HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 16, 2011, 06:32 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
42 Posts
Discussion
How to program ESC?

i'm putting together a Copterx 450 kit. i got an ebay special 35amp ESC and a Turnigy 2215 motor.
i am using a CopterX CT6B TX.

Can someone please help me program the ESC?
i printed out a Exceed.com ESC program instructions but it seems a bit complicated. some Youtube Vids were also confusing.

PLEASE???
jabooty is offline Find More Posts by jabooty
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 16, 2011, 07:56 PM
team sleprock
whiskykid's Avatar
United States, WA, Port Angeles
Joined Dec 2009
3,387 Posts
might help if you post the exzact name of the esc, or atleast a link ta the instructions for it!

generaly its done with the throttle stick
whiskykid is offline Find More Posts by whiskykid
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: great day!
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2011, 09:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
42 Posts
the esc is an ebay purchase. it's a 35 amp that came with a 4000KV brushless motor. unfortunately it did not come with program instructions.

anyways, i can set it to programming mode and gives me the musical tones and the 6 selectable programmable items like listed in the ExceedRC.com ESC programming instructions.

but once in programming mode, i try to select a program by moving the throttle stick down and it will not select that particular programmable item.
it remains on playing all the tones for each item.

i set my Ct6b Tx throttle curve to normal and made sure that the idle up and the throttle cut both set to off.
the ESC is on channel 3 on the RX.

what am i doing wrong? please help
jabooty is offline Find More Posts by jabooty
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 05:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
42 Posts
another note: my Ct6b Tx default settings has the throttle channel on reverse.
should i set this to normal?
gonna try it later anyways..

anybody? any tips please?
jabooty is offline Find More Posts by jabooty
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 11:14 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Witham
Joined Feb 2011
899 Posts
Can you post some pics of the ESC? its most likely a clone so there will be some instructions for it somewhere on the net just not in the name that yours has on the packaging
Essex2visuvesi is offline Find More Posts by Essex2visuvesi
Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 02:13 PM
team sleprock
whiskykid's Avatar
United States, WA, Port Angeles
Joined Dec 2009
3,387 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabooty View Post
another note: my Ct6b Tx default settings has the throttle channel on reverse.
should i set this to normal?
gonna try it later anyways..

anybody? any tips please?
where is the throttle stick when you plug in the heli! oh and I assUme you have 2 outa 3 of the wires unplugged!

with throttle reversed, your probly doing everything backwards!
whiskykid is offline Find More Posts by whiskykid
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: great day!
Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 04:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
42 Posts
this is the motor/ESC combo i bought. yes, it is cheap and i am prolly gonna take a loss
http://cgi.ebay.com/KV-4000-Brushles...item4aa97b5f43

the motor works because i tried it on another heli. the esc otherwise does not. it did not come with instructions. i used the EXceed.com ESC programming instructions. i'm sure it is the same because, all the tones that the motor is emitting mirrors the Exceed instructions.


the TX is set properly. throttle curve is linear. all three wires are plugged into ESC. ESC is plugged into ch.3 of RX

this is what i am doing and hearing:
i set throttle stick to up
i turn on the TX
i plug in ESC to fully charged battery
i begin to hear the musical tones and the selectable programming steps. this means i am able to get into the programming mode.

my problem is, when i try to select a program by putting the throttle stick down, nothing happens. i am not able to select the particular program. the ESC just keeps on going thru all the programmable menu in cycles.

to make it short, the ESC is not recognizing when i slide the stick down.
jabooty is offline Find More Posts by jabooty
Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 11:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
229 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabooty View Post
this is the motor/ESC combo i bought. yes, it is cheap and i am prolly gonna take a loss
http://cgi.ebay.com/KV-4000-Brushles...item4aa97b5f43

the motor works because i tried it on another heli. the esc otherwise does not. it did not come with instructions. i used the EXceed.com ESC programming instructions. i'm sure it is the same because, all the tones that the motor is emitting mirrors the Exceed instructions.


the TX is set properly. throttle curve is linear. all three wires are plugged into ESC. ESC is plugged into ch.3 of RX

this is what i am doing and hearing:
i set throttle stick to up
i turn on the TX
i plug in ESC to fully charged battery
i begin to hear the musical tones and the selectable programming steps. this means i am able to get into the programming mode.

my problem is, when i try to select a program by putting the throttle stick down, nothing happens. i am not able to select the particular program. the ESC just keeps on going thru all the programmable menu in cycles.

to make it short, the ESC is not recognizing when i slide the stick down.
When I tried to program mine
i set throttle stick to up
i turn on the TX
i plug in ESC to fully charged battery

BUt the tones just go straight to your ready to fly...and not programming mode beeps.
CRU22Z is offline Find More Posts by CRU22Z
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 08:51 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
1,579 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRU22Z View Post
When I tried to program mine
i set throttle stick to up
i turn on the TX
i plug in ESC to fully charged battery

BUt the tones just go straight to your ready to fly...and not programming mode beeps.
You need to reverse the throttle channel.

Btw, I'd hope that you guys are either: (1) backing out the motor; or (2) remove the pinion. I've seen accidental motor start up during programming of the esc.
chopper62 is offline Find More Posts by chopper62
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 09:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
229 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chopper62 View Post
You need to reverse the throttle channel.

Btw, I'd hope that you guys are either: (1) backing out the motor; or (2) remove the pinion. I've seen accidental motor start up during programming of the esc.
How do I reverse the throttle channel? via TX interface? sorry i dunno.

I will remove the blade from the holder during programming.
CRU22Z is offline Find More Posts by CRU22Z
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 12:06 PM
Registered User
monkeyhanger's Avatar
Canada, ON
Joined Mar 2010
1,272 Posts
>How do I reverse the throttle channel?

If your motor speeds up when you raise the stick, and slows down when you lower the stick, then whatever you do, don't reverse your throttle channel !!!!!!
monkeyhanger is offline Find More Posts by monkeyhanger
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 12:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
1,579 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRU22Z View Post
How do I reverse the throttle channel? via TX interface? sorry i dunno.

I will remove the blade from the holder during programming.

What tx?
chopper62 is offline Find More Posts by chopper62
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 07:53 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
229 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chopper62 View Post
What tx?
T6X transmitter mode 2

Yes I up for increase and down decrease.

Is it possible that it doesn't go into programming mode because my throttle cut is switched on? The transmitter or receiver thinks the throttle hasn't moved at all?
CRU22Z is offline Find More Posts by CRU22Z
Last edited by CRU22Z; May 21, 2011 at 07:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2011, 09:17 AM
team sleprock
whiskykid's Avatar
United States, WA, Port Angeles
Joined Dec 2009
3,387 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRU22Z View Post
T6X transmitter mode 2

Yes I up for increase and down decrease.

Is it possible that it doesn't go into programming mode because my throttle cut is switched on? The transmitter or receiver thinks the throttle hasn't moved at all?
that could be it! the esc hasta read full throttle at start-up or it wont go inta set-up!

I highly recomend programing card! next time you need ta find out a compatible card and buy 1! they make it super simple!
whiskykid is offline Find More Posts by whiskykid
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: great day!
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2011, 04:46 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
42 Posts
Still cant get the esc to program. Maybe its a defect
jabooty is offline Find More Posts by jabooty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! How to connect microcontroller to ESC and program ESC? chen5798 DIY Electronics 6 Mar 29, 2011 08:06 AM
Help! how do I program a detrum esc 18a irtim2 Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 1 Mar 29, 2011 06:59 AM
Discussion How to program 30a ESC with 16 program features Lightwave780 Power Systems 0 Mar 26, 2011 12:55 PM
Help! How do I program flaperons for my dx7/AR6100 fly Frontier Electric Plane Talk 5 Mar 12, 2011 11:06 PM
Discussion EP100 ESC - Advance II 12A ESC - how to program for 2S li-po? turnbui Micro Helis 9 Feb 06, 2009 05:47 AM