HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 27, 2011, 04:37 AM
Crashing into the sky!
jackosmeister's Avatar
Auckland NZ
Joined Aug 2007
7,327 Posts
Hey Yuri, Ive just realised I was a dumbass and must have left the Xplanes wingbolts in the grass at the feild (along with the allen driver for em!),

Any chance of getting some more off you? I cant find any countersunk ones the right size in my bits box, only normal bolts, which will do until I can find some proper ones
jackosmeister is offline Find More Posts by jackosmeister
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 27, 2011, 09:35 AM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,813 Posts
One thing before I use to much force ,,,,, How do you get the ailerons to be easy to move up ? mine are hard like "#%&%.... If I force them up, I would probably crack the balsa spar again.. I would like to get them soft.... my ailerons stops at neutral, and every mm up is by force... down I can go 90 degress very easy..


Any tip ?
sebbe is offline Find More Posts by sebbe
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2011, 01:46 PM
Sure it'll work
Flyextreme's Avatar
United States, CA, Torrance
Joined Nov 2005
4,275 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebbe View Post
One thing before I use to much force ,,,,, How do you get the ailerons to be easy to move up ? mine are hard like "#%&%.... If I force them up, I would probably crack the balsa spar again.. I would like to get them soft.... my ailerons stops at neutral, and every mm up is by force... down I can go 90 degress very easy..


Any tip ?
If you have already taken a bit off of the wiper...check to see if the top of the control surface is hitting the top/inside of the sub-trailing edge. I used an emery board to clean it up some. Also make sure what you take off the wiper is uniform all the way down (entire length). One little "high" spot will stop the aileron's movement.

You just have to move them and look real, real close to see what is stopping movement.

I have to go back into mine because my left aileron is binding before it gets to where the right one moves to...it won't go as high.

Hope this helps.

Bill
Flyextreme is offline Find More Posts by Flyextreme
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2011, 02:17 PM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,813 Posts
Ok Bill, I will check it later really carefull; I want the aileron to be easy movement..


Thanks..
sebbe is offline Find More Posts by sebbe
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2011, 04:03 PM
Crashing into the sky!
jackosmeister's Avatar
Auckland NZ
Joined Aug 2007
7,327 Posts
Less talking more flying

Sebbe, I found the same thing as you, they get stiff going up, its just the new hinge line. Work them a bit and they will free up nicely (mine have). Better to have them to stiff than loose!


On that note, its time to go put double digit flight numbers on mine, and scare some more old fellas flying 40 trainers ( that are "hot" with 46's in em )
jackosmeister is offline Find More Posts by jackosmeister
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2011, 07:17 PM
200mph +
sykotic's Avatar
New Zealand, Manawatu-Wanganui, Palmerston North
Joined Sep 2010
931 Posts
X arrived

I think you need to find some stronger boxes my friend Yuri! That aren't quite NZpost proof

The box arrived almost flat with the end of it bent completely over.

Luckily the plane looks likes it's survived ok!

Looks beautiful in person, can't wait to get home from work and start fiddling with it.

Thank you very much Yuri.
sykotic is offline Find More Posts by sykotic
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 12:55 AM
Sure it'll work
Flyextreme's Avatar
United States, CA, Torrance
Joined Nov 2005
4,275 Posts
My box was in considerably beat-up shape and it only came from Oregon to So-Cal. I was concerned, so I opened it at the Fed-Ex store before I left. When the workers saw what was in the box...I had to "X-Plain"

Bill
Flyextreme is offline Find More Posts by Flyextreme
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 04:04 AM
200mph +
sykotic's Avatar
New Zealand, Manawatu-Wanganui, Palmerston North
Joined Sep 2010
931 Posts
Anyone know of anyone with stock of RFM 32/6 spinners?

Everyone seems out of stock with a 6 week lead time.


Or another xplane suitable spinner with 6mm collet which will take rfm blades at 2-2.5ish kw?
sykotic is offline Find More Posts by sykotic
Last edited by sykotic; Aug 29, 2011 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 02:39 PM
Livin it UP when Im goin DOWN
Arcteryxxx's Avatar
Norway, Telemark, Skien
Joined Feb 2010
4,352 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyextreme View Post
Not sure about the 6ch rx either. Might need a Y harness or two with Spektrum....???
I have programmed my DX8 with a test rig of 5 servos and a motor, and the answer to Extreme's question is definitly NO!
With the 6ch RX (AR6255) I now have programmed two flight modes (normal aileron and full wing aileron) and I have 3 steps of flap/spoilers (partial flaps, full flaps and butterfly)
Still need to do adjustment to throws etc.... but the plane is somewhere over the Atlantic so it will take some time

I was anxious to do the programming and to prove the programming capabilities of the DX8 - it's marvelous No Y-harness needed!

I have saved the setup and if anyone is interested in a basic setup for a 4 servo wing +elevator and motor (no rudder), slip me a PM with your mail and I'll send it to you.

One more concern to clear from the list......
Arcteryxxx is offline Find More Posts by Arcteryxxx
Last edited by Arcteryxxx; Aug 30, 2011 at 04:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 06:55 AM
Crashing into the sky!
jackosmeister's Avatar
Auckland NZ
Joined Aug 2007
7,327 Posts
Is it built yet?

Wait till you hear the noises an X makes
jackosmeister is offline Find More Posts by jackosmeister
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 07:47 AM
Livin it UP when Im goin DOWN
Arcteryxxx's Avatar
Norway, Telemark, Skien
Joined Feb 2010
4,352 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackosmeister View Post
Is it built yet?

Wait till you hear the noises an X makes
Mine was sent from Yuri a couple of days ago...

Noise? My guess is something like this and then some......
V-Max static 5S (1 min 2 sec)
Arcteryxxx is offline Find More Posts by Arcteryxxx
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 11:46 AM
"RC ADDICT" in Toronto!
wollins's Avatar
Toronto Canada
Joined Aug 2004
1,730 Posts
which watt meter are you using in that test?
wollins is offline Find More Posts by wollins
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 01:07 PM
Livin it UP when Im goin DOWN
Arcteryxxx's Avatar
Norway, Telemark, Skien
Joined Feb 2010
4,352 Posts
A simple Turnigy 130A.
Arcteryxxx is offline Find More Posts by Arcteryxxx
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 01:28 PM
Needs to do 52 legs !!
jjmouris's Avatar
Verenigd Koninkrijk, Fareham
Joined Aug 2008
7,151 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcteryxxx View Post
A simple Turnigy 130A.
Good thing the amps where not over 130A then.

jjmouris is online now Find More Posts by jjmouris
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My F5B saw tooth props
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 01:35 PM
Livin it UP when Im goin DOWN
Arcteryxxx's Avatar
Norway, Telemark, Skien
Joined Feb 2010
4,352 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjmouris View Post
Good thing the amps where not over 130A then.

It can withstand 130 continuous...
Arcteryxxx is offline Find More Posts by Arcteryxxx
Last edited by Arcteryxxx; Aug 31, 2011 at 01:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Blade MCP X - owner's thread rchelijc Micro Helis 13062 Sep 19, 2014 10:12 AM
Discussion MCP-X thread for people that dont have a MCP-x axelen Micro Helis 186 Apr 01, 2011 01:17 AM
Data mCP X (non chat) setup and tips owners thread Cable Guy Micro Helis 9 Mar 12, 2011 11:50 AM
Build Log Build Log - ARK X-500 series build thread cfrank2005 Electric Heli Talk 30 Jun 29, 2009 12:27 PM
RBC A-4 Skyhawk build thread X.X Willmsy Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 6 Nov 22, 2005 10:01 PM