HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 14, 2011, 04:27 AM
Joined Jun 2011
246 Posts
Discussion
Dumas Chris Craft 1230 kit contents. (1930 24' )

Hi All,
This is my first post and while I've been modelling for about 50 years I think I have bitten off more than I can chew when I received the Dumas 1230 kit today.
The kit was pre-owned but still original and a quick check of contents indicates the chrome break-water and aluminium trim are not included.

My question is - are these parts actually missing or are they optional extras to be purchased as part of a fitting kit?
The box includes 4 sheets of (about 3/4 size) plans but no assembly guide - is this correct? I think I can cope but don't want to make it harder than needed.
I would appreciate any advice from others who have made this model.

I fell in love with this Chris Craft after restoring a similar old boat I bought second hand in bad repair. It's glue was all powdery and every time I picked it up something would come off in my hand. It never had a motor in it but did have a crude drive shaft. After several months of wet sanding lead based paint it is now restored and runs rather nicely. It's 4 foot long and somewhat beamy but Ken and the Barbie twins enjoy the outing.
http://www.youtube.com/user/Blythebo.../1/1qoed4Yx2lw

Cheers,
David
KiwiDavid is offline Find More Posts by KiwiDavid
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 14, 2011, 06:26 AM
WooHoo!
Lake Balboa, CA
Joined Jun 2007
5,134 Posts
Welcome aboard.

Contact Dumas, they are very helpful.

http://www.dumasproducts.com/
woodybob is offline Find More Posts by woodybob
Old Jun 14, 2011, 07:13 AM
Joined Jun 2011
246 Posts
Hello woodybob,
Thanks for the link.
I will feel a tad ripped off by the seller if indeed the assembly instructions and the larger metal trim parts are missing but I'll seek confirmation that they are supplied first.

Cheers,
David
Old Jun 14, 2011, 09:08 PM
Joined Dec 2004
3,842 Posts