SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 05, 2011, 11:43 AM
Canada, AB, Lac La Biche
Joined Aug 2010
1,958 Posts
Discussion
Just put my first lights on

I built a fairly big AP bird this winter, and I find myself often flying it late in the evening getting sunset shots, and because late in the evening is usually also good for wind conditions. I'm also new at this RC flying, and often find myself having trouble with orientation etc. and this bird has such light wing loading I find the wind can turn it in a hearbeat. One evening I lost orientation and was fighting a breeze and when I finally was losing sight of it more than I was seeing it and cut the throttle and I ended up walking almost 3 kms looking for a white plane on a frozen lake (with a brand new GoPro on it).

My next flight I just put on a cheap dollar store 3-LED headlamp on the plane, which worked pretty good actually. You can see it on the plane in this video here. (inset at 1:40)

Sunset on the ice (4 min 2 sec)

I've since put FPV on it, which helps me a LOT with orientation when flying it a long ways away, as well as being far better for framing shots & videos etc, but since I do a lot of flying in the evening, decided to put some lights on it. I started out with this set, and put the strobe on the front with the green and red LED's on the correct port/starboard sides. Actually I don't think it's so much a strobe as it's just a flashing LED. I did buy this strobe from flytron as well, which I think will be a lot better in daylight and long distances, but danged if I can remember where I set it I see now they have the green and red, and depending on how well the lumifly ones work at distance I may replace them with the flytron. The lumifly set looks pretty good at night anyway, but I have not yet flown with them.