Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 30, 2012, 10:11 AM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
OK doc, got something for you to ponder on. I just got the i2c expander board. Debating on how to connect it. Do I wire it to 5v or to 3.3. I worry with the 3.3 cause of the issue I had we're the copter fell out of the sky. Cause it locked up, at least that's what guru thought. I ordered a 3.3v reg think it was 500 ma. Or just go 5vs. What just stumped me was that the oled I got from witespy had 3.3 only written on the bag.

My GPS will run on 5v, the flytron one I'm using til the quadrino one comes out. And I want to get a sonar next which I believe is 5v too.

This has had my mind busy all night, what's your thoughts.
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 30, 2012, 10:15 AM
Registered User
awkBOTS's Avatar
United States, TX, Corinth
Joined Aug 2012
68 Posts
Thats funny because when I first looked at the board I thought the same thing, but then thought that will look ridiculous in the quad like that, then saw the North arrow...
awkBOTS is offline Find More Posts by awkBOTS
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 10:22 AM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,402 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killab View Post
OK doc, got something for you to ponder on. I just got the i2c expander board. Debating on how to connect it. Do I wire it to 5v or to 3.3. I worry with the 3.3 cause of the issue I had we're the copter fell out of the sky. Cause it locked up, at least that's what guru thought. I ordered a 3.3v reg think it was 500 ma. Or just go 5vs. What just stumped me was that the oled I got from witespy had 3.3 only written on the bag.

My GPS will run on 5v, the flytron one I'm using til the quadrino one comes out. And I want to get a sonar next which I believe is 5v too.

This has had my mind busy all night, what's your thoughts.
Why don't you see if the stuff will work on 3.3, But I read from the manufacture of the OLED that is work on 5v.
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 11:46 AM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Why don't you see if the stuff will work on 3.3, But I read from the manufacture of the OLED that is work on 5v.
The oled has 5v stamped right on it, so I would guess it would. I just worry the 3.3 on the board will not be able to support a lot of sensors. So guess ill just wait on the regulator I ordered.

Ill look at the sonar specs and see if it can run on 3.3 too.
Edit
Just checked the data sheet its 5v only.
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Last edited by Killab; Sep 30, 2012 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 01:02 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,402 Posts
Quadrino & MultiWii 101

FlyingEinstein will be hosting a webex class each Sunday @ 3PM EST for an introduction to wiring the Quadrino and initial installation and configuration of the MultiWii Configuration software. This is a group discussion and a Question and Answer period will follow and asking questions during the webex is also encouraged. If you are having difficulties with setting up the Quadrino this is your chance to get your questions answered and your quad flying.

This class is offered through Cisco WebEx and supports up to 25 attendees at a time. To join the meeting goto flyingeinstein.webex.com between 2:45 PM and 3:00PM EST. The meeting will open at 2:45PM but will not begin until 3PM.

Password is always "quad"

Go to flyingeinstein.webex.com

Webex is a Cisco product for online group meetings and presentations. If you haven't already done so, your browser will prompt you to install the webex browser plugin. There is no spam, spyware or adware in the Cisco webex product. Cisco is the leading supplier of computer network related products.
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 02:24 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,402 Posts
Just heard the GPS will be 129.99. Save your pennies!
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 04:22 PM
Seattle, WA - USA
mark_q's Avatar
Joined Sep 2003
3,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Just heard the GPS will be 129.99. Save your pennies!
Is there going to be a pre-order?
mark_q is offline Find More Posts by mark_q
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 30, 2012, 04:57 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,402 Posts
At first he said, he wasn't.
But now you will beable to pre-order a week before they are ready.
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 05:15 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
153 Posts
Killab , I hooked mine up to the 3.3. The oled board says 5v but the bag it came in said 3.3 only too. I have not worked up the courage to try it on the 5v side. Guru once said it should be fine but replacements are hard to come by for me so I did not want to risk it.

Sorry I missed the meeting today. Got tied up.

Did I miss anything new?
Atown93 is offline Find More Posts by Atown93
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 05:16 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,402 Posts
Guys don't load it yet!
I just had two motors lock up after a perfect flight on 2.1!
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 06:47 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Just heard the GPS will be 129.99. Save your pennies!
Nice, better than what he first stated I think.. can't wait......

Preorder here I come.
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 06:48 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
At first he said, he wasn't.
But now you will beable to pre-order a week before they are ready.
Which GUI is that? I'm using wingui
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 07:44 PM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Alliston
Joined Sep 2009
178 Posts
lock up? how?

just curious, i was going to try it on my backup quad that i mess around with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Guys don't load it yet!
I just had two motors lock up after a perfect flight on 2.1!
rernewe is offline Find More Posts by rernewe
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 08:21 PM
Registered User
United States, NE, Lincoln
Joined Jul 2012
67 Posts
Has Colin flew a quad with the new gps chip on it or had it all been bench top testing.
shawn1979 is offline Find More Posts by shawn1979
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 08:22 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,402 Posts
Just give me another flight .
I may have something in my motors guys.

Let me check that first and then I will do a long short distance flight!
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Hangar 9's Piper J-3 Cub 40 Plug-N-Play PNP Plug N Play Evo 46NT Powered ARF Review tailskid2 Scale Fuel Planes 8 Dec 24, 2013 04:08 PM
Help! need new flight controller recommendations n3m1s1s Multirotor Talk 115 Jan 09, 2012 09:38 AM
Article Subsonic's Motrolfly Plug and Play Power System: Motor, Controller & Battery Review Michael Heer Power Systems 27 Dec 16, 2010 12:36 PM
Data Plug 'n Play separates: An Esky CP2 with an E-flight 2 in 1... elan Micro Helis 3 Mar 19, 2010 08:51 AM
Discussion Air Hogs Plug n'Play Flight Deck Simulator trust416 Micro Ready-to-Fly 14 Aug 05, 2007 10:44 AM