HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 03, 2012, 01:29 PM
Loves Burn of Hot Glue
Danub's Avatar
Ventucky, Ca.
Joined Dec 2010
142 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killab View Post
That is the same problem i have on 10" props, it requires alot of throttle to get it to hover, That is why i stuck with 11"
Hmm are you talking about the lack of power?? or the pitching back?
The lack of thrust can be adjusted either via motor selection or props I think.

DA. . . Unless you say otherwise i am going to try the rctimer motors i have around, motor calc had them at 212.26w. . . It is only over by just a bit as the motors are rated for 210w. we'll see
Danub is offline Find More Posts by Danub
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 03, 2012, 02:23 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danub View Post
I dropped my props down to 9" apc's and if flies really smooth BUT, It seems under powered. . . 70% throttle to hover and I now have this weird pitch "back". . . . What I think is happening is the quad kinda "falls" off of the air. . . I don't understand the pitch going back with the CG pushed up about 1/2" from where it flew fine with my CC board??

I think these 2 are possible solutions:

1. change from 10x4.7 apc props to 10x3.8 to get the motors further spooled up on lift off (avroto 770kv)

OR
2. change from my avrotos 770kv to something aroung 1000-1100kv that will do the job with a wider "power" window? It kinda seems the multiwii guys go for higher kv motors, am I right?

I do have these motors laying around but don't think they will handle 4s and 9" props. . . maybe I am wrong?
http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...1&productname=

Whadya think?
I would try the 10 X 3.8 it may give you what you need.
I have a quad that can with 12 x 6's I reduce them to 12 x 4.5's and it flies much more smoother.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killab View Post
So did you understand it all.. LOL I had to read it a few times to get it, but that was a very good way to describe the i2c and how it works.

Oh and the errors were because i unplugged the GPS... Duh,, I need to stop messing with stuff that works. lol
I probably save myself alot of headace, But that is what makes this hobby fun.
YES, I did!
To the letter!
But it is farther down the rabbit hole then I really want to go.
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 03:55 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
I would try the 10 X 3.8 it may give you what you need.
I have a quad that can with 12 x 6's I reduce them to 12 x 4.5's and it flies much more smoother.



YES, I did!
To the letter!
But it is farther down the rabbit hole then I really want to go.
Lol know what you mean.

What props do you use doc, I'm running graupners now. Need to check on pitch sizes available, I guess.
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 03:58 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danub View Post
Hmm are you talking about the lack of power?? or the pitching back?
The lack of thrust can be adjusted either via motor selection or props I think.

DA. . . Unless you say otherwise i am going to try the rctimer motors i have around, motor calc had them at 212.26w. . . It is only over by just a bit as the motors are rated for 210w. we'll see
Lack of thrust generated by that size props.
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 04:14 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
This is what Colin said about my board.
I think I just found an issue. I did some more testing tonight. The diode does work but the voltage drops more as the current demand goes up. So plugging in more stuff onto the board caused it to fail. So I replaced the diode and it is working now. So it was in fact the diode. Sorry for the extra time, I never saw that happen before. Usually the diode either works or doesn’t, not somewhere in the middle.

Should I disable the red wire in 3 out of 4 esc to prevent from this happening again
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 04:41 PM
Registered User
mentony32's Avatar
Australia
Joined Jun 2010
224 Posts
Definately only use one power and earth from one ESC on your machine. I like to use a hobby knife to pry up the 'latch' on the lead, pull out the earth and +ve and heatshrink them to prevent shorting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airplanekid333 View Post
This is what Colin said about my board.
I think I just found an issue. I did some more testing tonight. The diode does work but the voltage drops more as the current demand goes up. So plugging in more stuff onto the board caused it to fail. So I replaced the diode and it is working now. So it was in fact the diode. Sorry for the extra time, I never saw that happen before. Usually the diode either works or doesn’t, not somewhere in the middle.

Should I disable the red wire in 3 out of 4 esc to prevent from this happening again
mentony32 is offline Find More Posts by mentony32
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 09:13 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
Well shoot. My board will power up but my motors wont power up. Doc, can i call you for help?
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 09:39 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,426 Posts
Did you runn the same sketch setup you had before?
Or are you running Guru's setting for you board?
Remember to set your low throttle settings.
You really need to act like your starting new!
Don't assume it will work just because you and Guru may have the same radio!

You KilaB, you got one of those modded 9X's around there?
May be interested in swapping for a one already done!

I got lots of stuff to do in the next couple days.
I got 5 kits, 20 motors, 20 ESc's, 5 batts, 5 C-OSD, 20 battery monitors and 5 sets of 5.8 VTX and RX.
More to come
Maybe sunday I will have some videos of these things flying!
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 08:18 AM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Did you runn the same sketch setup you had before?
Or are you running Guru's setting for you board?
Remember to set your low throttle settings.
You really need to act like your starting new!
Don't assume it will work just because you and Guru may have the same radio!

You KilaB, you got one of those modded 9X's around there?
May be interested in swapping for a one already done!

I got lots of stuff to do in the next couple days.
I got 5 kits, 20 motors, 20 ESc's, 5 batts, 5 C-OSD, 20 battery monitors and 5 sets of 5.8 VTX and RX.
More to come
Maybe sunday I will have some videos of these things flying!
It's bone stock, but I could put er9x on it in two sec. Just depends on what all you want
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 01:04 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
I can get the motors to turn on now but very unstable when I try to leave the ground
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 01:17 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,426 Posts
Okay, what did you do different this time?
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 04:27 PM
Registered User
USA, OR, Hillsboro
Joined Feb 2011
405 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airplanekid333 View Post
I can get the motors to turn on now but very unstable when I try to leave the ground

Jumping in here late but Airplanekid are you calibarting each motor individualy to ESC and are you calibrating each time you power up to take off by up pitch and full throttle left rudder and up pitch and down throttle and left rudder? always pitch first so as not to arm, move throttle slowly to make sure you are not armed. Are you trying to take off in stable mode or in acro mode? As I said jumping in here late so maybe DA has already gone over all of this with you. If so disregard.
jsflyrv is offline Find More Posts by jsflyrv
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 06:45 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
I was paying no attention to my radio and the trim was way off. Whoopsy. Ive done calibrating and all of that. But now, In config. my yaw, roll, and pitch is at 1505, how do i center that back to 1500?
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 07:56 PM
Registered User
San Marcos, CA
Joined Aug 2009
2,821 Posts
Quick question: I got this cheap $6 OLED Screen from RCTimer - everything is connected (5V I2C Bus) and I activated the LCD+OLED in the config.h - however all I get is thousands of dots on the screen. Anyone had a similar issue and solved it?
flyandi is online now Find More Posts by flyandi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 08:32 PM
Registered User
USA, OR, Hillsboro
Joined Feb 2011
405 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airplanekid333 View Post
I was paying no attention to my radio and the trim was way off. Whoopsy. Ive done calibrating and all of that. But now, In config. my yaw, roll, and pitch is at 1505, how do i center that back to 1500?
I would not worry about 1505
jsflyrv is offline Find More Posts by jsflyrv
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Hangar 9's Piper J-3 Cub 40 Plug-N-Play PNP Plug N Play Evo 46NT Powered ARF Review tailskid2 Scale Fuel Planes 8 Dec 24, 2013 04:08 PM
Help! need new flight controller recommendations n3m1s1s Multirotor Talk 115 Jan 09, 2012 09:38 AM
Article Subsonic's Motrolfly Plug and Play Power System: Motor, Controller & Battery Review Michael Heer Power Systems 27 Dec 16, 2010 12:36 PM
Data Plug 'n Play separates: An Esky CP2 with an E-flight 2 in 1... elan Micro Helis 3 Mar 19, 2010 08:51 AM
Discussion Air Hogs Plug n'Play Flight Deck Simulator trust416 Micro Ready-to-Fly 14 Aug 05, 2007 10:44 AM