HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 07, 2011, 10:11 AM
Flyin' low & slow T-28s!
MaladroitFL's Avatar
United States, FL, Vero Beach
Joined Feb 2011
3,326 Posts
Question
How to switch Rudder to Aileron Stick: DX6i

I just scratch-built an 16" wingspan, 3Ch bipe using an AR6400 Spektrum with a broken aileron port.
I just have the rudder and elevator on it, but would like to have the rudder work on the right-hand, aileron stick as it would work on any 3-ch like the Champ for example.

I have looked through the manual and also searched on YouTube, but found nothing.

Could anyone give me a quick, step-by-step that'll explain how to get the left hand rudder stick to also work on the RH stick, so it'll feel more natural to fly?

I am heavy-handed, (I.e. a klutz) so if I leave the rudder on the left stick I'll always be bumping the throttle up n' down.

Many thanks in advance!

Mac
MaladroitFL is offline Find More Posts by MaladroitFL
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 07, 2011, 10:25 AM
Pro Bro ozzy
Tim B's Avatar
United States, WY, Cheyenne
Joined Aug 2004
533 Posts
I hate to say it, but if your receiver is not working correctly or has a broken port; that's all you know of. I wouldn't fly it. I'd get it fix or replace it. Your receiver is an accident waiting to happen.

Tim
Tim B is offline Find More Posts by Tim B
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 11:45 AM
Flyin' low & slow T-28s!
MaladroitFL's Avatar
United States, FL, Vero Beach
Joined Feb 2011
3,326 Posts
That's not the issue at all, Tim.
I broke the plug off the brick that runs to the aileron servo in my UM T-28, so I am utting a new brick into the T-28 and used this brick for the Bipe project, since it doesn't need an aileron port (rudder and elevator controlled only).

So I just want to control the rudder with the aileron stick. Pretty simple and no major issues. No sense buying a new brick or bothering HH for this, I broke the port off when I cut too deep.

Everything works fine BTW...just would rather switch the control...
MaladroitFL is offline Find More Posts by MaladroitFL
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 04:04 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,963 Posts
Why don't you just do an aileron to rudder mix on the DX6i?
Daedalus66 is online now Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 05:11 PM
Prefectionist
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Mar 2007
1,311 Posts
I'd send the receiver into horizon and see what they do. Otherwise:

disable rudder stick (optional):
MIX1 rudder -> rudder up -100% down -100%

Enable rudder control using aileron stick.:
MIX2 aileron -> rudder up 100% down 100%

I haven't tested this, but it should work.
creapyd is offline Find More Posts by creapyd
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 06:20 PM
Registered User
Eric Henderson's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Dec 2005
1,457 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by creapyd View Post
I'd send the receiver into horizon and see what they do. Otherwise:

disable rudder stick (optional):
MIX1 rudder -> rudder up -100% down -100%

Enable rudder control using aileron stick.:
MIX2 aileron -> rudder up 100% down 100%

I haven't tested this, but it should work.
You can reprogram the AR6400 to use the remaining port as a dual aileron. Then only use one port for the ailerons as before.

The AR6400 manual has a section on how to activate the unused port.

Regards,

Eric H.
Eric Henderson is offline Find More Posts by Eric Henderson
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Mental hang-nails
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 10:00 PM
Registered User
philipa_240sx's Avatar
Ontario, Canada
Joined Apr 2010
2,543 Posts
I have an AR6400 in a scratchbuilt SE5a bipe. I used the method creapyd described to get the rudder servo to operate on via the aileron channel (RH stick).

Bottom line: You cannot change the channel assignment of the on-board linear servo's (elevator or rudder). Mixing via the radio is the only way to accomplish it.
philipa_240sx is offline Find More Posts by philipa_240sx
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 11:04 PM
Pro Bro ozzy
Tim B's Avatar
United States, WY, Cheyenne
Joined Aug 2004
533 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaladroitFL View Post
That's not the issue at all, Tim.
I broke the plug off the brick that runs to the aileron servo in my UM T-28, so I am utting a new brick into the T-28 and used this brick for the Bipe project, since it doesn't need an aileron port (rudder and elevator controlled only).

So I just want to control the rudder with the aileron stick. Pretty simple and no major issues. No sense buying a new brick or bothering HH for this, I broke the port off when I cut too deep.

Everything works fine BTW...just would rather switch the control...
Cool, I misunderstood.

Tim
Tim B is offline Find More Posts by Tim B
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 07:18 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
19 Posts
ok i want to switch a 3 channel plane to use rudder on left stick instead of elevater rudder on right stick
jbrownskunk is offline Find More Posts by jbrownskunk
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 07:42 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,598 Posts
Move the servo wires on the receiver.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 07:43 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,598 Posts
Or create a mix aileron to rudder.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 07:59 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,963 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrownskunk View Post
ok i want to switch a 3 channel plane to use rudder on left stick instead of elevater rudder on right stick
Unless you fly Mode 3 normally, the primary turn control should always be on the right stick. Rudder only goes on the left if turning is done primarily with ailerons. Otherwise, you learn bad habits that get in the way of flying a 4-channel model.
Daedalus66 is online now Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2013, 03:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
11 Posts
Thanks for helping me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by creapyd View Post
I'd send the receiver into horizon and see what they do. Otherwise:

disable rudder stick (optional):
MIX1 rudder -> rudder up -100% down -100%

Enable rudder control using aileron stick.:
MIX2 aileron -> rudder up 100% down 100%

I haven't tested this, but it should work.
you guys are freaking geniuses. I was also looking for similar solution for my DX6i and Ember 2 and you solution sir; worked perfectly.
Raindrop is offline Find More Posts by Raindrop
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll Spektrum DX8 | Rudder and/or Aileron Channel Centering Poll boltor Radios 133 Mar 09, 2012 03:06 PM
Discussion How are spoilers normally setup?: on a switch or on a stick/slider cmanley_nl Sailplane Talk 15 Mar 11, 2011 04:34 AM
Discussion 9303 mix-switch differing aileron-rudder coupling atjurhs Thermal 6 Apr 28, 2010 08:46 PM
Help! Spectrum DX6i aileron/rudder swap edi Radios 4 Jul 04, 2008 09:01 PM
Discussion Moving rudder control from left stick to right stick via radio switch churlock Radios 3 Nov 14, 2007 04:21 PM