HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 05, 2011, 07:15 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2009
5 Posts
Help!
Turnigy 9X aileron servo setup.

Greetings,
I'm new to RC flying and am preparing a Multiplex Easy Glider with a Turnigy 9x V2 transmitter re-kitted with a FrSky V8JT module. I've downloaded the online manuals available for the Turnigy but am having real trouble with getting both ailerons to work as ailerons should - one up, one down.
A few days ago I had them both working, but as spoilers - both 'up' together. Have tried many permutations using the Turnigy menus and now cannot get more than just the right aileron working. I'm sure it is just me, not the Turnigy, but haven't found the secret. The downloaded manuals are not much help.
I keep returning to the Function-Flaperon-State 'Act' - right stick to move setting left-right, but still can't get the left aileron to work. I've got right aileron on CH.1 and have tried Ch.6-7-8 for left aileron.
If anyone can suggest the proper sequence for the programming it would be very much appreciated.
Thanks, Andrew.
nzblacksheep is offline Find More Posts by nzblacksheep
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 06, 2011, 05:52 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,508 Posts
Can't really help you out from your specific TX point of view BUT generally when using a dual servo aileron wing setup in most cases this type of wing setup needs to be activate in the radio and it looks like you already know this.

It’s often referred to as Dual Aileron Wing or Flaperon because this type of setup and programming will allow you to use the ailerons as flaperons.

Generally you will have one servo connected in the normal Aileron channel and the second aileron will generally be connected in an AUX channel or a channel that's not normally use by any other stick control from the radio.

Now if you followed the flaperon programming and it’s still not work, have you confirmed that all the channels on the RX are working by either moving the stick for those channels or the switches. Some radios will have switch label AUX1 for the AUX1 channel on the RX.

Then you have confirmed that the servo for the second aileron is working? I think you mentioned you had them both as spoilers so it should be working.

My guess is that you are simply missing one step in the programming which brings me back to my original statement that not owning this radio I can't help you with more specific programming details.

Hopefully someone will soon.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 04:15 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2009
5 Posts
Thanks Freechip for your answer. You are correct about me probably having missed a step in the programming. I went through it all again today and among other things, checked out the left aileron in the right aileron channel, and it works ok, so both servos are ok. But I'm still looking for that missing step and haven't found it. When I do find it I'll post the result.
Andrew.
nzblacksheep is offline Find More Posts by nzblacksheep
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 12:08 PM
Suspended Account
Panorama City, CA
Joined Sep 2004
5,566 Posts
Have you entered value for both up and down of the second aileron and pressed Menu key to keep it in memory?

If flaperon was working initially, repeat the procedure you followed previously.

If flaperon was not working from the beginning, I was going to say the program was corrupt. 9X is often found with non-functioning corrupt program.
John Kim is offline Find More Posts by John Kim
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 09, 2011, 12:27 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2009
5 Posts
Hi John Kim, Thanks for your note. I have tried 100-100 on both aileron 1 and 2 but I may not have given a quick press to the menu button. (Still getting my head around the programming). I'll have another go at it tonight.
Do you know which channel other people are using for the 2nd aileron?
Andrew.
nzblacksheep is offline Find More Posts by nzblacksheep
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 07:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2009
5 Posts
Turns out my Turnigy 'Flaperon' program is corrupted. A friend with much more experience of the 9X was also unable to program my servos using 'Flaperons', but was able to do it via the 'Aux Channels' program. I just had to do a 'servo-reverse' to get everything working as it should.
nzblacksheep is offline Find More Posts by nzblacksheep
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Turnigy 9X - aileron/rudder mixing? rotagen Radios 9 May 23, 2014 12:12 AM
Discussion Setup your Turnigy 9X for DLG Beetle-Jet Hand Launch 4 Apr 26, 2011 12:52 AM
Mini-HowTo Setup Turnigy 9X for DLG Beetle-Jet Radios 0 Apr 23, 2011 03:53 PM
Question Turnigy 9x problem with servo Skypodx Radios 9 Apr 03, 2011 08:58 AM
Discussion Futaba 6EX dual aileron servo channel setup gpower77 Radios 14 Mar 15, 2011 06:06 AM