HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 27, 2011, 07:46 PM
WarpQuad, Flip260FPV, etc.
Tampa,FL
Joined Dec 2003
1,281 Posts
Discussion
Walkera V450 shimmying problem, video in post

I recently crashed my v450 which bent the feathering shaft on one side........Following is a list of what I've checked so far so hopefully someone can help me figure out whats causing my shimmying problem because I'm stumped...keep in mind I'm fairly new to helicopters and this is my first CP machine. It worked perfectly when I got it from Wowhobbies untill this first crash which involved me practicing nose in about 5 feet high and a crash sideways into the ground when I lost orientation...a blade hit the ground first which bent the feathering shaft (somehow the blades survived unscathed)

- replaced bent feathering shaft

- new main gear, half the teeth were ripped off of the old one in the crash.

- replaced main shaft just in case although the old one doesn't appear to be tweaked at all.

-I replaced one grip tie rod that was lost somewhere in my front yard in the crash.

- I have the tracking pretty much perfect I believe, at least I adjusted the tie rods untill I could not distinguish one blade from the other when looking side on and spinning, per some instructional videos I watched.

- the tail boom was skewed slightly left ( maybe 3/8" ) in the crash but I was able to straighten it back up with a little pressure and it seems to be working fine. I don't see that causing this shimmying but I could be wrong.

- I checked the blades and they both weigh within 1/2 gram of each other according to my scales, the CG is also in the same spot on both.

Could a slightly tweaked grip be the problem?, they both look fine to my eye but how can you really tell for sure short of replacing both of them?