Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 14, 2012, 03:46 AM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,391 Posts
Quadrino & MultiWii 101

FlyingEinstein will be hosting a webex class each Sunday @ 3PM EST for an introduction to wiring the Quadrino and initial installation and configuration of the MultiWii Configuration software. This is a group discussion and a Question and Answer period will follow and asking questions during the webex is also encouraged. If you are having difficulties with setting up the Quadrino this is your chance to get your questions answered and your quad flying.

This class is offered through Cisco WebEx and supports up to 50 attendees at a time. To join the meeting goto flyingeinstein.webex.com between 2:45 PM and 3:00PM EST. The meeting will open at 2:45PM but will not begin until 3PM.

Password is always "quad"

Go to flyingeinstein.webex.com

Webex is a Cisco product for online group meetings and presentations. If you haven't already done so, your browser will prompt you to install the webex browser plugin. There is no spam, spyware or adware in the Cisco webex product. Cisco is the leading supplier of computer network related products.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 15, 2012, 03:10 PM
Registered User
mecevans's Avatar
United States, CA, Monterey
Joined Feb 2006
1,358 Posts
I haven't followed this thread for awhile. Is there a gps module available yet?
mecevans is offline Find More Posts by mecevans
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 03:14 PM
Registered User
San Marcos, CA
Joined Aug 2009
2,793 Posts
You can use a $6 I2C-GPS-NAV Module from RCTimer.com to use any serial GPS.
flyandi is offline Find More Posts by flyandi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 06:33 PM
Registered User
mecevans's Avatar
United States, CA, Monterey
Joined Feb 2006
1,358 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyandi View Post
You can use a $6 I2C-GPS-NAV Module from RCTimer.com to use any serial GPS.
What module do you use? Would you recommend it?

Thanks
mecevans is offline Find More Posts by mecevans
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 06:41 PM
Registered User
San Marcos, CA
Joined Aug 2009
2,793 Posts
Oh yeah for sure:

http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...2&productname=

I use a LocoSys Next Gen GPS module with it. Only thing you have to do is either solder the ISP or FTDI header on and upload a new sketch with NMEA strings enabled.

Here is a whole thread about that:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1724694

Mine had the SLC/SLA lines mislabeled and reversed - It worked A+ after switching the lines.

I have full GPS position hold - and RTH almost with zero configuration. That was pretty amazing.

I still have issues holding altitude via the barometer on the Quadrino. It looks like a jumping jack :-D
flyandi is offline Find More Posts by flyandi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 07:06 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,873 Posts
On the subject of GPS, RTH, etc...is a mag sensor really needed...especially for RTH capability. I have a Quadrino basic, thus no baro or mag. I've got the RCTimer GPS and Nav unit, but haven't tried connecting it yet. I'm hoping it can replace my Naza one day...
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 15, 2012, 07:23 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
I'd say yes, because it turns to quad to heading head first which would require mag. Baron not to sure it helps cause it holds the alt, but really nothing else. Do you have acc on the basic? Cause I'm sure thats needed.
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 08:25 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,873 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killab View Post
I'd say yes, because it turns to quad to heading head first which would require mag. Baron not to sure it helps cause it holds the alt, but really nothing else. Do you have acc on the basic? Cause I'm sure thats needed.
I have the Quadrino Basic FC. I bought it before or right at the time they were initially releasing. I understand the need for a mag sensor to aid in the direction it's pointed. My Naza controller turns the head to home on RTH. My (now sold) XAircraft controller didn't...it'd just RTH if whatever direction the nose happened to be pointed. Both have mag sensors, but evidently used the info differently.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 16, 2012, 08:51 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
WHOOLYGANG: ELEVATE (1 min 45 sec)
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 09:41 PM
Registered User
ppridday's Avatar
United States, AL, Theodore
Joined Mar 2005
299 Posts
I've had a couple of instances today where my Rev 1C board has had a flashing orange status light. The board will of course not arm at this time, but with disconnecting and reconnecting a couple of times it will stop flashing and eventually I can arm it. Pretty disconcerting though... This is on my HT-FPV frame with turnigy plush controllers and motors from Witespy... Power is from a DIY Drones power distro board.

Any thoughts??

Thanks,

Paul
ppridday is online now Find More Posts by ppridday
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 09:50 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
Still need help with baro...
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 10:15 PM
Seattle, WA - USA
mark_q's Avatar
Joined Sep 2003
3,234 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airplanekid333 View Post
Still need help with baro...
??????
I've been trying like mad to read your mind but no success!
You think maybe you could restate your baro issue or at least give us a link to the original post (if there was one)?
mark
mark_q is offline Find More Posts by mark_q
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 18, 2012, 05:24 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
610 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_q View Post
??????
I've been trying like mad to read your mind but no success!
You think maybe you could restate your baro issue or at least give us a link to the original post (if there was one)?
mark
ROFLMAO! That must be the funniest thing I've ever read here on rcgroups!
I really love your sense of humor. Thank you! <Still laughing...>
RC911 is online now Find More Posts by RC911
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My T-shaped multirotors
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:19 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
When I go to config it just says 1056.2 and doesn't change. It's inactive and I'm trying to figure it out in sketch
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:39 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
610 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airplanekid333 View Post
When I go to config it just says 1056.2 and doesn't change. It's inactive and I'm trying to figure it out in sketch
Do you get a high I2C error count in MultiWiiConf?
RC911 is online now Find More Posts by RC911
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My T-shaped multirotors
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Hangar 9's Piper J-3 Cub 40 Plug-N-Play PNP Plug N Play Evo 46NT Powered ARF Review tailskid2 Scale Fuel Planes 8 Dec 24, 2013 04:08 PM
Help! need new flight controller recommendations n3m1s1s Multirotor Talk 115 Jan 09, 2012 09:38 AM
Article Subsonic's Motrolfly Plug and Play Power System: Motor, Controller & Battery Review Michael Heer Power Systems 27 Dec 16, 2010 12:36 PM
Data Plug 'n Play separates: An Esky CP2 with an E-flight 2 in 1... elan Micro Helis 3 Mar 19, 2010 08:51 AM
Discussion Air Hogs Plug n'Play Flight Deck Simulator trust416 Micro Ready-to-Fly 14 Aug 05, 2007 10:44 AM