HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 09, 2011, 12:43 PM
Registered User
la528it's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2007
2,169 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy View Post
You need a mustache to be....
See avatar pic :-{D
la528it is offline Find More Posts by la528it
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 09, 2011, 02:30 PM
The Sarawak KoloMee
SniperWj's Avatar
Singapore
Joined Jan 2008
263 Posts
rich,I dint know you into 3d flying after I did that on my 3x.

yiming
SniperWj is offline Find More Posts by SniperWj
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 09, 2011, 04:03 PM
Registered User
grobbins666's Avatar
Huntington Beach So. Cal
Joined Jul 2008
879 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenny970 View Post
Sounds like a bit too much excitement in that flight! Glad the model is OK though!

Rule #1 for high performance flying -- Always, always carry the wing bolt wrench in your pocket when flying!

Lenny
No fanny pack needed just put allen, phillips in back pocket. I get upset at myself when I forget to do this. Especially since I take the motor pack out when I land... no point of carrying a hot model back to the bench.
grobbins666 is online now Find More Posts by grobbins666
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 02:55 AM
Crashing into the sky!
jackosmeister's Avatar
Auckland NZ
Joined Aug 2007
7,326 Posts
Stick this stuff in here

Gearbox is on motor temporarily, for those that PM'd me about detailing putting it together, Ill try put some photos of it going together up later this week.

Working 80 hour weeks at the moment, expect slow progress
jackosmeister is offline Find More Posts by jackosmeister
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 03:23 AM
Registered User
la528it's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2007
2,169 Posts
Hey, I think you will have a cg problem... I had to put rx pack under the motor... and mine is tiny next to yours... I think mine is a 300mah 2s lipo and I have ccbec shrunk to rx behind flightpack (btw: I would not suggest 2s life on ds09 hyperions, keep it at or under 6v)
la528it is offline Find More Posts by la528it
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 03:25 AM
Crashing into the sky!
jackosmeister's Avatar
Auckland NZ
Joined Aug 2007
7,326 Posts
Cheers man,

Was gonna check how the CG is looking tonight, the main reason for all the bits out

CCBEC is missing from the pic, still waiting on it
jackosmeister is offline Find More Posts by jackosmeister
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 02:31 PM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,848 Posts
Guys,

I have 2 Phoenix 125A ESC, the spare one is new (Not really looking to sell it).

One of my internet friends was telling me that the older 125A ESCs are worth more money since the newer ones could not be loaded with earlier firmware like version 1.56 (pre 2.0)


I pulled the lead for receiver out of the ESC bag and connected it to my castle link.... it was revision 1.55 or 1.56

(per his comments) Supposedly in some classes of racing they are more desired , and that Castle said they could/would not help in uploading the old firmware for people.
That was a few months ago and now Castle has stopped selling 125A ESCs.


***Ever heard such a thing? If so what can it sell for?


Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 03:22 PM
Livin it UP when Im goin DOWN
Arcteryxxx's Avatar
Norway, Telemark, Skien
Joined Feb 2010
4,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GryphonRCU View Post
Guys,

I have 2 Phoenix 125A ESC, the spare one is new (Not really looking to sell it).

One of my internet friends was telling me that the older 125A ESCs are worth more money since the newer ones could not be loaded with earlier firmware like version 1.56 (pre 2.0)


I pulled the lead for receiver out of the ESC bag and connected it to my castle link.... it was revision 1.55 or 1.56

(per his comments) Supposedly in some classes of racing they are more desired , and that Castle said they could/would not help in uploading the old firmware for people.
That was a few months ago and now Castle has stopped selling 125A ESCs.


***Ever heard such a thing? If so what can it sell for?


Gryphon
Hi Gryphon!
Benchmark I guess will be the 139dollars for a new one on eBay...
Arcteryxxx is offline Find More Posts by Arcteryxxx
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 06:19 PM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,848 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcteryxxx View Post
Hi Gryphon!
Benchmark I guess will be the 139dollars for a new one on eBay...

Arctery,

I guess I'm more curious than anything. No need to sell it.

Mostly trying to figure out if there is much truth to that firmware being more desired or sought after.
It does not make much sense to me.

Enough of my thread hijack.

PMs on this topic from folks with specific knowledge on this topic will be appreciated.


Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 08:58 PM
zoom zoom
gotboostedvr6's Avatar
USA, NJ, Mt Laurel
Joined Oct 2007
3,691 Posts
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...+what+firmware
gotboostedvr6 is offline Find More Posts by gotboostedvr6
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 11:14 AM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,813 Posts
My X-plane arrived today.... Looks good, BUT the wing was cracked in 2 places

Maybee a third place, hard to tell, will post a picture so you can judge later.

The other 2 cracks was at the wingtips, couldnt live with it, so i have sanded down a bit, cleaned and put some fiber+epoxi to cure over the night now, will paint them black later tomorrow.. The postage must have been hard on the package

Overall Im satisfied, except one thing , its the horn for elavator, its drilled so there is just very thin material on one side, I can crack it with my finger, will dremel that horn away, and glue in a bigger stronger with a accurate center hole and at leat 1.5mm of material on both sides...

Will post picture of the suspect big/long crack in middle of the wing, but after looking at it for a while, it seems more to be an overlay of carbon, so maybee it isnt a crack ...I just hope it isnt weaker in that area, you can see later and judge..



Sebbe..
sebbe is online now Find More Posts by sebbe
Last edited by sebbe; Jul 11, 2011 at 11:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 11:45 AM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,813 Posts
Ok, as you can see, I have started to fix the broken tips, I was lucky as they where still in place... I just had to make them stronger..


Now I can see better,the 3:rd possible crack, its not a crack i think, it looks more like an overlay of carbon...?
sebbe is online now Find More Posts by sebbe
Last edited by sebbe; Jul 11, 2011 at 01:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 02:22 PM
One Idiot is plenty...
Dbox's Avatar
Planet Earth
Joined Jun 2005
5,186 Posts
Feel sorry for Your repairs,cause they were not necessarily .
Both wing tips were showing core support mark lines from inside out.
Wing center is exactly carbon overlay.
Elevator horn is good enough for 4 X forces to hold .
....just go fly.
Yuri.
Dbox is online now Find More Posts by Dbox
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 03:42 PM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,813 Posts
Yuri, the right wingtip was cracked, I could easy bend it with my fingers about half inch + I could open the leading edge almost 2 inches, where the crack was, so I could see inside the wingtip.... the damage was also on the package, you could se soemone has bent the package, or put some big pressure on it ...

I know about the core support mark lines , but thrust me, the right tip was pretty cracked up. the left just had a small crack ontop, that one i did just put some epoxi on..

the pictures above on the wingtips is AFTER i repaired..

Anyway, its fixed now.... OK, so middle wing is overlay, sound good to know..


Yuri, 3 questions:

* what throws(in mm please) on ailerons and elevator ?

* What angle of indencie between wing and stab ? 0,0 degrees ?

* CG ?
sebbe is online now Find More Posts by sebbe
Last edited by sebbe; Jul 11, 2011 at 03:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 05:39 PM
One Idiot is plenty...
Dbox's Avatar
Planet Earth
Joined Jun 2005
5,186 Posts
Then I am sorry Sebbe for that damage.If You was able to open wing at the leading edge ,then is was cracked.I did receive a few shipments from FVK myself,totally trashed packages.
Sebbe,You have aelerons only version,so 7mm UP/5mm down would be O.K. to start with.
But ,when You gain speed I would reduce the throws.
Elevator 6mmUP/5mm DOWN.
Incidence should be 0 deg.
CG is from 50-60mm- insensitive Mine is 55mm now.
All of the above is really depends on pilot flying style .
Yuri.
Dbox is online now Find More Posts by Dbox
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Blade MCP X - owner's thread rchelijc Micro Helis 13062 Sep 19, 2014 10:12 AM
Discussion MCP-X thread for people that dont have a MCP-x axelen Micro Helis 186 Apr 01, 2011 01:17 AM
Data mCP X (non chat) setup and tips owners thread Cable Guy Micro Helis 9 Mar 12, 2011 11:50 AM
Build Log Build Log - ARK X-500 series build thread cfrank2005 Electric Heli Talk 30 Jun 29, 2009 12:27 PM
RBC A-4 Skyhawk build thread X.X Willmsy Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 6 Nov 22, 2005 10:01 PM