HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 11, 2012, 03:53 PM
Buildin'em and flyin'em
JaggedEdge's Avatar
United States, NY, Erie
Joined Dec 2007
447 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblur View Post
Any good setup recomendation to hit high speed on turnigy or hobbyking motor

Im planning to get one arf model soon

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by nighthawk0077 View Post
Would like to know this as well. I've already burnt two stock motors running on 4S.
I planned on going 4s from the start so pushing the stock motor hard wasn't really an option since I didnt want to lawn dart it on its first flight. None of the HK EDF motors have specs like EDFhobbies or Dons wicked setup have. Both Dons wicked setup and EDFhobbies 4500kv are a great buy.

Wicked Plus 4500kv $40: http://donsrc.com/cart/index.php?_a=...&product_id=93
EDF Hobbies 4500kv $40: http://edfhobbies.com/index.php?rout...&product_id=64
JaggedEdge is offline Find More Posts by JaggedEdge
Last edited by JaggedEdge; Apr 11, 2012 at 04:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 11, 2012, 05:45 PM
Wonderfully Wicked
The Don's Avatar
Willoughby, Ohio
Joined Jan 2002
13,294 Posts
I also have a cheaper option, the regular Wicked 4000KV which is for $30 (not as cheap as HK but you will have it in a few days) and will be fine on 4S in the stock fan and it will be about 600 watts on 4S. The 4400KV I sell will most likely make the stock fan rotor fail as the motor is kind of too powerful for the stock fan. Even though the stock motor is like 4300KV it is a physically smaller motor than the regular 4000KV I sell so even with the slightly low KV of 4000 you still get the power as not so much is wasted to heat generation instead it is turned in to rpm which is what matters. The only thing I believe you will need to do is remove the four splines in the stock EDF housing to get the standoff adapter to fit into it. I do that with a Dremel tool and it takes a few second to grind them off.

Don
The Don is online now Find More Posts by The Don
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 11, 2012, 07:17 PM
RJJ
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
28 Posts
I have purchased a stinger and a turnigy 2815-4800kv to put into it. Already have a turnigy 60a plush esc and will run 3s 11.1v 2200mah 45c packs as all my planes use these.

Should I upgrade the fan or edf unit as well.

Also could somebody post ail/elev/rudd max travel mm please and I can dial in low rates from there & expo.

I have a spare ar8000 that came with dx8, will it fit and should I plug each ail/ servo into separate channels or use y cable. Does anybody have mixes for knife edge etc for the dx8.

This is my 1st edf jet, fly a mpx blizzard, Stryker, zagi and a sebach 342.
Really looking forward to it, all help appreciated
RJJ is offline Find More Posts by RJJ
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2012, 09:10 AM
Fighting Gravity
bonnie9496's Avatar
Australia, WA, Perth
Joined Jan 2011
551 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaggedEdge View Post
Hi all. Got my Sting64 together for a quick static test and I'm pretty psyched to fly it.



Cyclone Power turbojet EDF 4500kv Motor
6 blade
Hi JE, Was the Cyclone Power turbojet EDF a straight fit without adjustment?
bonnie9496 is offline Find More Posts by bonnie9496
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2012, 09:24 AM
Registered User
Indonesia, Jakarta Capital Region
Joined Mar 2007
78 Posts
How about the fans? Need to be upgraded too?
redblur is offline Find More Posts by redblur
Last edited by redblur; Apr 12, 2012 at 01:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2012, 12:50 PM
Buildin'em and flyin'em
JaggedEdge's Avatar
United States, NY, Erie
Joined Dec 2007
447 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonnie9496 View Post
Hi JE, Was the Cyclone Power turbojet EDF a straight fit without adjustment?

Yes, I bought the complete unit and it slipped right in without any foam removal.
After screwing on the wing once there was no abnormal pressure on the duct causing fan to duct interference. Should work fine.
JaggedEdge is offline Find More Posts by JaggedEdge
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 05:18 AM
RJJ
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
28 Posts
Can I use the turnigy 2815-4800kv motor on the cyclone Power unit ?

Also what difference will the seven bladed fan make ?

Basically want a balanced unit, any other suggestions or is the cyclone power unit the best for a straight forward replacement.
RJJ is offline Find More Posts by RJJ
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 05:23 AM
Registered User
Ελλάς, Αττική, Αθήνα
Joined Jun 2009
167 Posts
finally crashed my Stinger last week....
had two consecutive brownouts on my spektrum AR6000, and when I regained control I rushed a landing with the wind on stinger's back...
anyway... now I have a great setup and looking for a new, fast airframe, even considering to buy again the stinger!
kakofonixx is offline Find More Posts by kakofonixx
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 08:12 AM
FireHawx
FireHawx's Avatar
United States, FL, Jacksonville
Joined Oct 2011
1,340 Posts
Yes, if (when) I crash my Stinger I will proly' buy another. Usuall I would move on to something new BUT this one just flies great. It is just a strong platform with many power options. (motor,fan,batt). It has something special........
FireHawx is offline Find More Posts by FireHawx
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 11:45 AM
Registered User
Ben D Wing's Avatar
The Peak District
Joined Dec 2006
3,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kakofonixx View Post
finally crashed my Stinger last week....
had two consecutive brownouts on my spektrum AR6000, and when I regained control I rushed a landing with the wind on stinger's back...
anyway... now I have a great setup and looking for a new, fast airframe, even considering to buy again the stinger!
Sorry to hear about your misfortune, but after such problems with your radio gear it's perhaps time to swap to something more reliable?
Ben D Wing is online now Find More Posts by Ben D Wing
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 02:04 PM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
maybe a dsmx setup?
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 02:43 PM
Registered User
Broken Arrow, Okla
Joined Oct 2010
87 Posts
Mine has had a few ground encounters with the stock set up. Trying to figure out the best CG and the hand launching has taken its toll at times
Would still buy another one, a stronger motor/fan would help the launching phase.
Will stick with 3 cells, since already have a few.
J3 guy is offline Find More Posts by J3 guy
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 02:54 PM
Buildin'em and flyin'em
JaggedEdge's Avatar
United States, NY, Erie
Joined Dec 2007
447 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kakofonixx View Post
finally crashed my Stinger last week....
had two consecutive brownouts on my spektrum AR6000, and when I regained control I rushed a landing with the wind on stinger's back...
anyway... now I have a great setup and looking for a new, fast airframe, even considering to buy again the stinger!
Even on 3s I'll never run a plane or heli without a separate BEC.
JaggedEdge is offline Find More Posts by JaggedEdge
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 03:08 PM
Registered User
Ελλάς, Αττική, Αθήνα
Joined Jun 2009
167 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben D Wing View Post
Sorry to hear about your misfortune, but after such problems with your radio gear it's perhaps time to swap to something more reliable?
with my DX7 (dsm2) the AR6000 (dsm) acts as a full range receiver
me and many fellows modelers have done hundreds of flights (even on gliders, going very high) with this setup and never had a single glitch
the problems on my stinger started when I moved from 3 to 4S lipos...
had another two consecutive brownouts on another flight, but I managed to save the plane

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaggedEdge View Post
Even on 3s I'll never run a plane or heli without a separate BEC.
in fact I use a separate BEC!! I don't know what caused those brownouts, the plane was close to me when happened and nobody else was flying at this moment
kakofonixx is offline Find More Posts by kakofonixx
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 03:31 PM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
better do another range check of that receiver ..
if you pass the range test change your bec just to be sure.
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product New HobbyKing Viper Jet 70mm Fibreglass Jet Jagzilla Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 1357 Dec 26, 2014 04:34 AM
Discussion Stinger F3B/F3F Vaclavs new weapon! SpeedMaster Multi Task F3X 124 Aug 08, 2013 10:00 PM
For Sale Nib sr71 64 mm ducted fan jet yf22raptor Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 6 Mar 26, 2011 03:28 PM
Discussion HobbyKing EDF 64 Identification liam2317 Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 11 Dec 20, 2009 08:52 AM