SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Jun 07, 2011, 05:05 PM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
just did some parameter tuning on my big Y6, and it was bombing around the sky great! very nimble and stable too.


I will post some settings and a video tomorrow hopefully

cheers

Josh
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 07, 2011, 05:15 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,600 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Mortimer View Post
...
Just watch the others try and follow.
Yeah, but Josh broke his landing gear. Can I NOT follow that?
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 07, 2011, 05:20 PM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
Yeah, but Josh broke his landing gear. Can I NOT follow that?
hehe, I broke mine so you dont have to
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Old Jun 07, 2011, 05:23 PM
Suspended Account
Netherlands, NH, Edam
Joined Jul 2004
5,535 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb View Post
... very nimble and stable too...
I will post some settings and a video tomorrow hopefully
You'd better, we all like nimble and stable

Cheers,

Sander.
ssassen is offline Find More Posts by ssassen
Old Jun 08, 2011, 04:43 PM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
doing some parameter testing, the parameters used after this video were shot were better but my camera lady was a bit chilly so it wasn't recorded.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzbxVrzs2I8
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Old Jun 08, 2011, 05:41 PM
Hovership
3rdeyepro's Avatar
United States, CA, Cupertino
Joined Aug 2010
1,024 Posts
Looks good!
3rdeyepro is offline Find More Posts by 3rdeyepro
Old Jun 08, 2011, 09:54 PM
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
United States, CT
Joined Mar 2011
1,041 Posts
wow, very nice Josh
AlPackin is offline Find More Posts by AlPackin
Old Jun 09, 2011, 01:02 AM
Registered User
Kevo500's Avatar
Suffolk County NY , USA
Joined Mar 2009
521 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb View Post
My Y6 is set up with Xaircraft ultra pwm escs with run at 500hz but the update rate only goes to 400hz. could this be increased?

cheers

Josh
Xaircraft "ultraPWM" is not the same thing as 'normal pwm'..

in "ultra" mode , that esc expects a signal between .2 and 1.2 ms , not the normal 1 and 2 ms spacing. 400 hz is the quickest you can really expect from a "normal" pulse .. 2.5 ms per update.

Not really sure if there would be a big problem with getting that loop down to 2 ms max. Might be a good idea to post a feature request on the actual OP forums.

Is this currently flying with CC ? did you need to adjust the throttle end points ?

Likely it should not be a problem , but i dont recall reading about anyone using these with cc yet.

EDIT: .. Ok I see others have commented on this already.

I am curious as to what your output sliders are set at.Did you need to set them to 200 and 1200 ?? Or did the esc detect a 'normal' pwm pulse and is listening to a 1 and 2 ms for min and max ?
Kevo500 is offline Find More Posts by Kevo500
Last edited by Kevo500; Jun 09, 2011 at 01:08 AM.
Old Jun 09, 2011, 03:12 AM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevo500 View Post

I am curious as to what your output sliders are set at.Did you need to set them to 200 and 1200 ?? Or did the esc detect a 'normal' pwm pulse and is listening to a 1 and 2 ms for min and max ?
hi,

you have to set the outputs to about 150 min (so the motors are not running all the time) and 1200 max. If you were to set them as 1000-2000 the motors would instantly run at 200 under max throttle which wouldn't be a good thing

cheers

Josh
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Old Jun 09, 2011, 07:37 AM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
new version of GCS out

edit:

just installed it and it cant see any of the settings in my cc board....
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Last edited by Joshbb; Jun 09, 2011 at 07:43 AM.
Old Jun 09, 2011, 07:47 AM
Suspended Account
United States, IL, Chicago
Joined Dec 2006
8,649 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb View Post
hi,

you have to set the outputs to about 150 min (so the motors are not running all the time) and 1200 max. If you were to set them as 1000-2000 the motors would instantly run at 200 under max throttle which wouldn't be a good thing

cheers

Josh
its a preference, its a good thing for me that they run at idle/arming
Quad_Addict is offline Find More Posts by Quad_Addict
Old Jun 09, 2011, 07:49 AM
Suspended Account
United States, IL, Chicago
Joined Dec 2006
8,649 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb View Post
new version of GCS out

edit:

just installed it and it cant see any of the settings in my cc board....
Recommended upgrade procedure:

Since it is a major upgrade which changes all UAVObject IDs, you have to export your settings first, then update GCS, then upgrade the bootloader, then update the firmware for your receiver type, then import your settings back.
Quad_Addict is offline Find More Posts by Quad_Addict
Old Jun 09, 2011, 07:52 AM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad_Addict View Post
Recommended upgrade procedure:

Since it is a major upgrade which changes all UAVObject IDs, you have to export your settings first, then update GCS, then upgrade the bootloader, then update the firmware for your receiver type, then import your settings back.
ooops
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Old Jun 09, 2011, 07:55 AM
Z06 Tony's Avatar
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Sep 2008
7,188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad_Addict View Post
Recommended upgrade procedure:

Since it is a major upgrade which changes all UAVObject IDs, you have to export your settings first, then update GCS, then upgrade the bootloader, then update the firmware for your receiver type, then import your settings back.
Im screwed now. I have a feeling I will mess it up and it will take me forever as I am computer illeterate.
Z06 Tony is offline Find More Posts by Z06 Tony
Site Sponsor
Old Jun 09, 2011, 02:42 PM
Suspended Account
United States, IL, Chicago
Joined Dec 2006
8,649 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony View Post
Im screwed now. I have a feeling I will mess it up and it will take me forever as I am computer illeterate.
Tony best thing would be take screen shots of settings and uninstall and install new then setup again with your settings if u cann figure out how to save settings u will be fine bro
Quad_Addict is offline Find More Posts by Quad_Addict
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion The Aussie RCG Coffee thread (aka "we don't drink instant") glydr Australia 164 Sep 08, 2012 04:33 AM
Discussion NEW? -Openpilot flight controller tc3wins Multirotor Talk 229 Mar 02, 2012 06:14 PM
Discussion Share your art! PinkYakRC Painting and Finishing Tips 13 Apr 27, 2011 08:04 PM
Discussion RCG 07 JR Indoor Live Coverage Thread Jim T. Graham JR Indoor Electric Festival 19 Nov 04, 2007 02:36 PM
Discussion My first RCG flame thread WBE Chit Chat 6 Sep 04, 2007 10:17 PM