SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 16, 2011, 10:34 AM
Joined May 2011
88 Posts
Discussion
Considering Opening a New Store

A bit of history and then I'll ask the hard hitting questions.

The area I'm looking at doesn't have a Hobby Town USA(closed due to the owner passing away, but I've heard they were doing well) nor does it have any other true hobby ,toy or gaming store in the area. The population is roughly 143,000 people(This includes neighboring/connected cities, which don't have any hobby stores that I'm aware of.)

Economically, it doesn't appear that the main city is in any trouble, and the college in the area actually just voted to move to Division 1, which means they expect the students to pay more in tuition and fees.

Hobby Town USA was the last store in this genre to remain open, and it closed more than a year ago.

Personally, I hold a MBA, meaning I should have a pretty easy time finding a job outside of the hobby industry if things go south. My father has owned some sort of store for the majority of his life. I've grown up with the background to make it work, and also realize the extreme amount of time that would be required to make it a success.

Now for the questions:

With the limited information posted here, would this be worth really considering?

Would I be able to support a family on the income from a store in this area?

Should I consider a franchise like Hobby Town USA, or do the work of getting a license and establishing vendor accounts?

Would an owner of a hobby store be able to take a vacation or have any time away, considering the effort required to establish the business?
Aerosheik is offline Find More Posts by Aerosheik
Last edited by Aerosheik; Jun 16, 2011 at 11:30 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 30, 2011, 05:25 PM
Joined Jul 2010
385 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerosheik View Post
a bit of history and then i'll ask the hard hitting questions.