HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Oct 16, 2011, 06:53 AM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,275 Posts
Ok, I am getting the very same black box as before. and when I type in the command the same thing is happening. Should have made myself more clear. Interestingly the program info looks slightly different than the black program you posted.
It says it is a C:\windows\system32 cmd in the first line.
Microsoft windows (version 6.0.6002)
Copyright <c> 2006 microsoft corp. All rights res
C:\Windows\system32>

This is what I am seeing when I bring up the Dos cmmd windows batch file
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:05 AM
OlliW
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
this "C:\Windows\system32>" is the problem, instead of this path it should show the path in which you have your stuff stored... I don't know why it is not directed to this folder by running DosCmd.bat on your computer.

Two options:
1) you'll type into the box cd.. and press enter, then you'll type in again cd.. and press enter, the command prompt should now be "C:\>", now you type in cd "path" wher path is the FULL path towards your folder where you have stored the stuff (which can be ugly long)
2) alternatively you open the file DosCmd.bat with an ordinary ASCII editor (e.g. Notepad) and enter as first LINE: cd "path", save and close it and run it again

in any case you need to know the FULL path to your folder, you should have specified it while unpacking the zip file. If you don't know this path, you may wish to unzip the zip file again, but now store everything directly in C:\

I haven't anticipated this problem, sorry for that
OlliW is offline Find More Posts by OlliW
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:12 AM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,275 Posts
Hey, this is new territory and we just needed to get on the same mental page to get this going. No apologies needed. what you blast out subconsciously without needing to think about is where the rest of us guys struggle. A term means something different unless you are looking at exactly the same thing. That is why I had to elaborate. Let me try this again now.
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:26 AM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,275 Posts
[QUOTE=OlliW;19606628]this "C:\Windows\system32>" is the problem, instead of this path it should show the path in which you have your stuff stored... I don't know why it is not directed to this folder by running DosCmd.bat on your computer.

Two options:
1) you'll type into the box cd.. and press enter, then you'll type in again cd.. and press enter, the command prompt should now be "C:\>", now you type in cd "path" wher path is the FULL path towards your folder where you have stored the stuff (which can be ugly long)
2) alternatively you open the file DosCmd.bat with an ordinary ASCII editor (e.g. Notepad) and enter as first LINE: cd "path", save and close it and run it again

So, I did type in cd.. and cd.. and it did exactly as you described. Now I need to understand path. what exactly do I have to type in here. and What is an ordinary ASCII editer? Not so ordinary when you haven't ever heard of it. (me newbie guy, it is almost embarrassing)
Btw. I opened one of the command boxes and the entire process is laid out in english. Had I known this I would have gone after this long before now. I do appreciate your hands on expertise however. since I would have already been doubly lost.

It is pushing 4:30am here on the west coast and I am considering calling it a night and giving this another stab as soon as I can embrace this next step later on today.
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Last edited by Luvmyhelis; Oct 16, 2011 at 07:34 AM.
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:39 AM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,275 Posts
I just tried something else and I opened it in another file, used another program to open it, typed in the command code and I may be in in!!! Whoohoo! so what now big guy? I am trying to take a bloody screen shot but absolutely nothing is working.
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Last edited by Luvmyhelis; Oct 16, 2011 at 07:44 AM.
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:43 AM
OlliW
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
"Now I need to understand path. what exactly do I have to type in here"

well that's the tricky part... "C:\Windows\system32" was the path to the system32 folder... you need to figure out now the path to your working folder, it should look like "C:\.....\....\... ... ...\yourworkingfolder". If you haved used the option via Start->Run->Browse->DosCmd.bat you should now see it if you do again Start->Run and look at the textfield... the part without the DosCmd.bat at the end is your path

if you can't retrieve the path, unzip a new and do the extract of the zip file into the "C:\" folder... then you know where you are...

"What is an ordinary ASCII editer?"

Notepad, Wordpad, etc... but not text processing systems like Word etc... you can find Notepad via the Start -> All Programs -> Accessories
OlliW is offline Find More Posts by OlliW
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:45 AM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,275 Posts
Ok, I got it to copy the text. I am sure I can cut this down later when you tell me what it is really saying.




C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders>cmd
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders>avrdude -c ft232sf -P m88p
a -U lfuse:r:-:i
avrdude: No AVR part has been specified, use "-p Part"

Valid parts are:
m88pa = ATMEGA88PA [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:11219]
m6450 = ATMEGA6450 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:11009]
m3250 = ATMEGA3250 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:10820]
m645 = ATMEGA645 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:10631]
m325 = ATMEGA325 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:10442]
usb1287 = AT90USB1287 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloade
rs\avrdude.conf:10254]
usb1286 = AT90USB1286 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloade
rs\avrdude.conf:10065]
usb647 = AT90USB647 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloader
s\avrdude.conf:9876]
usb646 = AT90USB646 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloader
s\avrdude.conf:9686]
t84 = ATtiny84 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:9503]
t44 = ATtiny44 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:9321]
t24 = ATtiny24 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:9139]
m2561 = ATMEGA2561 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:8946]
m2560 = ATMEGA2560 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:8753]
m1281 = ATMEGA1281 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:8565]
m1280 = ATMEGA1280 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:8376]
m640 = ATMEGA640 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:8188]
t85 = ATtiny85 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:8007]
t45 = ATtiny45 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:7828]
t25 = ATtiny25 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:7648]
pwm3 = AT90PWM3 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:7466]
pwm2 = AT90PWM2 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:7282]
t2313 = ATtiny2313 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:7095]
m168 = ATMEGA168 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:6907]
m88 = ATMEGA88 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:6721]
m48 = ATMEGA48 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:6534]
t861 = ATTINY861 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:6346]
t461 = ATTINY461 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:6157]
t261 = ATTINY261 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:5968]
t26 = ATTINY26 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:5811]
m8535 = ATMEGA8535 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:5653]
m8515 = ATMEGA8515 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:5495]
m8 = ATMEGA8 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:5335]
m161 = ATMEGA161 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:5195]
m32 = ATMEGA32 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:5020]
m6490 = ATMEGA6490 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:4827]
m649 = ATMEGA649 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:4642]
m3290 = ATMEGA3290 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders
\avrdude.conf:4459]
m329 = ATMEGA329 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:4274]
m169 = ATMEGA169 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:4094]
m163 = ATMEGA163 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:3951]
m162 = ATMEGA162 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:3755]
m644 = ATMEGA644 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:3565]
m324 = ATMEGA324 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:3373]
m164 = ATMEGA164 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:3181]
m16 = ATMEGA16 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:3003]
c128 = AT90CAN128 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:2812]
m128 = ATMEGA128 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:2634]
m64 = ATMEGA64 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:2453]
m103 = ATMEGA103 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:2313]
8535 = AT90S8535 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:2192]
8515 = AT90S8515 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:2078]
4434 = AT90S4434 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:1995]
4433 = AT90S4433 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:1871]
2343 = AT90S2343 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:1747]
2333 = AT90S2333 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:1662]
2313 = AT90S2313 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:1549]
4414 = AT90S4414 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:1436]
1200 = AT90S1200 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:1321]
t15 = ATtiny15 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:1188]
t13 = ATtiny13 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:1015]
t12 = ATtiny12 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:882]
t11 = ATtiny11 [C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders\
avrdude.conf:818]


C:\Users\Randy\Documents\ftdi-avrdude-and-bootloaders>
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:46 AM
OlliW
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
you see in your dos box what is seen in the photo in the above? You see in particular the line with

:01000000CF30

?

If so, EXCELLENT!
Please confirm

What happens if you type in the very same line again and press enter? Does it work again? Can you do this 5 times in a row?
OlliW is offline Find More Posts by OlliW
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:49 AM
OlliW
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
this "avrdude -c ft232sf -P m88pa -U lfuse:r:-:i" is not correct

avrdude -c ft232sf -P ft0 -p m88pa -U lfuse:r:-:i

LOL
OlliW is offline Find More Posts by OlliW
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:54 AM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,275 Posts
I am not seeing that number anywhere.

edit: in answer to the suggested # before the last post in post 98
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Last edited by Luvmyhelis; Oct 20, 2011 at 04:23 AM.
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:06 AM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,275 Posts
It now says averdude done thank you
krap, connection failure. But at least it is saying the program is working and I have done it over and over
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Last edited by Luvmyhelis; Oct 16, 2011 at 08:20 AM.
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:20 AM
OlliW
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
look at the photo in post nr. 79, it's the fifth line from bottom
OlliW is offline Find More Posts by OlliW
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:39 AM
Professional heli wrecker
Luvmyhelis's Avatar
United States, WA, Spokane
Joined Oct 2010
4,275 Posts
I must be getting tired, this is really peeing me off since I cannot find a way to copy the results again. Before, the copy line would respond, now it wont so there is no way for you to see what I have on here. Krap. My over and over keep telling me that it failed though.
Here is a painstakingly slow retype of what I am seeing
I will start about a 3rd of the way down, the number you are looking for isn;t there.

avrdude bitbang ok
averdude pin assign miso 0 sck 1 mosi 131 reset 132
ft245r_drain called but queue is not empty2
avrdude drain ok
ft245r bitclk 230400 ->ft baud 115200
averdude: ft 245r program enable failed
averdude: initialization failed, rc =-1
double check connections and try again, or use -F to override this check
averdude done thank you

There is more code at the bottom but not the # you are having me look for
Luvmyhelis is offline Find More Posts by Luvmyhelis
Last edited by Luvmyhelis; Oct 16, 2011 at 08:56 AM.
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:46 AM
OlliW
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
open a graphics program, press the print screen key on your key board, and paste whatever you don't yet see in your graphics program, save and post...
OlliW is offline Find More Posts by OlliW
Old Oct 16, 2011, 09:03 AM
OlliW
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
OK...

1) double check all your connections...

2) maybe you have to do what I mentioned in the above, namely to unplug the usb cable, wait some time (maybe few minutes), plug it in again, wait some time, and then rerun avrdude
OlliW is offline Find More Posts by OlliW
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Lama V4 Brushless Boardless Conversion Parts List mountainsax Coaxial Helicopters 44 May 31, 2011 09:45 AM
Discussion Coax 370 brushless conversion Fly-a-kite Coaxial Helicopters 6 Dec 11, 2009 07:24 AM
Build Log brushless conversion of walkera 53-1 into an AP coax HyperHelis Coaxial Helicopters 16 Dec 12, 2008 06:51 PM