HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 25, 2011, 09:07 PM
United States, MD, North East
Joined Apr 2011
280 Posts
Discussion
Altitude limits

I am just getting started in FPV and will not be flying more than 2-3 km for a while but in due time I will push the limits. I have been reading a lot about flying long range and the limitations therein. Seems like we have limitations of video/RC link range, and there is a ton of info about that. Also we have the limits of battery/fuel and simple calculations of airspeed/run time can be done for this. What I am having a hard time understanding is why we need to climb so high as we fly away.

I suspect it is a limitation in video and RC link, perhaps signal pattern. But in the USA the FAA limits model airplanes to fly under 400 feet. I am interested in doing things legally so I would like to open discussion on flying long range under a 400 foot ceiling.

I really like how Roberto is utilizing thermals to overcome limitations of run time but it is published that a 1:10 range to altitude ratio should be used. And in the USA this is illegal.

Trappy was able to take advantage of mountain terrain to elevate his broadcast position. However I would like to fly flatland, under 400 feet.

So the questions: Why the 1:10 ratio? and can I place my video RX/ antenna tracker and Transmitter TX module on a tower to achieve longer range at lower altitude? how tall should the tower be to reach 40-50 km range or further?

Thanks,

- Joe
chemnut842 is offline Find More Posts by chemnut842
to remove ads between posts
Old May 25, 2011, 09:37 PM
Joined Jan 2007
1,926 Posts