HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 04, 2011, 01:34 AM
"Fly, yes... Land, No"
United States, CA, Santa Cruz
Joined May 2005
1,323 Posts
Build Log
OZO new hotwire set up

Hey guys. Been working on a new hotwire power box and fume collection system for my foam cutting. going to do my first official build log of it. Not totally sure to put this here or in the DIY electronics section but since this has to do with foam cutting I think it makes more sense to put it here. If admins feel other wise please feel free to move it.

Ive been doing the hotwire set up for a few years now and each time I've redone my power box to get more and more precises control of the tools I make to do this fun hobby of ours.

My original box was simply a transformer being controlled via a dimmer switch. This worked mostly ok but I always had a very hard time getting the temp low enough to not simply burn a hole in the foam.

My newest box (4th one I think if you count my really crappy first one) combines the power regulation for up to 6 selectable tools, along with an integrated fume collection system and filters.

Why make it so complex? Evolution.... I use a wide range of different tools, each one needing different power needs. My 5 different tools currently range from 11watts to 32 watts of power. My main table uses 11 where as my "knife" needs 14. Not a huge difference but enough that I do have to adjust for.

Why a built in fume collection system? Talk with anyone who has run a hot wire setup for long periods of time. They will tell you that you need good ventilation or you can get really sick or worse. I use a strong blower fan puling the air through several filters including a carbon filter to scrub the air clean.

Now for some pictures.
OutcastZeroOne is offline Find More Posts by OutcastZeroOne
Last edited by OutcastZeroOne; Jun 04, 2011 at 02:32 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 04, 2011, 02:02 AM
"Fly, yes... Land, No"
Joined May 2005
1,323 Posts