HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 17, 2011, 10:09 PM
Central Florida
United States, FL, Lakeland
Joined Aug 2008
272 Posts
Question
heritage steam

I am new to steam and installed a midwest steam engine in a tugboat. The engine does not seem to have enough power to push the boat. It is a liberty tug. Any suggestions? I have also tried to run the steam exhaust up the smokestack but only seems to spit water. Is there a way to increase power/speed in this engine?

Thanks
Craig
r/cjunkie is offline Find More Posts by r/cjunkie
to remove ads between posts
Old May 18, 2011, 09:06 AM
Semi-Official Tinkerer
Rochester NY
Joined Mar 2005
832 Posts
This question comes up a lot.
There are many good threads on simple things you can do to boost performance of this engine. Search the threads on Midwest steam engine.
I know usually more air is required and a number of small holes drilled around the base of the boiler firebox is a big help.
You will find a lot of info on these threads. Dave.
Subdave is offline Find More Posts by Subdave
Old May 18, 2011, 06:06 PM
Just call me "Mo"
NE PDX OR
Joined Aug 2008
818 Posts
Can you post few pictures of the engine installed in the boat? That wil lreally help us help you!!!

The straightness of the line from the crankshaft as it exits the flywheel and then connects to the shaft and then propeller is a critical detail.

Also making sure the flywheel is no "free-wheeling" or loose on the cranks shaft is a good thing to check

Lastly- fill boiler with pre-boiled water first will help you get more run time from the fuel supply

Also what fuel are you using?

As you are finding out --there are many variables!!

The little engine can do a lot but making sure it is not burdened with too much friction, has the full advantage of the flywheel to store energy, and that a few other things are AOK-- is key!
mogogear is offline Find More Posts by mogogear
Old May 18, 2011, 11:15 PM
Central Florida
United States, FL, Lakeland
Joined Aug 2008