HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2012, 01:38 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,309 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JediKnight2 View Post
Trying to read thru this megathread..but I am having a slight issue with my new quad. First quad BTW...I have the 1e board on the vic550 frame using 4 Hoverthings motors and Turnigy Plush 18 ESC's. I have connected all the ESC's separately...started my Tx, Throttle all the way up, then connected power, beep beep, throttle all the way down. When I arm the board and start to give throttle one motor hesitates to spin and doesn't seem to be starting or running right. If I hold the quad in my hand and throttle up to where the motor will spin it wants to tilt on me. I sat it down on the floor and it will pull forward, reverse, left and right...but won't even begin to hover as that one motor seems to be slow to start...suggestions.....when I get home I will try to get some video and upload it...just trying to get a jump on it before I get home.
So does the motor spinn when you give full throttle?
Please do this after removing the props.
If the motor is spinning at full throttle then you problem is easy, to fix.
Your min throttle comannd needs to be changed in the sketch.


Quote:
/* Set the minimum throttle command sent to the ESC  (Electronic Speed Controller)
   This is the minimum value that allow motors to  run at a idle speed  */
//#define MINTHROTTLE 1300 // for Turnigy Plush ESCs 10A
//#define MINTHROTTLE 1120 // for Super Simple ESCs 10A
//#define MINTHROTTLE 1220
#define MINTHROTTLE 1150 
Change the number by 25 and try again.
Also make sure you have motor stop defined.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2012, 02:28 PM
FPV nut
traderdmb's Avatar
Sorrento, FL
Joined Nov 2010
685 Posts
so I'm flying along and suddenly my quad just, for no reason, rolls backward and falls out of the sky. I think to myself, WOW, that was weird! I think about it for a while, it send it back up into the sky, and WOW, it does it again. I replace the motors, just because I got some really good ones, and I send it up, everything is great then suddenly WOW, it does it again and finally the frame breaks. This quadrino adv board seems like crap.
traderdmb is offline Find More Posts by traderdmb
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 03:47 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
56 Posts
Your a little lite on the info. Quadrinos are not crap but I suppose it could have a problem. It rolled backward? Was in the X or + config? You replaced all 4 motors? What exactly were you doing when it rolled backwards?

My first guess is that you didn't lower your max throttle to 75% and when you floored it there was nothing left for it to stabilize.
AdaptedEye is offline Find More Posts by AdaptedEye
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 04:38 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,309 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by traderdmb View Post
so I'm flying along and suddenly my quad just, for no reason, rolls backward and falls out of the sky. I think to myself, WOW, that was weird! I think about it for a while, it send it back up into the sky, and WOW, it does it again. I replace the motors, just because I got some really good ones, and I send it up, everything is great then suddenly WOW, it does it again and finally the frame breaks. This quadrino adv board seems like crap.
This is not funny!
How many flights do you have on your Quadrino?
You must have been happy for those flight.
Did you change anything before you changed the motors?
I had an issues last night. I could not get the front right motor to spool up when the others did.
Turns out in my esc's rx wire pins were loose for some reason.
After I replaced all the pins, it works great again.
It wasn't the quadrinos' fault.

Can you give us more info, I really would like to help.
But not really enough info.
I sure we can all help you figure it out.
We need more info.
Also sorry to here you frame is toast.
Which one was it?
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 04:42 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,665 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdaptedEye View Post
Your a little lite on the info. Quadrinos are not crap but I suppose it could have a problem. It rolled backward? Was in the X or + config? You replaced all 4 motors? What exactly were you doing when it rolled backwards?

My first guess is that you didn't lower your max throttle to 75% and when you floored it there was nothing left for it to stabilize.
Do you have altitude hold enabled
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 04:53 PM
I'm Bonafide!
JediKnight2's Avatar
Wilmington, NC
Joined Aug 2005
1,252 Posts
here is a photo of my settings and a video showing what is going on. As you can see on the video...the motors start up but C stops for some reason. You can see me giving input for forward, back, left and right and it spins up right....I did try lowering the minthrottle to 1125...NOW..If my Tx is at 100% for throttle EPA on the software it shows at 1120 ish. I have to lower it to 1000 to even arm the board...

Quadrino Issue 1 (0 min 39 sec)
JediKnight2 is offline Find More Posts by JediKnight2
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 05:02 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,309 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JediKnight2 View Post
here is a photo of my settings and a video showing what is going on. As you can see on the video...the motors start up but C stops for some reason. You can see me giving input for forward, back, left and right and it spins up right....I did try lowering the minthrottle to 1125...NOW..If my Tx is at 100% for throttle EPA on the software it shows at 1120 ish. I have to lower it to 1000 to even arm the board...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7XAL...ature=youtu.be
Try rising your minthrottle, That is what I meant.
take it to 1200. See if that fixes it.
Since it is just that moro and esc.
This is what I would do, provided you have an extra ESC, RX.
Hook up just that motor and see if it responds that same.
Hope this helps?
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 05:04 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,665 Posts
Are your esc all calibrated with your transmitter?
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:05 PM
Dark Yet??
Barn-E-Stormer's Avatar
United States, VA, Narrows
Joined Dec 2009
1,425 Posts
Are you sure the brake is not set on one of your ESCs?

I also think your ESCs need to be calibrated.
Barn-E-Stormer is offline Find More Posts by Barn-E-Stormer
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:08 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,665 Posts
It look to me that both minimum throttle and ESC calibration is needed
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:13 PM
Dark Yet??
Barn-E-Stormer's Avatar
United States, VA, Narrows
Joined Dec 2009
1,425 Posts
Your video is a bit dark and hard to see. It does look and sound like one motor is stopping abruptly????

Do the next vid in the sunshine.
Barn-E-Stormer is offline Find More Posts by Barn-E-Stormer
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:14 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,665 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barn-E-Stormer View Post
Your video is a bit dark and hard to see. It does look and sound like one motor is stopping abruptly????

Do the next vid in the sunshine.
If it stop it's because the controller go under the minimum throttle of the ESC
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:57 PM
I'm Bonafide!
JediKnight2's Avatar
Wilmington, NC
Joined Aug 2005
1,252 Posts
I recalibrated my esc`s .. I also changed minthrottle to 1200 and the board wouldn't arm. I set my throttle EPA to 105% and it arms and disarms. anything lower than that and it won't arm. I even went into config and took it to 1300 and as low as 1000 to make sure I was going in the right direction...wouldn't arm. with my throttle EPA at 105% my range is 1096 to 1914. if I back it to 100% it is 1116 to 1916... but won't arm. props are good to go now though....should I tweak it..is the EPA adjustment bad to use with a quad.

I notice I am needing some trim as when I power up in slowly starts going right and forward...subtrims are OK to use....correct
JediKnight2 is offline Find More Posts by JediKnight2
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 07:01 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,665 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JediKnight2 View Post
I recalibrated my esc`s .. I also changed minthrottle to 1200 and the board wouldn't arm. I set my throttle EPA to 105% and it arms and disarms. anything lower than that and it won't arm. I even went into config and took it to 1300 and as low as 1000 to make sure I was going in the right direction...wouldn't arm. with my throttle EPA at 105% my range is 1096 to 1914. if I back it to 100% it is 1116 to 1916... but won't arm. props are good to go now though....should I tweak it..is the EPA adjustment bad to use with a quad.

I notice I am needing some trim as when I power up in slowly starts going right and forward...subtrims are OK to use....correct
Minimum throttle have nothing to do with arming...
Where are you changing the value.
Should be in the sketch prior to upload
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 07:14 PM
Dark Yet??
Barn-E-Stormer's Avatar
United States, VA, Narrows
Joined Dec 2009
1,425 Posts
I think I made this same mistake.

The variable is "MINCOMMAND" not "MINTHROTTLE".
Barn-E-Stormer is offline Find More Posts by Barn-E-Stormer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Hangar 9's Piper J-3 Cub 40 Plug-N-Play PNP Plug N Play Evo 46NT Powered ARF Review tailskid2 Scale Fuel Planes 8 Dec 24, 2013 04:08 PM
Help! need new flight controller recommendations n3m1s1s Multirotor Talk 115 Jan 09, 2012 09:38 AM
Article Subsonic's Motrolfly Plug and Play Power System: Motor, Controller & Battery Review Michael Heer Power Systems 27 Dec 16, 2010 12:36 PM
Data Plug 'n Play separates: An Esky CP2 with an E-flight 2 in 1... elan Micro Helis 3 Mar 19, 2010 08:51 AM
Discussion Air Hogs Plug n'Play Flight Deck Simulator trust416 Micro Ready-to-Fly 14 Aug 05, 2007 10:44 AM