Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 22, 2011, 12:58 AM
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Le Havre, FRANCE
Joined Feb 2007
1,875 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mieciu View Post
Elcheapo - today I pushed my plane to the limits
And it was limited by video, not RC
I used vertical antennas alignment with little V just like on your photos.



I also added low pass video filter for my FOX800



And today I reached 7284m with FrSky + booster + 5dBi FrSky Whip antenna


Video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecC820yCckw

I could reach 10km but video was getting weaker - see 16th minute of the video.
Do you think the LowPass filter degraded the video signal?
I use 10-11dBi biquad in my ground station:
Patch antennas work best if they are closest to the ground.
lrrps is offline Find More Posts by lrrps
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 22, 2011, 03:43 AM
Multi Rotors Rule ! ;-)
SkyEyes's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Jul 2010
879 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcheapo View Post
The other guys who pushed their RC systems so far were Crist Riggoti, Trappy and Roberto Montiel. Crist didnt posted the video of the flight so we can not know how it was.
Fantastic flight - the good ol' Flying Wings proving their worth yet again.

On a side note, I've brought MULTIPLE Orders from you, Range Video, and will continue to do so. Very happy customer.
SkyEyes is offline Find More Posts by SkyEyes
Last edited by SkyEyes; Dec 22, 2011 at 06:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 06:35 AM
Multi Rotors Rule ! ;-)
SkyEyes's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Jul 2010
879 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hitchman View Post
The range drops heaps with the booster connected and not powered.
Mine connected with the lead that came with the booster, just check the connector polarity to be sure but mine was right.

Mark

Yes, thats because you are then effectively running an R/C Transmitter WITHOUT an antenna connected, as there is no "straight through" connection from Transmitter -> Antenna with an UNpowered (or faulty) Booster in situ.

Not good for the Transmitter, could burn it out eventually doing this.

(I know your post was a number of months ago, but just thought I'd mention this - going on experience with an Argtek 2.4G booster that failed on me, resulting in numerous crashes).

[Jibe]... I probably could have just carried on using my $pektrum DX6i for guaranteed crashes, and thats even without a faulty booster bolted onto the back!
SkyEyes is offline Find More Posts by SkyEyes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 12:59 PM
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
1,310 Posts
Quote:
Hi Elcheapo- could you tell me if the 2.4GHz 1W amplifier for FrSky and FrSKY 2.4GHz patch antenna will work with other FrSky modules-namely this one http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=14355 -which I have but have yet to install on my Turnigy 9x-
It should work with all Frsky modules. I think all have same output power and SMA connector.

Quote:
can you confirm what the application/software is that is seemingly logging the flight data to a laptop and google earth at 3'22" in your video...

...Hi again- can you share which antenna tracker you are using with RVOSDv5- been researching for days- but cannot find a ground station that offers diversity and antenna tracking that works with RVOSDv5- also please feel free to PM as soon as you get more RVOSDv5s in stock- thanks very much !...
It is RVOSD ground station. But so far there is only few beta units. Vova is working to get it on stock.

Quote:
Patch antennas work best if they are closest to the ground.
Not exactly, all antennas work better when they are on higher altitude over the Fresnel zone. The thing is that when you can't do it, then it could work better if you cancel more reflections by making it closest to ground. But you sacrifice some gain doing this.
Elcheapo is offline Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 07:31 AM
Psionic001's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Apr 2006
2,154 Posts
Can the 1w booster be attached to the standard Futaba fasst system or an Assan module. Why is everyone using frsky?
Cheers
matt
Psionic001 is offline Find More Posts by Psionic001
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 10:39 AM
Registered User
tushev's Avatar
USA, NY, New York
Joined Nov 2008
1,512 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psionic001 View Post
Can the 1w booster be attached to the standard Futaba fasst system or an Assan module. Why is everyone using frsky?
Cheers
matt
Yes, that how the boosting started, boosting Spectrum and Fasst radios, I have 2W on one of my 6ES.
tushev is offline Find More Posts by tushev
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 04:32 PM
Psionic001's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Apr 2006
2,154 Posts
Where can I find more info on this, I've looked on rcg and can only find odd references.

Does it need some form of attenuator or is it commonly just plug and play?

Currently I have a Futaba 12z set up with Fasst, Switchable Assan module, and a spectrum module.

I'd like to be able to boost the Assan or Fasst (using an orange rx)


Any guidance or links would be appreciated.




Quote:
Originally Posted by tushev View Post
Yes, that how the boosting started, boosting Spectrum and Fasst radios, I have 2W on one of my 6ES.
Psionic001 is offline Find More Posts by Psionic001
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 12:17 AM
Registered User
tushev's Avatar
USA, NY, New York
Joined Nov 2008
1,512 Posts
For 2w booster you don't need an attenuator, also that one use 12V, you can powered directly from your RX battery.
If you are using 1W booster then you need this: 07-02750 Sertek 5 dB SMA Coaxial Attenuator DC to 4GHz, or similar between 4db and 6db attenuation.
tushev is offline Find More Posts by tushev
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2012, 04:48 PM
K4UAV
dalbert02's Avatar
Miami, FL
Joined Jul 2003
1,749 Posts
Very impressive! 40km is really pushing the video link budget!
-dave
dalbert02 is offline Find More Posts by dalbert02
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 05:56 AM
Psionic001's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Apr 2006
2,154 Posts
Hi,

Is a 2W booster dangerous to be near on the ground? Should I have a long pigtail separating me from the Tx antenna?

Thx

Matt
Psionic001 is offline Find More Posts by Psionic001
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 07:42 AM
Registered User
Zen09's Avatar
Germany, HB, Bremen
Joined Jun 2010
919 Posts
Keep it at least 1m from your head.
Zen09 is offline Find More Posts by Zen09
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 08:16 AM
Registered User
tushev's Avatar
USA, NY, New York
Joined Nov 2008
1,512 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psionic001 View Post
Hi,

Is a 2W booster dangerous to be near on the ground? Should I have a long pigtail separating me from the Tx antenna?

Thx

Matt
7W and above could be dangerous if you stick the TX to your skull or your balls, don't worry about 1-2W
tushev is offline Find More Posts by tushev
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 09:27 AM
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Le Havre, FRANCE
Joined Feb 2007
1,875 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tushev View Post
7W and above could be dangerous if you stick the TX to your skull or your balls, don't worry about 1-2W
Meaning no worry if you're a girl, watch your head though.
lrrps is offline Find More Posts by lrrps
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 01:12 PM
Unregistered User
cmanley_nl's Avatar
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
486 Posts
Wow! Respect! Where can I download your brain?

I noticed when the video went bad, that the small fonts are poorly readable. It would be nice to have 1 RVOSD display page with big bold white fonts with black edges (similar to what the EzOSD has) for moments like those.

The return flight was into a headwind. Did the wind change or did you dare to fly away in a tail wind?

I'm interested in that RVOSD ground station. It suppose it parses the text coordinates out of the video or reads hidden video lines.
cmanley_nl is offline Find More Posts by cmanley_nl
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 06:24 PM
Moderately Dangerous
TwoHeadsBrewing's Avatar
United States, CA, Chico
Joined Apr 2011
1,046 Posts
I'm ready to install the 1 Watt booster on my Futaba 9CHP, but was wondering if there is a need to use an attenuator. I'm not sure what the output of the 9CHP is, but IIRC the max input accepted by the ArgTek is 60mW correct? And what happens if the input exceeds 60mW?

! Sorry, forgot to mention I'll be using this with a FrSky module.
TwoHeadsBrewing is offline Find More Posts by TwoHeadsBrewing
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by TwoHeadsBrewing; Apr 16, 2012 at 06:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data R/C 2.4Ghz pushed to 20km Elcheapo FPV Talk 32 May 16, 2011 10:12 PM
Discussion Exceed RC 6ch 2.4ghz TX with LCD monitor? leithalweapon Electric Heli Talk 1 Mar 15, 2011 12:55 PM
Discussion 2.4GHz Rc range test teopbako FPV Talk 17 Mar 09, 2011 03:08 PM
Sold New Futaba 7C 2.4GHz FASST RC Radio $320 w/free shipping stwaller12 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Mar 09, 2011 08:06 AM
Discussion Hitec 2.4GHz pushed back to Mid Sept./Late Oct. What's up Mike? Gyroguru Radios 0 Aug 25, 2009 02:17 PM