SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 03, 2012, 03:21 AM
Registered User
Hanover, Germany
Joined Oct 2009
53 Posts
Hi Jim,

you could put a small voltage regulator between the box and the transmitter. Should be no problem

Even you can use an existing brick...

http://shop.rc-electronic.com/e-vend...11&c=428&p=428

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Futaba-P...item4d0296d131

Best regards
Martin
ktmraupe is offline Find More Posts by ktmraupe
Last edited by ktmraupe; Oct 03, 2012 at 03:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 03, 2012, 06:43 AM
Registered User
The Villages, Florida
Joined May 2003
516 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
It's a great platform, but I am not starting to look elswhere for a solution.
Did you mean to say "I am NOW starting to look elsewhere for a solution" ??
JuanRodriguez is offline Find More Posts by JuanRodriguez
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 12:21 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,942 Posts
ooops... yes, that was a typo! Thanks!
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 02:39 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Sep 2012
10 Posts
Thanks for the info.
testrun234 is offline Find More Posts by testrun234
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 15, 2012, 10:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
12 Posts
Hi all,
Is there a way to read the telemetry data from the transmitter?
i2c serial interface?

regards
Thomas
flyer2000 is offline Find More Posts by flyer2000
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 07:31 AM
Registered User
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2005
2,169 Posts
There is a way but I can't find the info right off. That is the way the Telemetry Display would receive data to be displayed. Here is the dev page:

http://www.xtremepowersystems.net/devinfo.php

Alan
jh2rc97 is offline Find More Posts by jh2rc97
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 06:04 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
12 Posts
Yes, I know this page. I see nothing about transmitter telemetry. Data transfer, pin holes etc.
Was it in a planned release?
Thomas
flyer2000 is offline Find More Posts by flyer2000
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 07:53 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,942 Posts
There are two ports available inside of the transmitter, specifically for transmitter mounted telemetry. Initially we were going to do that, but for legal reasons we didn't... we made a computer (laptop) based solution so that people wouldn't be looking at a screen instead of flying their aircraft. We were going to use Graupner's Smart Box, but Graupner is very slow and difficult to work with for things like this. So, I have a new box designed as a handheld unit (not transmitter mounted).
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 12:43 AM
Stress Be Gone
GBR2's Avatar
Snohomish, WA
Joined May 2000
3,417 Posts
I'd like it mounted on my transmitter.
GBR2 is offline Find More Posts by GBR2
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 04:19 AM
Registered User
Tennessee
Joined Sep 2003
2,353 Posts
Have you given up on a computer solution? I hope not becayse I NEVER look at my transmitter until my model is safely on the ground. Else it may soon be stationary on the ground somewhere else.
ChuckA is offline Find More Posts by ChuckA
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 03:38 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew:
There are two ports available inside of the transmitter,
This is very interesting!
I want to try to read data from this port to generate acoustic warnings. Not look at the unit and fly into a tree!
Is there an i2c serial interface?
Specifications?

Thanks for any info.
Thomas
flyer2000 is offline Find More Posts by flyer2000
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 08:14 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,942 Posts
There are no published specifications yet, or even data actually available (without a firmware upgrade). We did show the Graupner box connected to a 9303 showing telemetry information at our trade shows. Nobody seemed too excited about it actually.

The handheld unit makes more sense to me. It could be attached to the transmitter if you really wanted to, but having you spotter hold it is a better idea. The handheld unit would give you all of the features of the XDP, and runs all of the same apps that the transmitter does... same CPU. So, you get a high resolution volt meter that measures 1000 times per second showing you the min/max/avg/current voltage, a servo driver, a servo programmer (Hitec), a PWM and PPM pulse decoder, a Castle compatible programmer (like a Castlelink), etc.

The ground based telemetry station is certainly not being abandoned.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spektrum Telemetry Options VasMan Radios 875 Dec 19, 2014 11:37 AM
Discussion The Quanum telemetry system starcad Vendor Talk 2 May 31, 2011 12:40 PM
For Sale Hitec Telemetry mr.x. Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 09, 2011 04:01 PM
Discussion XC logger/telemetry equipment. FlyVA Cross Country Soaring 2 Mar 08, 2011 03:46 PM
Sold Hitec Aurora 9 TX&RX +HPP-22 + Telemetry Pack sold joe1l Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Mar 07, 2011 05:09 AM