Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 08, 2012, 05:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
1,662 Posts
Agreed with mike that sometime reflash the firmware does kill some unknown issue.

Or you can try reset the EEPROM. Use the LCD screen to goto the reset option.

And for Mike, will mail you another board so you can continue to worn the EEPROM.
dt8666 is offline Find More Posts by dt8666
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 08, 2012, 06:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
1,662 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blened View Post
hi all thia a my tricopter with kk plus-e + mems :

http://youtu.be/SqbJa3Jb0eI

many thanks Andrea from Italy
You will see very stable flight when the battery is secured.

Good one!
dt8666 is offline Find More Posts by dt8666
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 06:13 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
51 Posts
Even before these videos I had done a reset and flashed 4-5 times back and forth from the 1.6J and 1.6I just so I could verify the flash with my LCD. When I placed my initial order for the kk boards I ordered two. This board was never used until I did the mems upgrade so it was a "fresh" board. I guess it is just bad. I even verified the voltage at 2.400 just to make sure I wasn't off. On the diagnostics menu I see the rudder input working just fine.

Thanks for all the great help!
Ernie
Ernie34 is offline Find More Posts by Ernie34
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 05:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
1,662 Posts
Hi Ernie.
No issue to replace the board if it is bad but let's try this.

Hold the Tri up and power up as usual and try to point/yaw the tri left and right by hand, see how the yaw servo react.

And from your diagnostic menu, check that left and right yaw do have the reading.

Thanks
dt8666 is offline Find More Posts by dt8666
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:43 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom
Joined Nov 2008
1,940 Posts
I have knocked up a simple test firmware to allow people to use a KK+ board as a simple PWM checker.
All you do is flash the firmware to the board, plug in your Serial LCD and then you can use a std 3-cable servo wire to connect to another FC board to be checked.

The display will show something like:
Code:
+----------------+
|Signal: 962us   |	
|Rate. : 348Hz   |
+----------------+
More detailed instructions included.

@ernie
The normal Yaw behaviour is:
no signal until armed
when armed but at zero throttle, should show ~1420us (middle)
if you TxYaw left/right should give numbers of about 1220us and 1620us but note that if you rerelease the TxYaw stick back to centre, the number won't return to the middle number (this is due to PID control process).
putting throttle to minimum will set number back to middle
so, for the above numbers gives 1420us +/- 200us

Mike
Mike Barton is offline Find More Posts by Mike Barton
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 04:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
51 Posts
Mike,

You never cease to amaze me. I will be going home in a few hours and I will post my results.

Thanks!!!!!!

Ernie
Ernie34 is offline Find More Posts by Ernie34
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 07:41 AM
Registered User
Crazy1's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
165 Posts
Hi guys

I have the KK 5.5e with mems upgrade.

I currently use xx1.6j on my Tricopter. I was thinking of trying out other firmware but I see that the NCP MEMS does not have fw for a tri, or should I use the Y4 fw or will it not work?
Crazy1 is offline Find More Posts by Crazy1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:01 AM
Registered User
Chester, UK
Joined May 2010
451 Posts
No signal from RX

Hi posted this on another KK2 forum, no reply as yet.

My KK2 has been working OK until I set up the aux for auto level today.
After re engaging battery I now have no rx signal to the controller.

I have removed the aux connection to no avail......
I have changed RXs and checked all connections. The controller beeps and the red light flashes on re-connectin battery then goes to safe mode but No backlight or
RX connection.

Any ideas please !

Thanks
geedee is offline Find More Posts by geedee
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 05:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
1,662 Posts
Hi geedee

Assuming you refer to kk2 from HK? Not the right place to ask here. Best to post at kk2 thread.
dt8666 is offline Find More Posts by dt8666
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 07:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
51 Posts
Mike,

The PWM checker is a hell of a tool.... I like it!

Here is a video that Dan asked for of me moving the tricopter left and right. You can see that it only goes one direction.
VID_20121210_185134.mp4 (0 min 14 sec)



Here is a video of the diagnostic menu of the board we are having trouble with. I was moving the rudder stick full left and right.
VID_20121210_193207.mp4 (0 min 52 sec)




Here is the PWM reading on the rudder channel using my non mems board as the PWM checker..
VID_20121210_195015.mp4 (0 min 41 sec)


Before this I again reflashed the board to 1.6J. I am baffled.

Thanks again guys so much for the help.

Ernie
Ernie34 is offline Find More Posts by Ernie34
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 02:20 AM
Registered User
Chester, UK
Joined May 2010
451 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dt8666 View Post
Hi geedee

Assuming you refer to kk2 from HK? Not the right place to ask here. Best to post at kk2 thread.
Thanks
I have tried there to no avail.....something like when all else fails !!!!

Maybe a new board.
geedee is offline Find More Posts by geedee
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 09:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
1,662 Posts
Hi geedee

Can you email to dt8666@gmail.com? Will arrange with you.
dt8666 is offline Find More Posts by dt8666
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 06:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
1,662 Posts
Hi Ernie34,
Can you also email to me about your Yaw issue at dt8666@gmail.com?

Thanks
dt8666 is offline Find More Posts by dt8666
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 06:11 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
51 Posts
Dan,

Just sent you an email about the bad board.

Mike,

YOU ROCK!, Thanks for all your assistance. Keep up the great work!

Ernie
Ernie34 is offline Find More Posts by Ernie34
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 07:46 AM
Registered User
VA
Joined Nov 2009
2,628 Posts
geedee reset/reflash the board to make sure everything is at default and then go in and check the rx menu to see if the rx channels are working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by geedee View Post
Thanks
I have tried there to no avail.....something like when all else fails !!!!

Maybe a new board.
pug398 is offline Find More Posts by pug398
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold KK Multicopter Core Board V5.5 Quadcopter and firmware loader $95 Shipped terriwang Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 20 Jun 05, 2011 11:34 PM
Discussion NEW KK Multicopter Core Board V5.5 Quadcopter and firmware loader terriwang Multirotor Talk 0 May 22, 2011 09:14 PM
Gallery KK Multicopter multicontroller v5.5,330 and MK sean520 Multirotor Talk 3 Apr 03, 2011 09:47 PM
Discussion Wanted -- KK Multicopter controller // XX Controller Chris Moon Multirotor Talk 0 Feb 07, 2011 10:21 AM