HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 29, 2011, 09:19 AM
Joined May 2011
87 Posts
Discussion
New plane I ordered has different battery then my charger, need advice

Hey everyone,

I've been collecting 3S lipo's and I have a 3s parkzone charger. Well I didn't read close when ordering a new plane and it comes with a 4s 14.8v lipo. Question is 2 fold for you experts (i'm new to the electric stuff).

1. Can I just use my 3s pack since the mah on my 3s pack is the same, 2200mah?

2. If not and I have to buy a charger, is there a decent low priced one that will do not only my 3s's but now the new 4s coming with my plane?

On a side not, I'm assuming there is no way to use my 3s parkzone charger on this new 4s battery is there? Sorry if that is a dumb question but it seems like every time I buy something I have to buy something else to make it work
cfiiman is offline Find More Posts by cfiiman
to remove ads between posts
Old May 29, 2011, 09:23 AM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
16,551 Posts
3S will not have enough voltage, power will be down by about 40%.

You need a 4S capable charger.

This would do, or something similar.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11060

Pat MacKenzie
pmackenzie is online now Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Old May 29, 2011, 09:46 AM
Retired in NC
USA, NC, Wilmington
Joined Sep 2010
2,002 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmackenzie View Post
3S will not have enough voltage, power will be down by about 40%.

You need a 4S capable charger.

This would do, or something similar.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11060

Pat MacKenzie
What he said! <G>

Here is a charger in the States that works well and should only a few days to recieve.
http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dyc-1004.html
Rich in ILM is offline Find More Posts by Rich in ILM
Old May 29, 2011, 10:22 AM
Joined May 2011
87 Posts