HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 23, 2011, 03:11 PM
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined May 2011
7 Posts
Discussion
Help, Batteries get hot, motors extreme hot

Hi, I am new to this hobby so please anyone helping will be well appreciated. I'm not sure how bad but I think I have a temperature problem.
I modified this relatively cheap boat (http://www.raidentech.com/1scspxrareco.html) and added a real rudder with a servo and another servo mechanism to deploy a fish line. The extra hardware and a base made of wood to hold the servos, receiver and an ESC, as well as a plexi-glass for cover to make it water tight, so this added quite a bit more weight. See pics.
The twin motors are supposed to be 380 type but I think they are a little bit bigger (I measure their length to be 44 mm, Mabuchi spec sheet have the 380 at 38mm). The battery pack that came with it is a 7.2v Ni-CD 1800 mAh.

So, in it's maiden voyage I continuously run the boat at full throttle for 8-10 minutes. The boat seemed to be going at 5-6 mph rather than the racer type speed of 20 mph or more. After opening the cover and touching the motors and the small heatsink on them, they were extremely hot, I could barely keep my finger on it more than 3-4 secs.
What surprised me more though is how hot the battery got. I could hold it in the palm of my hand but was very hot. The ESC got barely warm.
I've read that batteries and especially motors get hot that's why they employ water cooling, but what bothers me is the battery.

Has anyone experienced this kind of heating problems, are the motors too small for the extra weight, is the battery stressing to support the current demand, is this because it's a cheap battery and it's internal resistance is high. Do I need a better quality battery? How am I going to ran the motors and battery cooler.
Thanks in advance!!
yiannis2u is offline Find More Posts by yiannis2u
to remove ads between posts
Old May 23, 2011, 04:19 PM
Boaters are nice people.
Sneek, Netherlands.