HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Jul 02, 2011, 03:50 AM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,965 Posts
just using nylon stand offs atm on my mini y6 seems ok, will try rubber to compare at some point.

Simon: maybe post your settings for comparison to the ones in the vid
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 02, 2011, 06:44 AM
1400 watt RW Zephyr
matwelli's Avatar
Taranaki New Zealand
Joined Sep 2003
1,333 Posts
never actually used vibration dampers for mounting the FC, always hard mounted using nylon standoffs
matwelli is offline Find More Posts by matwelli
Old Jul 02, 2011, 06:46 AM
Registered User
UK
Joined Jul 2002
250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
Woo-Hoo. I got in my replacement ESCs for my T-copter and CC board. I changed over from 1000kv to 930kv motors with the 10x4.5 props. After getting calibrating the ESCs and checking the wiring I took the little T-copter out in the back yard. Wow...nothing could have been more easy. The thing was nice and smooth...with no vibration isolators on the CC board using aluminum standoffs. The stock settings are pretty slow reacting and tame. I guess I'll be cutting my teeth on PID and Angle Limits. I'd my yaw is a little slow and mushy...I'll try tweaking that up more first. In all though, I'm quite happy. Oh, I only hovered in auto-level mode. I'll try rate(?) mode where I have a little more room to fly other than my back yard.
I've been flying my CC tri mainly with autolevel, as it will be used for aerial video, so 'tame' is good. Its still capable of good forward speed and being able to do level turns, and slow pirouettes, should work well for video.

The only problem I have at the moment is when descending, the tail drops a bit, so adjusting pitch PID might help.
Tatty is offline Find More Posts by Tatty
Old Jul 02, 2011, 07:30 AM
Mikrokopter Australia ;-)
simonjardine's Avatar
Australia
Joined Apr 2008
1,440 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb View Post
Simon: maybe post your settings for comparison to the ones in the vid
Sure here are my setting below, it's about 8 hours of pid tuning
Quad X mode, hopefully it will help some people, these settings are solid and should work well in windy conditions. My Expo is -80% .

Simon


<!DOCTYPE UAVSettings>
<settings>
<object id="0x46D42F8" name="ActuatorSettings">
<field values="None" name="FixedWingRoll1"/>
<field values="None" name="FixedWingRoll2"/>
<field values="None" name="FixedWingPitch1"/>
<field values="None" name="FixedWingPitch2"/>
<field values="None" name="FixedWingYaw1"/>
<field values="None" name="FixedWingYaw2"/>
<field values="None" name="FixedWingThrottle"/>
<field values="None" name="VTOLMotorN"/>
<field values="None" name="VTOLMotorNE"/>
<field values="None" name="VTOLMotorE"/>
<field values="None" name="VTOLMotorSE"/>
<field values="None" name="VTOLMotorS"/>
<field values="None" name="VTOLMotorSW"/>
<field values="None" name="VTOLMotorW"/>
<field values="None" name="VTOLMotorNW"/>
<field values="50,50,50,50" name="ChannelUpdateFreq"/>
<field values="1000,1000,1000,1000,1000,1000,1000,1000" name="ChannelMax"/>
<field values="1000,1000,1000,1000,1000,1000,1000,1000" name="ChannelNeutral"/>
<field values="1000,1000,1000,1000,1000,1000,1000,1000" name="ChannelMin"/>
<field values="PWM,PWM,PWM,PWM,PWM,PWM,PWM,PWM" name="ChannelType"/>
<field values="0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7" name="ChannelAddr"/>
<field values="FALSE" name="MotorsSpinWhileArmed"/>
</object>
<object id="0xA5EFF9E2" name="AHRSCalibration">
<field values="SET" name="measure_var"/>
<field values="-73.5,-73.5,73.5" name="accel_bias"/>
<field values="0.0359,0.0359,0.0359" name="accel_scale"/>
<field values="0,0,0" name="accel_ortho"/>
<field values="0.0005,0.0005,0.0005" name="accel_var"/>
<field values="28,-28,28" name="gyro_bias"/>
<field values="-0.017,0.017,-0.017" name="gyro_scale"/>
<field values="0.0001,0.0001,0.0001" name="gyro_var"/>
<field values="0,0,0" name="gyro_tempcompfactor"/>
<field values="0,0,0" name="mag_bias"/>
<field values="1,1,1" name="mag_scale"/>
<field values="50,50,50" name="mag_var"/>
<field values="10" name="vel_var"/>
<field values="0.04" name="pos_var"/>
</object>
<object id="0x9220699E" name="AHRSSettings">
<field values="INSGPS_INDOOR_NOMAG" name="Algorithm"/>
<field values="20" name="Downsampling"/>
<field values="1" name="UpdatePeriod"/>
<field values="TRUE" name="BiasCorrectedRaw"/>
<field values="0" name="YawBias"/>
<field values="0" name="PitchBias"/>
<field values="0" name="RollBias"/>
</object>
<object id="0xFE9C0F26" name="AttitudeSettings">
<field values="-1,-2,20" name="AccelBias"/>
<field values="0,0,45" name="BoardRotation"/>
<field values="0.42" name="GyroGain"/>
<field values="0.05" name="AccelKp"/>
<field values="0.0001" name="AccelKi"/>
<field values="1e-06" name="YawBiasRate"/>
<field values="FALSE" name="ZeroDuringArming"/>
</object>
<object id="0x169BF4FC" name="FlightBatterySettings">
<field values="LiPo" name="Type"/>
<field values="3" name="NbCells"/>
<field values="2200" name="Capacity"/>
<field values="9.8,9.2" name="VoltageThresholds"/>
<field values="None" name="SensorType"/>
<field values="1,1" name="SensorCalibrations"/>
</object>
<object id="0x92E9FF76" name="FlightPlanSettings">
<field values="0" name="Test"/>
</object>
<object id="0x48DA70B0" name="GuidanceSettings">
<field values="DUAL_LOOP" name="GuidanceMode"/>
<field values="300" name="HorizontalVelMax"/>
<field values="150" name="VerticalVelMax"/>
<field values="0.1,0.001,300" name="HorizontalPosPI"/>
<field values="0.05,0.002,0,1000" name="HorizontalVelPID"/>
<field values="0.1,0.001,200" name="VerticalPosPI"/>
<field values="0.1,0,0,0" name="VerticalVelPID"/>
<field values="FALSE" name="ThrottleControl"/>
<field values="10" name="MaxRollPitch"/>
<field values="100" name="UpdatePeriod"/>
</object>
<object id="0xCA3ECA48" name="HomeLocation">
<field values="FALSE" name="Set"/>
<field values="0" name="Latitude"/>
<field values="0" name="Longitude"/>
<field values="0" name="Altitude"/>
<field values="0,0,0" name="ECEF"/>
<field values="0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0" name="RNE"/>
<field values="0,0,0" name="Be"/>
<field values="9.81" name="g_e"/>
</object>
<object id="0x1DF14ACE" name="ManualControlSettings">
<field values="PWM" name="InputMode"/>
<field values="Channel2" name="Roll"/>
<field values="Channel3" name="Pitch"/>
<field values="Channel4" name="Yaw"/>
<field values="Channel1" name="Throttle"/>
<field values="Channel5" name="FlightMode"/>
<field values="None" name="Accessory1"/>
<field values="None" name="Accessory2"/>
<field values="None" name="Accessory3"/>
<field values="Yaw Right" name="Arming"/>
<field values="Attitude,Attitude,Rate" name="Stabilization1Settings"/>
<field values="None,None,None" name="Stabilization2Settings"/>
<field values="Rate,Rate,Rate" name="Stabilization3Settings"/>
<field values="Stabilized1,Stabilized2,Stabilized3" name="FlightModePosition"/>
<field values="1931,1932,1933,1941,2073,2073,-1,-1" name="ChannelMax"/>
<field values="1121,1520,1518,1520,1519,2073,-1,-1" name="ChannelNeutral"/>
<field values="1105,1110,1106,1098,965,2071,-1,-1" name="ChannelMin"/>
<field values="20000" name="ArmedTimeout"/>
</object>
<object id="0x150FA12C" name="MixerSettings">
<field values="1000" name="MaxAccel"/>
<field values="0" name="FeedForward"/>
<field values="0" name="AccelTime"/>
<field values="0" name="DecelTime"/>
<field values="0,0.165663,0.431727,0.75,1" name="ThrottleCurve1"/>
<field values="0,0.25,0.5,0.75,1" name="ThrottleCurve2"/>
<field values="Motor" name="Mixer1Type"/>
<field values="127,0,64,64,-63" name="Mixer1Vector"/>
<field values="Motor" name="Mixer2Type"/>
<field values="127,0,-63,64,64" name="Mixer2Vector"/>
<field values="Motor" name="Mixer3Type"/>
<field values="127,0,-63,-63,-63" name="Mixer3Vector"/>
<field values="Motor" name="Mixer4Type"/>
<field values="127,0,64,-63,64" name="Mixer4Vector"/>
<field values="Disabled" name="Mixer5Type"/>
<field values="0,0,0,0,0" name="Mixer5Vector"/>
<field values="Disabled" name="Mixer6Type"/>
<field values="0,0,0,0,0" name="Mixer6Vector"/>
<field values="Disabled" name="Mixer7Type"/>
<field values="0,0,0,0,0" name="Mixer7Vector"/>
<field values="Disabled" name="Mixer8Type"/>
<field values="0,0,0,0,0" name="Mixer8Vector"/>
</object>
<object id="0xF4EDF3BA" name="StabilizationSettings">
<field values="50" name="RollMax"/>
<field values="50" name="PitchMax"/>
<field values="50" name="YawMax"/>
<field values="220,220,220" name="ManualRate"/>
<field values="300,300,300" name="MaximumRate"/>
<field values="0.00116,0.0032,0.3" name="RollRatePI"/>
<field values="0.00116,0.0032,0.3" name="PitchRatePI"/>
<field values="0.005,0.004,0.3" name="YawRatePI"/>
<field values="1.406,1.48,50" name="RollPI"/>
<field values="1.406,1.48,50" name="PitchPI"/>
<field values="4,3,50" name="YawPI"/>
</object>
<object id="0xDFB13E0C" name="SystemSettings">
<field values="QuadX" name="AirframeType"/>
</object>
<object id="0x35D72C84" name="TelemetrySettings">
<field values="57600" name="Speed"/>
</object>
</settings>
simonjardine is offline Find More Posts by simonjardine
Old Jul 02, 2011, 08:08 AM
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
Nottingham Road South Africa/Bedford UK
Joined Feb 2007
3,781 Posts
Only for the brave.

Here is a link for a developers version of the GCS and Firmware that includes our new feature Axis Lock

Put your machine in an attitude and it will stay that way until you tell it otherwise.

For people familiar with helicopters its like heading hold for the tail.

http://wiki.openpilot.org/download/a...b1-install.exe

Remember this will wipe all your settings so you need to save your current setup and the import might not go swimmingly.

This is being put out there as we have been swamped by requests for it since James PID video.

If you are not sure,don't!
Gary Mortimer is offline Find More Posts by Gary Mortimer
Last edited by Gary Mortimer; Jul 02, 2011 at 09:43 AM.
Old Jul 02, 2011, 08:18 AM
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
Nottingham Road South Africa/Bedford UK
Joined Feb 2007
3,781 Posts
Some people might be interested. If you are using Spektrum stuff it will be possible to get 12 channels out soon. The camera stabilization on an Octo as well then.

V8 copter with CopterControl (2 min 11 sec)
Gary Mortimer is offline Find More Posts by Gary Mortimer
Old Jul 02, 2011, 10:15 AM
Have a nice day! Kristjan
kristjane's Avatar
Slovenia, Novo mesto, Šentjernej
Joined Jan 2006
774 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Mortimer View Post
Some people might be interested. If you are using Spektrum stuff it will be possible to get 12 channels out soon. The camera stabilization on an Octo as well then.

http://vimeo.com/25894294
kristjane is offline Find More Posts by kristjane
Old Jul 02, 2011, 10:18 AM
a.d.m.i.n
reptor's Avatar
Joined Jan 2011
415 Posts
Why I don't have Spektrum
reptor is offline Find More Posts by reptor
Old Jul 02, 2011, 01:04 PM
Registered User
osnwt's Avatar
Sevastopol, Crimea, Ukraine
Joined Feb 2007
134 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlPackin View Post
I can't even see the receiver in that pic much less the connections
The receiver is between lower plate and the CC board, more info is available here in the wiki:

http://wiki.openpilot.org/display/Doc/OS%27+CCcopter

The satellite cable is soldered to both sides of that capacitor (that is power, but David suggested another point for it), and to the rightmost pin of white connector for the data wire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reptor View Post
Why I don't have Spektrum
That's not a problem since you can use either PPM (soon) or S.Bus as well to have so many outputs.
osnwt is online now Find More Posts by osnwt
Old Jul 02, 2011, 02:32 PM
Registered User
Nick Papagiorgio's Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Jun 2011
84 Posts
I know you are probably sick of hearing this.. but any idea when it will be in stock, any idea please tell use..
Nick Papagiorgio is offline Find More Posts by Nick Papagiorgio
Old Jul 02, 2011, 06:22 PM
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
United States, CT
Joined Mar 2011
1,011 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by osnwt View Post
The receiver is between lower plate and the CC board, more info is available here in the wiki:

http://wiki.openpilot.org/display/Doc/OS%27+CCcopter

The satellite cable is soldered to both sides of that capacitor (that is power, but David suggested another point for it), and to the rightmost pin of white connector for the data wire.


That's not a problem since you can use either PPM (soon) or S.Bus as well to have so many outputs.
but I guess we won't be able to use Spektrum satellite and GPS together seeing that they both use the same port. I'll just have to build two different machines
AlPackin is online now Find More Posts by AlPackin
Old Jul 03, 2011, 03:59 AM
Registered User
osnwt's Avatar
Sevastopol, Crimea, Ukraine
Joined Feb 2007
134 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlPackin View Post
but I guess we won't be able to use Spektrum satellite and GPS together seeing that they both use the same port.
The master branch already includes serial port configuration. It allows to choose any port for one function and another port for other.

Functions are:
- spektrum
- s.bus
- gps
- serial telemetry
- i2c

There are two restrictions: i2c is always on the flexi port (hardware limitation), and s.bus is always on another port (also hardware requirement). But even then you can, in principle, use both (another result of thinking ahead before hardware release). Other functions can be mapped to any of two ports.

Currently this is a static build-time configuration (and it is used for s.bus firmware which maps serial telemetry to other port comparing with defaults). But we hope to have it dynamic in the future, so every function could be mapped to any of available ports (accounting for hardware limitations).

As a part of testing the change, I built Corvus' GPS navigation branch, remapping GPS to one port and spektrum to other in both combinations, it worked well.
osnwt is online now Find More Posts by osnwt
Old Jul 03, 2011, 06:06 AM
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
United States, CT
Joined Mar 2011
1,011 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by osnwt View Post
The master branch already includes serial port configuration. It allows to choose any port for one function and another port for other.
good to know, I figured you guys would have a plan. Looking forward to my build.
AlPackin is online now Find More Posts by AlPackin
Old Jul 03, 2011, 01:05 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
593 Posts
IDK you would think that there should be some sort of look up table that can be applied to eliminate the need for PID tuning. This much P needs this much I and this much D. Hoverfly boards all you need to do is adjust gain on your TX and your board is tuned.

I know that some would say that each frame is different but if someone would make a look up table that accommodated for distance between motors, weight of frame, weight of any additional payload. Once this data is applied to the GUI then all you would need to do is change one setting to adjust to the way you want it to fly. I spent days adjusting PIDs to get my quad flying just right, but when I add a second battery or camera then its back to tuning again.

I should have my hoverfly sport board on Tuesday. I want a CC board but its been out of stock but seriously how cool is it to just adjust something on my TX and not have to break out the computer and usb cable.
aerorotor is offline Find More Posts by aerorotor
Old Jul 03, 2011, 01:59 PM
Suspended Account
United States, IL, Chicago
Joined Dec 2006
8,649 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerorotor View Post
IDK you would think that there should be some sort of look up table that can be applied to eliminate the need for PID tuning. This much P needs this much I and this much D. Hoverfly boards all you need to do is adjust gain on your TX and your board is tuned.

I know that some would say that each frame is different but if someone would make a look up table that accommodated for distance between motors, weight of frame, weight of any additional payload. Once this data is applied to the GUI then all you would need to do is change one setting to adjust to the way you want it to fly. I spent days adjusting PIDs to get my quad flying just right, but when I add a second battery or camera then its back to tuning again.

I should have my hoverfly sport board on Tuesday. I want a CC board but its been out of stock but seriously how cool is it to just adjust something on my TX and not have to break out the computer and usb cable.
i like more control on my boards, hfsport is over priced by $125 over CC plain and simple, is it comparable to cc? sure from what i tested it felt close to the same. wasn't any easier to setup either. plus HF layout the board in my eyes wrong. for 2 reasons. one was on some esc i used and the frames i used the servos wires weren't long enough to reach around to the one side. i didnt wanna add extensions etc. 2 the front of the board is not in the corner and no way of rotating the front in software like CC that being said it prolly still comparable in performance but because of the CC software it blows it away, lets not forget direct satelite RX connection i mean how cool is it to hook up Xbee to CC and monitor and control your quad from the computer while recording flying characteristics. you should have those options for a $225 hfsport board. CC options make it impossible for HFS to stand next to it, price alone cough.
goodluck with yours.
Quad_Addict is offline Find More Posts by Quad_Addict
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion The Aussie RCG Coffee thread (aka "we don't drink instant") glydr Australia 164 Sep 08, 2012 03:33 AM
Discussion NEW? -Openpilot flight controller tc3wins Multirotor Talk 229 Mar 02, 2012 05:14 PM
Discussion Share your art! PinkYakRC Painting and Finishing Tips 13 Apr 27, 2011 07:04 PM
Discussion RCG 07 JR Indoor Live Coverage Thread Jim T. Graham JR Indoor Electric Festival 19 Nov 04, 2007 01:36 PM
Discussion My first RCG flame thread WBE Chit Chat 6 Sep 04, 2007 09:17 PM