HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 30, 2012, 08:25 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,375 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn1979 View Post
Has Colin flew a quad with the new gps chip on it or had it all been bench top testing.
PLZ, explain?
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 30, 2012, 08:42 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,375 Posts
Sorry, guys it must have been the dirt. They were really dirty from the last two days of flying.
Last flight went smoothly.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 08:46 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn1979 View Post
Has Colin flew a quad with the new gps chip on it or had it all been bench top testing.
No he hasn't. I think. Although I think it's been tested already by someone else in the factory and it works because GPS units will be shipped to him in the middle of October And he will experiment and set it up before it goes on sale. Its engineered to work.
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:47 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,375 Posts
Yo, Shawn.
I talked to the Guru about changing the N to the word FRONT!
You guys next week we will start discussing the real Quadrino 2.0
Everything is opened, for discussion!
If your not going to be around. Post you idea and we can pass it along!
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 10:02 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,791 Posts
Question. I've been using my original QuadRino Basic board...back from before they were mass produced. It's been working fine on my quads. Now I'm planning on putting it on a hex...then it hit me...some of the inputs become motor outputs for a hex setup...thus I can't use a normal Rx. I could do the PPM input without to much problem, but my question is...can the QuadRino accept a Spektrum Satellite for the control input? If so, where would I connect it? Thanks in advance.
Vantasstic is online now Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 30, 2012, 10:28 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,375 Posts
Let me do some research.
But really if you converting to hexa, you gimbal out puts become the other two motors.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 10:29 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,375 Posts
I may do a Y6 before the end of the week!
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 06:12 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,375 Posts
This is my current multi-rotor fleet.
All Quadrinos.
When you fly the best, there is no reason to settle for anything less!

Best service, Best support, also the best combo board out there.
Any one saying it is less than that has lost his mind!

LOL!
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Last edited by DoctorAudio; Oct 01, 2012 at 06:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 07:33 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Nice fleet doc, couldn't agree more. I was just debating with a buddy that runs apm.

But anyway look at the new toy I just bought, should be some cool bling.
http://www.robotshop.com/dfrobot-rainbow-led-ring.html
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 07:36 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,375 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killab View Post
Nice fleet doc, couldn't agree more. I was just debating with a buddy that runs apm.

But anyway look at the new toy I just bought, should be some cool bling.
http://www.robotshop.com/dfrobot-rainbow-led-ring.html
Did you get me one?
That is cooler then the other one I saw!

Real nice!

I am sitting where i have to resist the urge to take off the goggles!

FPVing with the spyder quad. (3 min 13 sec)


At 2:13 seconds you have to look real good to see. It freaked me out. Almost crashed.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Last edited by DoctorAudio; Oct 01, 2012 at 07:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 08:03 PM
Registered User
United States, NV, North Las Vegas
Joined Sep 2009
1,075 Posts
I'll be curious to see if the spketrum satellite is possible on my quadrino as well, I've done some research and don't think it can be done without soldering on the chip... hope I'm wrong.

I have used the satellites on my Nanowii's and a few older built up boards that have an Adruino Promini, works great! it's nice not having the extra wires and once decased the satellites are tiny, perfect for smaller multi's and cleaner looking builds. I suppose you loose some range, not an issue for me since all I fly is LOS.

John
shultz is offline Find More Posts by shultz
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 08:04 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Lol awesome.
Here's a video of the ring.
http://touch.dailymotion.com/video/x...gmultiwii_tech

Since I bought the I2c expansion board, I needed something else to plug in. Lol
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 08:13 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,375 Posts
There is the code and it tells you how to do it.!

Quote:

    /********************** Spektrum Satellite Reciver *******************************/
      /* The following lines apply only for Spektrum Satellite Receiver
         Spektrum Satellites are 3V devices.  DO N OT connect to 5V!
         For MEGA boards, attach sat grey wire to  RX1, pin 19. Sat black wire to ground. Sat orange  wire to Mega board's 3.3V (or any other 3V to 3.3V  source).
         For PROMINI, attach sat grey to RX0.  Att ach sat black to ground. */
      //#define SPEKTRUM 1024
      //#define SPEKTRUM 2048
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2012, 09:10 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,791 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
There is the code and it tells you how to do it.!
Yeah, I enable that for my Nanowii to use the Spektrum Satellite. The Nanowii manual tells where to hook up the satellite, I couldn't find similar info on connecting to the QuadRino. I also didn't find documentation to verify where to hook up the extra motor outputs for a flat hex setup. From early on in this thread it was mentioned you had to have a PPM input and then two of the normal inputs became the outputs for the extra motors. I was hoping things were different with the newer firmware(s).

For my Hex-X I ended up installing a Nanowii board. It had all the outputs needed for a Hex and was able to connect up a normal Rx. I just did a test over flight in the back yard with the frame and it was...well...uneventful. Multiwii is becoming my preferred controller now.
Vantasstic is online now Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 01, 2012, 09:52 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,375 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
Yeah, I enable that for my Nanowii to use the Spektrum Satellite. The Nanowii manual tells where to hook up the satellite, I couldn't find similar info on connecting to the QuadRino. I also didn't find documentation to verify where to hook up the extra motor outputs for a flat hex setup. From early on in this thread it was mentioned you had to have a PPM input and then two of the normal inputs became the outputs for the extra motors. I was hoping things were different with the newer firmware(s).

For my Hex-X I ended up installing a Nanowii board. It had all the outputs needed for a Hex and was able to connect up a normal Rx. I just did a test over flight in the back yard with the frame and it was...well...uneventful. Multiwii is becoming my preferred controller now.
Nope you don't have to have ppm.
Just plug motor 5 and 6 in to the camera stab pins.
Quote:

    /************************** Hexa Motor 5 & 6 Pins *******************************/
      /* PIN A0 and A1 instead of PIN D5 & D6 for 6 motors config and promini config
         This mod allow the use of a standard rece iver on a pro mini
         (no need to use a PPM sum receiver) */
      //#define A0_A1_PIN_HEX
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Last edited by DoctorAudio; Oct 01, 2012 at 10:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Hangar 9's Piper J-3 Cub 40 Plug-N-Play PNP Plug N Play Evo 46NT Powered ARF Review tailskid2 Scale Fuel Planes 8 Dec 24, 2013 04:08 PM
Help! need new flight controller recommendations n3m1s1s Multirotor Talk 115 Jan 09, 2012 09:38 AM
Article Subsonic's Motrolfly Plug and Play Power System: Motor, Controller & Battery Review Michael Heer Power Systems 27 Dec 16, 2010 12:36 PM
Data Plug 'n Play separates: An Esky CP2 with an E-flight 2 in 1... elan Micro Helis 3 Mar 19, 2010 08:51 AM
Discussion Air Hogs Plug n'Play Flight Deck Simulator trust416 Micro Ready-to-Fly 14 Aug 05, 2007 10:44 AM