HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 13, 2011, 07:10 AM
Joined Jun 2011
1 Posts
Question
250mah rx battery (4.8v) for glider

Hi,

I'm new to planes, and am building a balsa glider.

I need a small, light, about 250mah rx battery, for my Hobbyking receiver.

What voltage to I need? I've found various discussions, and I think it's 4.8-6volts.

Can someone direct me to a suitable battery? I'll drop into a hobbystore next weekend and ask there as well.

Thanks, Brock
antiquark is offline Find More Posts by antiquark
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 13, 2011, 12:15 PM
Suspended Account
Panorama City, CA
Joined Sep 2004
5,566 Posts
Hobby stores carry 4.8V 4 cell 250mah rx battery pack.

After a few flights, check the voltage. It does not last too long.
John Kim is offline Find More Posts by John Kim
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jun 13, 2011, 01:08 PM
Central California
Joined Dec 2006
2,397 Posts
A 250mah 4 cell pack? What size cells would those be made of? Your probably going to find that a nickel metal pack with cells that small arent going deliver enough current to prevent voltage drop throughout the discharge cycle. Its not all about standing voltage.Its whether the required voltage will be maintained throughout its cycle while the working load is applied.There are so many varibles in deciding what will likely work or not.

Without knowing a few more details about the entire system its not lkely anyone can blindly make a recommendation on what will be "plug and play".
Most important in any setup is knowing what kind of current (amperage) you expect to require.Then when you choose a power supply you have some idea if its going to be adequate or not.Then you test to see if the values are acceptable in actual use.

Thats my opinion.Or you could always go with the majority opinion."Plug and Pray".