HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 03, 2012, 03:15 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,471 Posts
I only make adjustments to one thing at a time.
I do it this way. It takes longer, but it will fly much better in high wind or no wind.
You can tell the difference, with your ear. It totally sounds like a beast.
Yours in the video sounds like it is studdering.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 03, 2012, 08:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
526 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
I only make adjustments to one thing at a time.
I do it this way. It takes longer, but it will fly much better in high wind or no wind.
You can tell the difference, with your ear. It totally sounds like a beast.
Yours in the video sounds like it is studdering.
This is my second witespy quadrino and I think the other one was smoother. I lost that one . It had a better engine sound , so I think I know what your saying . I'll change P on Pitch back to 3.7 and just change one thing at a time.
Steve34 is offline Find More Posts by Steve34
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2012, 08:25 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,471 Posts
You should notice it more when your decending for more than 15 feet.
As you get closer to the right stop, it will shake less.
My Pids are lower than yours now. Roll is 2.9.
But I fly more me than the gyros.
But you should be fine somewhere around 3.0 to 3.4.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 06:32 AM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
has anyone tried serial gps on quadrino yet? i'm kind of struggling between serial CN-06 and CN-06+I2C-GPS NAV Module
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 12:57 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,471 Posts
Implementations
At the moment, there are two ways to add a GPS to your MultiWii
1. If you have a spare serial port AND an AtMega1280 or 2560 microcontroller based FC, you can connect your GPS to that port and enable the serial GPS code in the code (see howto below) Due the elevated resource usage (RAM and ROM) this method is not recommended with AtMega328 based boards
2. You can use an I2C_GPS board, which contains a secondary AtMega328 processor with a serial GPS and runs the GPS parsing and navigational computations. This board communicates with the FC via the I2C bus.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
has anyone tried serial gps on quadrino yet? i'm kind of struggling between serial CN-06 and CN-06+I2C-GPS NAV Module
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 12:58 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,471 Posts
Thank you for not making me read the whole thing and then have the warning.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 02:41 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
ok cool.. it does sound like i will need to use the i2c board to connect gps to make life better
thx
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 05:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
54 Posts
Definitely go for i2c gps...you have a second processor handing GPS algorithms, leaving more cycle time for the main multiwii to control the copter. Even in a MEGA board, I'd still spring for i2c gps just for that reason. The MEGA has more RAM, and more pins, but the exact same atmel core so it runs at the same 16MHz speed.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
ok cool.. it does sound like i will need to use the i2c board to connect gps to make life better
thx
guru_florida is offline Find More Posts by guru_florida
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 05:32 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
yeah... now all the rest is to make then work together
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 05:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
54 Posts
Sorry guys and girls, I totally passed out and slept through the Webex not realizing what day it is. We'll be back next week for sure.

I am getting lots of recall boards in and still pushing them out the next (shipping) day. So keep them coming! I want to replace as many as I can and I am doing my best to get them out right away so you wont be long without your Quadrino.

I am getting lots of reports back from customers. They've put their unit through many batteries without a single hiccup. I've been doing *a lot* of flight testing without a hiccup too. Get your crystal replaced!

Colin
guru_florida is offline Find More Posts by guru_florida
Last edited by guru_florida; Aug 05, 2012 at 05:36 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 09:26 PM
Registered User
jpsabo's Avatar
Joined Feb 2011
649 Posts
Thank you Colin. Very much appreciated.
jpsabo is offline Find More Posts by jpsabo
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 04:52 AM
sorry, my english is bad
teramax's Avatar
Austria, Wien, Vienna
Joined Apr 2011
232 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Let's see what is going on.
What version board do you have?
You should not be reducing to zero throttle.
You want to keep the pops spinning.
If you doing full aerobatics then you don't want motor stop on. Because you don't want them to ever stop spinning.
I don't know about the disarmming.
But I will do some research and see what happens.
If you have time maybe we can chat for a little bit on Friday.
First sorry for answering so late, had trouble weekend.
My Board is a Rev 1D
It was wrong to call it loop, more turning upside down and let it fall, wait for the audience "uuuuu, Ahhhhh, oh nooooo" and recover it. Always fun to watch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atown93 View Post
Do you have mag active, or any other switches that might be creating yaw input to disarm?
No, only Gyro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Teramax:This is not the fix for you, it is a test.
You could use it as a fix.
But my thoughts are you are staying to long at zero throttle.
To determined, what really is going on.
I would like you to try this!
Activate arming to one of you swtiches.
Somewere in the scatch?
OK, have a look how to and will test afternoon.

Thanks
teramax is offline Find More Posts by teramax
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 01:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
526 Posts
This video was from yesterday, I lowered the 'P' value on roll down to 3.4 the flight before this and it was still a bit shakey. For this flight I lowered it to 3.1 and for good measure I took the 'P' value on Pitch to 3.4 .
Seems a little better both flights before and then this one the quad is a bit easier to fly.

QuadCopter Flight over Milner Park (6 min 23 sec)
Steve34 is offline Find More Posts by Steve34
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 01:53 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,471 Posts
Better.
Here is something I find helpful.
I do slide from left to right and them right to left. This helps me with seeing which one needs the attention.
You are getting close, because you said. You can fly it easier.
You close dude.
If you love your borad now, you will really to love soon.
It is totally worth your while.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 02:15 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,471 Posts
Thank you for responding!

I call that the (Deadman)!


Anyway it is in the GUI if you using 2.1.
It deactivates the stick arming. It does will not arm if the throttle stick is not at the bottom. Even if you flip the switch. So you can try it.




Quote:
Originally Posted by teramax View Post
First sorry for answering so late, had trouble weekend.
My Board is a Rev 1D
It was wrong to call it loop, more turning upside down and let it fall, wait for the audience "uuuuu, Ahhhhh, oh nooooo" and recover it. Always fun to watch.

No, only Gyro.


Somewere in the scatch?
OK, have a look how to and will test afternoon.

Thanks
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Hangar 9's Piper J-3 Cub 40 Plug-N-Play PNP Plug N Play Evo 46NT Powered ARF Review tailskid2 Scale Fuel Planes 8 Dec 24, 2013 04:08 PM
Help! need new flight controller recommendations n3m1s1s Multirotor Talk 115 Jan 09, 2012 09:38 AM
Article Subsonic's Motrolfly Plug and Play Power System: Motor, Controller & Battery Review Michael Heer Power Systems 27 Dec 16, 2010 12:36 PM
Data Plug 'n Play separates: An Esky CP2 with an E-flight 2 in 1... elan Micro Helis 3 Mar 19, 2010 08:51 AM
Discussion Air Hogs Plug n'Play Flight Deck Simulator trust416 Micro Ready-to-Fly 14 Aug 05, 2007 10:44 AM