SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:13 PM
Registered User
protoplasmia's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Feb 2012
51 Posts
I have a Scarab Metal Quad with the latest Paris board (no GPS). I'm not sure if I'm using the MAG and BARO function correctly .... when should I enable it? Before I take off (whilst Quad is on the ground) ... or when I reach a certain altitude and direction?
protoplasmia is offline Find More Posts by protoplasmia
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:58 PM
I dont work here
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Apr 2012
1,526 Posts
Mag you can run anytime

You only select Baro when you want the quad to hold its current altitude (this doesnt work too well in V2.1 software but the next release it will be drastically improved)

So DO NOT select baro whilst on the ground
Deet_aus is offline Find More Posts by Deet_aus
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:05 PM
Registered User
protoplasmia's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Feb 2012
51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deet_aus View Post
Mag you can run anytime

You only select Baro when you want the quad to hold its current altitude (this doesnt work too well in V2.1 software but the next release it will be drastically improved)

So DO NOT select baro whilst on the ground
Baro seems to cause a fair amount of altitude oscillation (motors power up and down) ... ok, let's hope V2.2 code is out soon and addresses it.
protoplasmia is offline Find More Posts by protoplasmia
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:12 PM
I dont work here
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Apr 2012
1,526 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacmanAUS View Post
Deet,

I am sure I speak for other noobs on here but the one thing I have found hard to get my head around is all the jargon ie ACRO ACC BARO MAG etc etc

I have not found a reliable source yet that details what each mean and or if activated or deactivated what the cause and effect of each does.

And it appears depending on what GUI you use it changes for example the latest dev GUI has
Horizon and Angle and ACC no longer there...

I have not been able to find a wiki that clearly defines the Jargon
ACRO is full acrobatic mode, only the gyro sensor is active, if you hold forward pitch and let go the aircraft keeps going

ACC is enabling the Accelerometer sensor, the airframe will try and maintain a level attitude, so again hold forward pitch, let go, the airframe comes back to level state

ACC has been replaced in the current Dev version of the software and I believe this change will stay in the next full release. It is replaced by LEVEL and HORIZON

LEVEL behaves as ACC used to
HORIZON is a hybrid mode, it behaves like ACC mode when the sticks are close to centre, but will get acrobatic with large stick movements. The aircraft may not return to level in Horizon mode. (I havent tried it yet)

BARO enables the barometer sensor, this is designed to hold altitude, it isn't very good in V2.1, but the next release it will be very stable

MAG is enabling the magnetometer, or electronic compass, It just makes the heading hold more locked in. Personally I don't like the way it changes the feel of the aircraft in turns.

NOTE: you need to set ACC(or LEVEL)and MAG whenever you use the GPS modes, BARO is highly recommended also.

So in the switch matrix on the GUI, if you have NONE of the other modes selected then you are in ACRO mode

For mor details you can visit http://www.multiwii.com
Just be aware that the multiwii software is open sourced so most guys working on the code spend all their time on the code, and the instructions etc are always a bit behind
Deet_aus is offline Find More Posts by Deet_aus
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:15 PM
I dont work here
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Apr 2012
1,526 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by protoplasmia View Post
Baro seems to cause a fair amount of altitude oscillation (motors power up and down) ... ok, let's hope V2.2 code is out soon and addresses it.
the latest DEV version has it fixed
Deet_aus is offline Find More Posts by Deet_aus
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:41 PM
Registered User
protoplasmia's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Feb 2012
51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deet_aus View Post
the latest DEV version has it fixed
Ok ... when is V2.2 being formally released (non Dev)?

Also, in using the MAG mode ... am I meant to switch MAG on my TX before powering up the Paris board? That's what the instructions seem to imply.
protoplasmia is offline Find More Posts by protoplasmia
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 02:19 AM
I dont work here
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Apr 2012
1,526 Posts
you can switch to MAG anytime

you are supposed to have your TX ON,as in powered up BEFORE you power the Paris broad, the switch arrangement doesn't matter

I am sick of asking the multiwii guys when V2.2 will be released

I am running R1317 on two of my Paris boards with no issues to date

Here is the link if you want to run that, but you will need to modify the file before you upload it and I havent done a video covering this version

http://code.google.com/p/multiwii/do...9.zip&can=2&q=

There is a later dev, released three days ago, but I always wait a week before playing with any Dev version
Deet_aus is offline Find More Posts by Deet_aus
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 02:40 AM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Hope Island
Joined Jan 2013
106 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deet_aus View Post
you can switch to MAG anytime

you are supposed to have your TX ON,as in powered up BEFORE you power the Paris broad, the switch arrangement doesn't matter

I am sick of asking the multiwii guys when V2.2 will be released

I am running R1317 on two of my Paris boards with no issues to date

Here is the link if you want to run that, but you will need to modify the file before you upload it and I havent done a video covering this version

http://code.google.com/p/multiwii/do...9.zip&can=2&q=

There is a later dev, released three days ago, but I always wait a week before playing with any Dev version
Thanks Deet for once again a very detailed explantion

The support on this forum is impressive with everyone happy to help.

I am will stay clear of any software upgrades for now... Especially on the Avatar its a pain in the arse to pull that top off to get access to the usb port every time you want to update the software... I have the bluetooth on it but it appears you cant upload software that way only change pids or get real time throttle imputs while motor running which has been helpful despite the lag in the bluetooth.

I did change the servo travel in the code as suggested my yourself and one other. I was a little concerned had to set it to 1200 and 1600 which didnt appear to give me much travel in the servo at all.

But chuck a couple of props on her and man was I proved wrong responsive little thing the Avatar is.....

Had another crash with the Quad I think I had the acc baro mag acro thing all wrong which resulted in another broken landing gear (good thing I ordered a complete set as a backup) and a engine mount.

But the rain is back so not missing out on much back to balancing spare props for that not so rainy day when I can get out there again
pacmanAUS is offline Find More Posts by pacmanAUS
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:18 AM
CunningStuntsFPV
figgoat's Avatar
Australia, WA, Dirk Hartog Island
Joined Dec 2012
636 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacmanAUS View Post

But the rain is back so not missing out on much back to balancing spare props for that not so rainy day when I can get out there again
Raining dogs...no cats. $%^&&**(() We'll try and get a fly in at our new spot this weekend mate....bigger, with a few trees...baahaa.
figgoat is offline Find More Posts by figgoat
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:49 AM
Registered User
Australia, NT, Darwin
Joined Sep 2012
77 Posts
Had a chance to do some testing - first time with the new stabiliser, still has a few jitters and jello, but I think i know what is causing it and will change a few bits to hopefully get rid of it.

A quick 20 sec edit, obviously it's not all shot from the hex, but all on a go pro. There is only 3 scenes from the hex in it, I need to get better in aiming the camera for better shots.

BMX (0 min 22 sec)
foonji is offline Find More Posts by foonji
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 05:47 AM
Registered User
protoplasmia's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Feb 2012
51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deet_aus View Post
you can switch to MAG anytime

you are supposed to have your TX ON,as in powered up BEFORE you power the Paris broad, the switch arrangement doesn't matter

I am sick of asking the multiwii guys when V2.2 will be released

I am running R1317 on two of my Paris boards with no issues to date

Here is the link if you want to run that, but you will need to modify the file before you upload it and I havent done a video covering this version

http://code.google.com/p/multiwii/do...9.zip&can=2&q=

There is a later dev, released three days ago, but I always wait a week before playing with any Dev version
Thanks Deet ... I'll give it a go when you've done a video for it. Not sure what is required (file changes) before uploading to the Paris board.
protoplasmia is offline Find More Posts by protoplasmia
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:43 AM
Shipped to work. Wife safe.
Thai's Avatar
Canada, eh?
Joined Jan 2007
794 Posts
Hey guys, for soldering, can someone confirm:

Guide:
http://www.aaroncake.net/electronics/solder.htm

Soldering Gun:
http://www.tscstores.com/25-Watt-Sol...on-P24423.aspx
or
http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/brows....jsp?locale=en

Rosin Core Solder:
http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/brows....jsp?locale=en
or
http://www.tscstores.com/28g-Rosin-C...der-P4483.aspx

These are local stores for me. Thanks.

*EDIT* - Actually, looking at the photo of my order, it seems the power distribution board is already soldered and assembled. So I guess I won't need a soldering gun?
Thai is offline Find More Posts by Thai
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 12:36 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
United States, CA, San Ramon
Joined Nov 2002
2,545 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thai View Post
Hey guys, for soldering, can someone confirm:

Guide:
http://www.aaroncake.net/electronics/solder.htm

Soldering Gun:
http://www.tscstores.com/25-Watt-Sol...on-P24423.aspx
or
http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/brows....jsp?locale=en

Rosin Core Solder:
http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/brows....jsp?locale=en
or
http://www.tscstores.com/28g-Rosin-C...der-P4483.aspx

These are local stores for me. Thanks.

*EDIT* - Actually, looking at the photo of my order, it seems the power distribution board is already soldered and assembled. So I guess I won't need a soldering gun?
Almost everything is soldered for you, including the VoltAire. However, you may need to solder something else down the road like additional LEDs for the booms or UBEC, etc. Get the dual temp soldering station if that's in your budget. A variable temp station is best.

Cheers,
Jason
crazyj is offline Find More Posts by crazyj
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 01:06 PM
Shipped to work. Wife safe.
Thai's Avatar
Canada, eh?
Joined Jan 2007
794 Posts
I'll get the dual station one. For the life of me, I can't find a variable temp one in my area. Thanks!
Thai is offline Find More Posts by Thai
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:41 PM
Shipped to work. Wife safe.
Thai's Avatar
Canada, eh?
Joined Jan 2007
794 Posts
How are you guys adjusting motor tilts? Homemade giant protractors? Some other tools? Eyeballing it? Are you using the side of the motor for reference points?
Thai is offline Find More Posts by Thai
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Twisted Hobbys - Telink 43" SU 29 - Build, Fly, Vid hercdriver7777 3D Foamies 634 Nov 16, 2014 10:06 PM
Discussion Radical RC Stick 400 Build Thread~~~Now with Video Carnifax Electric Plane Talk 186 Aug 20, 2014 09:55 PM
Question Skywalker 3 Build Advice and Eventual Build Thread! Ecibob FPV Talk 2 May 01, 2011 05:46 PM
Discussion Easyglider Build Thread (Help wanted) worzul Foamies (Kits) 2 Mar 18, 2011 08:45 AM