welcome. This will be a first for me.

Dave
DWA is offline Find More Posts by DWA
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by DWA; Jun 17, 2011 at 12:31 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 17, 2011, 12:02 AM
DWA
John 3:16
South Orange County,CA.
Joined Dec 2004
10,018 Posts
Maybe I could take all 100 camping and flying here.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1270849

That sure would be a lot more memorable than a show and tell in the MPR at school. A bit harder to pull off logistically though.

Dave
DWA is offline Find More Posts by DWA
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 17, 2011, 01:27 AM
Joined Jan 2007
4,748 Posts