HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 25, 2012, 06:27 PM
Registered User
jpsabo's Avatar
Joined Feb 2011
647 Posts
No, it doesn't. In fact it's easier to not have the board mounted or connected so the magnetometer can be calibrated.

Regards,
John
jpsabo is offline Find More Posts by jpsabo
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 25, 2012, 06:36 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsabo View Post
No, it doesn't. In fact it's easier to not have the board mounted or connected so the magnetometer can be calibrated.

Regards,
John
You want to calibrate the mag outside if possible and with it mounted on the quad so that it adjusts for any magnetic variances from its location in the overall setup.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 06:44 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, Palm Beach
Joined Jan 2011
1,133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsabo View Post
No, it doesn't. In fact it's easier to not have the board mounted or connected so the magnetometer can be calibrated.

Regards,
John
Thanks John. I figured it out just before I refreshed this page - I was trying to run the 64 bit version - didn't work. But the 32 bit did (on Win7-64 Ultimate). I think it has to match the Javaw.exe (which is 32 bit).
viper522 is offline Find More Posts by viper522
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 06:53 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper522 View Post
Thanks John. I figured it out just before I refreshed this page - I was trying to run the 64 bit version - didn't work. But the 32 bit did (on Win7-64 Ultimate). I think it has to match the Javaw.exe (which is 32 bit).
Same here I have to run the 32 bit version on Win 7 64.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 09:39 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,390 Posts
Man, I am hoping that the GPS will be out in a couple of days.
I have the perfect ship to test it in!
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 10:44 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
If you find info on gps let me know, that's the next thing I want for my Quadrino
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:58 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,966 Posts
The gps won't be out right away yet, still in testing from what I understand.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 01:44 AM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Ya think I've seen a couple of videos on YouTube with people doing it, but I want it to be a simple as buying a gps and plugging it in and go. Minor setting is expected. I just want rth.
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 11:09 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Palm Beach
Joined Jan 2011
1,133 Posts
Now that I have it wired up, I'm having trouble with the ESCs fast beeping. I did the max throttle calibration using a 4x1 cable and also individually. I tried setting the config file at 1500, 1250 and 1000. MWConfig shows my min throttle # as 975 and max as 1981 (Turnigy 9X w/ ER9X). I have an ESC programming card but I didn't change any settings on the ESCs (TowerPro H40A) so they are at defaults. As I understand it, they have the same defaults as the Turnigy ESCs, if that means anything to anyone without me typing it all out. Ideas?
viper522 is offline Find More Posts by viper522
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 11:11 AM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,722 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper522 View Post
Now that I have it wired up, I'm having trouble with the ESCs fast beeping. I did the max throttle calibration using a 4x1 cable and also individually. I tried setting the config file at 1500, 1250 and 1000. MWConfig shows my min throttle # as 975 and max as 1981 (Turnigy 9X w/ ER9X). I have an ESC programming card but I didn't change any settings on the ESCs (TowerPro H40A) so they are at defaults. As I understand it, they have the same defaults as the Turnigy ESCs, if that means anything to anyone without me typing it all out. Ideas?
Go to config.h and lower that:

Code:
/* this is the value for the ESCs when they are not armed
   in some cases, this value must be lowered down to 900 for some specific ESCs */
#define MINCOMMAND 1000
Dialfonzo is offline Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 11:33 AM
LSF 004 - AMA 5055
bobandris's Avatar
Saratoga, CA USA
Joined Dec 2000
583 Posts
1.9 -> 2.0?

Hey Guys,

Just a quickie. Can you point me to a procedure for 'upping' a 1.9 MultiWii board to 2.0, if that is possible.

Many Thanks,
Bob
bobandris is offline Find More Posts by bobandris
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 11:41 AM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
bob, this is a great tutorial right here.
http://www.flyingeinstein.com/index....ating-firmware

It shows you how to upgrade to 1.9 but the 2.0 just came out so just make sure you download the 2.0 first off the multiwii site and use that 2.0 file when uploading to audrino
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Last edited by Airplanekid333; May 27, 2012 at 11:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 11:54 AM
Registered User
Glenstr's Avatar
Canada, AB, Lac La Biche
Joined Aug 2010
1,955 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobandris View Post
Hey Guys,

Just a quickie. Can you point me to a procedure for 'upping' a 1.9 MultiWii board to 2.0, if that is possible.

Many Thanks,
Bob
Are you on a rev D or E board Bob?

I'm on a revD and heard that the new features in the 2.0 don't work that well on these boards. Haven't tried it yet though, holding off for now.
Glenstr is offline Find More Posts by Glenstr
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 06:44 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,722 Posts
A
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenstr View Post
Are you on a rev D or E board Bob?

I'm on a revD and heard that the new features in the 2.0 don't work that well on these boards. Haven't tried it yet though, holding off for now.
That's not true.
Sensors on all Quadrino version are real standard and are supported.
Dialfonzo is offline Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 08:40 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Palm Beach
Joined Jan 2011
1,133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialfonzo View Post
Go to config.h and lower that:

Code:
/* this is the value for the ESCs when they are not armed
   in some cases, this value must be lowered down to 900 for some specific ESCs */
#define MINCOMMAND 1000
**UPDATE: Ahh I figured it out, if I turn the Tx off and on a couple times and arm the Quadrino, it works fine. I'll have to figure out the proper procedure.

I did what you said and tried 900, no dice. I also loaded 1.9 stable and it does the same thing (at 900). Orange light on one side and green on the other, both solid. If I shut off the transmitter, I get solid green and solid blue and no beeping.
viper522 is offline Find More Posts by viper522
Last edited by viper522; May 28, 2012 at 09:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Hangar 9's Piper J-3 Cub 40 Plug-N-Play PNP Plug N Play Evo 46NT Powered ARF Review tailskid2 Scale Fuel Planes 8 Dec 24, 2013 04:08 PM
Help! need new flight controller recommendations n3m1s1s Multirotor Talk 115 Jan 09, 2012 09:38 AM
Article Subsonic's Motrolfly Plug and Play Power System: Motor, Controller & Battery Review Michael Heer Power Systems 27 Dec 16, 2010 12:36 PM
Data Plug 'n Play separates: An Esky CP2 with an E-flight 2 in 1... elan Micro Helis 3 Mar 19, 2010 08:51 AM
Discussion Air Hogs Plug n'Play Flight Deck Simulator trust416 Micro Ready-to-Fly 14 Aug 05, 2007 10:44 AM