SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:50 AM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,474 Posts
Quote:
  /************************************************** ************************************/
  /******** special receiver types ********************/
  /************************************************** ************************************/

    /**************************** PPM Sum Reciver ***********************************/
      /* The following lines apply only for specific receiver with only one PPM sum signal, on digital PIN 2
         Select the right line depending on your r adio brand. Feel free to modify the order in your  PPM order is different */
      //#define SERIAL_SUM_PPM PITCH,YAW,THROTTLE,ROLL,AUX1,AUX2,AUX3,AUX4,8,9,10 ,11 //For Graupner/Spektrum
      //#define SERIAL_SUM_PPM ROLL,PITCH,THROTTLE,YAW,AUX1,AUX2,AUX3,AUX4,8,9,10 ,11 //For Robe/Hitec/Futaba
      //#define SERIAL_SUM_PPM ROLL,PITCH,YAW,THROTTLE,AUX1,AUX2,AUX3,AUX4,8,9,10 ,11 //For Multiplex
      //#define SERIAL_SUM_PPM PITCH,ROLL,THROTTLE,YAW,AUX1,AUX2,AUX3,AUX4,8,9,10 ,11 //For some Hitec/Sanwa/Others

      // Uncommenting following line allow to connect PPM_SUM receiver to standard THROTTLE PIN on MEGA boards (eg. A8 in CRIUS AIO)
      //#define PPM_ON_THROTTLE
there is a couple of guys that are running PPM, I just started needing to do a gimbal.

I guess it is time for me to setup PPM.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Danub View Post
Nice DA. . . you really seem to be getting that GPS pos hold dialed in

I got a couple of questions as I am trying to setup my quadrino on a y6 w/ 2 axis gimbal output. . if possible.

1. Can I configure the ppm output channels in the arduino sketch? I need thr, ail, elev, rudd but I can't find that ppm setup in the sketch

2. Would it be best to solder pinheaders to the srv1 and srv2 to for the gimbal outputs?

TIA for your advice
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:54 AM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,826 Posts
When i was trying Gimbal (a while back) i was using PPM receiver and my potentiometer on my TX where already linked to the gimbal. So i can adjust the angle on top of stabilisation
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:38 PM
Loves Burn of Hot Glue
Danub's Avatar
Ventucky, Ca.
Joined Dec 2010
142 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
there is a couple of guys that are running PPM, I just started needing to do a gimbal.

I guess it is time for me to setup PPM.
I am gonna try to setup ppm rearranged for me (thr as ch1 etc).
I will report back how it goes.

Even doing that I am short one output. . . ? would it work to solder the spare pinheaders (came w/my board) to the servo outputs srv1 and srv2 , and use those to run the gimbal?? I don't know where to look for this info, it isn't on the delspec web page.
Edit: here is a relevant link
http://www.flyingeinstein.com/index....iguring-for-y6uploaded ppm y6 and hookin' it up to my copter right now. . .
Danub is offline Find More Posts by Danub
Last edited by Danub; Jan 28, 2013 at 09:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:37 PM
Loves Burn of Hot Glue
Danub's Avatar
Ventucky, Ca.
Joined Dec 2010
142 Posts
I got the sum ppm hooked up and working from my DL.
dx7 owners you do not need to alter the spektrum ppm code ( I thought throttle needed to be at channel one but it worked as listed)
motors 1356 are connected to DCBA and motors 2,4 at Y and P.
T is doing duty for sum ppm input. . .

motor mixing seems to need help but that is operator tuning. LOL

Next up gimbal outputs
Danub is offline Find More Posts by Danub
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:48 PM
Loves Burn of Hot Glue
Danub's Avatar
Ventucky, Ca.
Joined Dec 2010
142 Posts
I found this about gimbal outputs
Quote:
from Dialfonzo
For sure you can plug camera stab on Quadrino...!

In MultiWii code it's A0 and A1 output
on Quadrino it's call SRV1 SRV2
Soo, I am gonna pull my board and solder up some pinheadeaders adn give it a go. . . I will report back.

One thing is I am uncertain about activation in the arduino code, other than uncommenting this.
Quote:
The following lines apply only for a pitch/roll tilt stabilization system. Uncomment the first or second line to activate it */
//#define SERVO_MIX_TILT
Danub is offline Find More Posts by Danub
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:55 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,474 Posts
So , if I connect a PPM Sum RX to my transmitter, than I can get all of these options.
Gimbal use? Yes
Y6 for the configured Multi-rotor? I think so, but I haven’t tried Y6 and gimble setup
Aux 1-4 definately
Running the servos on a different BEC or Power from another ESC.
Is needed.
This would mean I don't need to use another gimbal controller?
Will there be enough free space in the eprom left over? Should be, none of these options add a lot of code


Quote:
Originally Posted by Danub View Post
I found this about gimbal outputs

Soo, I am gonna pull my board and solder up some pinheadeaders adn give it a go. . . I will report back.

One thing is I am uncertain about activation in the arduino code, other than uncommenting this.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 09:03 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,474 Posts
  /*********************** Cam Stabilisation ***********************/
    /* The following lines apply only for a pitch/roll tilt stabilization system. Uncomment the first or second line to activate it */
    //#define SERVO_MIX_TILT
    //#define SERVO_TILT
    #define TILT_PITCH_MIN    1020    //servo travel min, don't set it below 1020
    #define TILT_PITCH_MAX    2000    //servo travel max, max value=2000
    #define TILT_PITCH_MIDDLE 1500    //servo neutral value
    #define TILT_PITCH_PROP   10      //servo proportional (tied to angle) ; can be negative to invert movement
    #define TILT_PITCH_AUX_CH AUX3    //AUX channel to overwrite CAM pitch (AUX1-AUX4), comment to disable manual input and free the AUX channel
    #define TILT_ROLL_MIN     1020
    #define TILT_ROLL_MAX     2000
    #define TILT_ROLL_MIDDLE  1500
    #define TILT_ROLL_PROP    10
    #define TILT_ROLL_AUX_CH  AUX4    //AUX channel to overwrite CAM Roll (AUX1-AUX4), comment to disable manual input and free the AUX channel

    /* camera trigger function : activated via Rc Options in the GUI, servo output=A2 on promini */
    //#define CAMTRIG
    #define CAM_SERVO_HIGH 2000  // the position of HIGH state servo
    #define CAM_SERVO_LOW 1020   // the position of LOW state servo
    #define CAM_TIME_HIGH 1000   // the duration of HIGH state servo expressed in ms
    #define CAM_TIME_LOW 1000    // the duration of LOW state servo expressed in ms
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:22 PM
Registered User
ScoRpiUs2009's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Mordialloc
Joined Aug 2009
1,075 Posts
just a question, are you able to do gimble stabilisation with the quadrino and a hex copter ? has anyone tried that ?
ScoRpiUs2009 is online now Find More Posts by ScoRpiUs2009
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:24 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,474 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoRpiUs2009 View Post
just a question, are you able to do gimble stabilisation with the quadrino and a hex copter ? has anyone tried that ?
Y6 for the configured Multi-rotor? I think so, but I haven’t tried Y6 and gimble setup
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:24 PM
Loves Burn of Hot Glue
Danub's Avatar
Ventucky, Ca.
Joined Dec 2010
142 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
So , if I connect a PPM Sum RX to my transmitter, than I can get all of these options.
Gimbal use? Yes
Y6 for the configured Multi-rotor? I think so, but I haven’t tried Y6 and gimble setup
Aux 1-4 definately
Running the servos on a different BEC or Power from another ESC.
Is needed.
This would mean I don't need to use another gimbal controller?
Will there be enough free space in the eprom left over? Should be, none of these options add a lot of code
everything worked. . . .I soldered headers to srv 1&2 powered my servos via a bec and uploaded arduino code. . . . now for tuning.


Thanks DA for the help
Danub is offline Find More Posts by Danub
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:24 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,474 Posts
Check this out! Very important to the Oregon and WA guys

http://www.leg.state.or.us/13reg/mea...0071.intro.pdf
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:50 PM
Loves Burn of Hot Glue
Danub's Avatar
Ventucky, Ca.
Joined Dec 2010
142 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoRpiUs2009 View Post
just a question, are you able to do gimble stabilisation with the quadrino and a hex copter ? has anyone tried that ?
Yes. . . I just did Y6. . . all that needs to be changed is uncomment flat hex in the arduino sketch. . . . PM me if you have questions or just go back a couple of pages, i just learned how.

You do need:
1. ppm receiver and
2. solder 2 sets of pinheaders to the quadrino board.
The soldering went very easy
Danub is offline Find More Posts by Danub
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:52 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,474 Posts
Pictures?
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 12:12 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
no more fpv for you guys???
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 01:21 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,474 Posts
Not going to let it happen!
You should start checking in your area, what is going on?
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Hangar 9's Piper J-3 Cub 40 Plug-N-Play PNP Plug N Play Evo 46NT Powered ARF Review tailskid2 Scale Fuel Planes 8 Dec 24, 2013 04:08 PM
Help! need new flight controller recommendations n3m1s1s Multirotor Talk 115 Jan 09, 2012 09:38 AM
Article Subsonic's Motrolfly Plug and Play Power System: Motor, Controller & Battery Review Michael Heer Power Systems 27 Dec 16, 2010 12:36 PM
Data Plug 'n Play separates: An Esky CP2 with an E-flight 2 in 1... elan Micro Helis 3 Mar 19, 2010 08:51 AM
Discussion Air Hogs Plug n'Play Flight Deck Simulator trust416 Micro Ready-to-Fly 14 Aug 05, 2007 10:44 AM