SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 11, 2011, 07:39 PM
Registered User
NW England
Joined Jul 2005
620 Posts
Yep that's prob it nem... even if your wm+ has an itg3200/itg3205 on it it's still just a wm+ so comment out the itg-3200 (unless you've connected directly to the chip, which I don't think you've done?)

Hope you get your quad up soon! I'm leaving for Vegas in the morning so I won't be around to help

Ben.
ben123 is offline Find More Posts by ben123
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 11, 2011, 08:56 PM
Registered User
Av8Chuck's Avatar
USA, CA, Thousand Oaks
Joined Feb 2010
1,817 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben123 View Post


Code:
/*******************************/
/****CONFIGURABLE PARAMETERS****/
/*******************************/

/* Set the minimum throttle command sent to the ESC (Electronic Speed Controller)
   This is the minimum value that allow motors to run at a idle speed  */
#define MINTHROTTLE 1300 // for Turnigy Plush ESCs 10A
//#define MINTHROTTLE 1120 // for Super Simple ESCs 10A
//#define MINTHROTTLE 1190

/* The type of multicopter */
//#define GIMBAL
//#define BI
//#define TRI
#define QUADP
//#define QUADX
//#define Y4
//#define Y6
//#define HEX6
//#define HEX6X
//#define FLYING_WING //experimental

#define YAW_DIRECTION 1 // if you want to reverse the yaw correction direction
//#define YAW_DIRECTION -1

#define I2C_SPEED 100000L     //100kHz normal mode, this value must be used for a genuine WMP
//#define I2C_SPEED 400000L   //400kHz fast mode, it works only with some WMP clones

#define PROMINI  //Arduino type
//#define MEGA

//enable internal I2C pull ups
#define INTERNAL_I2C_PULLUPS
Then assuming you have the arduino plugged in then press the "Upload" button (the one in yellow below):



It should compile and upload to your Arduino. Then close down the Arduino IDE and open the Multiwii GUI (it's in one of the directories you downloaded with the sketch, for windows its in a directory called "application.windows" and the GUI itself is called MultiWiiConf1_7.exe).

Click on the ardunios COM port on the left, I think you said yours was COM5?... they should turn green, then click on the START button above the big white box... your gyro readings should now start!

Ben.
Wow, so this thread has nothing to do with plug-n-play.
Av8Chuck is offline Find More Posts by Av8Chuck
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2011, 11:24 PM
Registered User
Hawaii
Joined Feb 2003
5,958 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8Chuck View Post
Wow, so this thread has nothing to do with plug-n-play.
Actually that is part of the plug and play process also.

If you buy a KK controller from Minsoo Kim in Korea or a Paris plug and play or Warthox plug and play board from Multiwiicopter in Australia, you can just plug the board in and fly. However you can also get a lot deeper and play with all the setup if you like.

On the KK controller the gains are set with three pots on the board. However on the MultiWii board the gains are set with the GUI software. So it is a plug and play board but you still have to learn to use the software.
SeismicCWave is offline Find More Posts by SeismicCWave
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2011, 04:58 AM
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
Nottingham Road South Africa/Bedford UK
Joined Feb 2007
3,979 Posts
Plug and Play would be very possible if everybody used exactly the same frames/speed controllers/props/motors etc etc etc.

In a couple of processors time auto tuning will probably happen.

Until then there has to be a bit of trimming either on a GCS or via trim pots.
Gary Mortimer is offline Find More Posts by Gary Mortimer
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2011, 05:31 AM
Suspended Account
UK, Buckinghamshire, High Wycombe
Joined Feb 2007
4,133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeismicCWave View Post
Are you using a ITG3200 gyro pr the Wii Motion Plus. You may want to uncomment the ITG3200 gyro.
cheers bruv will do that today
n3m1s1s is offline Find More Posts by n3m1s1s
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 12, 2011, 05:34 AM
Suspended Account
UK, Buckinghamshire, High Wycombe
Joined Feb 2007
4,133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben123 View Post
Yep that's prob it nem... even if your wm+ has an itg3200/itg3205 on it it's still just a wm+ so comment out the itg-3200 (unless you've connected directly to the chip, which I don't think you've done?)

Hope you get your quad up soon! I'm leaving for Vegas in the morning so I won't be around to help

Ben.
well you already have been a great help Ben loads of info here from you and SeismicCWave especially so cheers bruv hope you have a great hol and come back ere refeshed and ready to answer more Q's though i think SeismicCWave got ya slot covered (or is that i hope lol )
n3m1s1s is offline Find More Posts by n3m1s1s
Last edited by n3m1s1s; May 12, 2011 at 05:38 AM. Reason: used wrong name soz SeismicCWave
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 12, 2011, 05:39 AM
Suspended Account
UK, Buckinghamshire, High Wycombe
Joined Feb 2007
4,133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeismicCWave View Post
Actually that is part of the plug and play process also.

If you buy a KK controller from Minsoo Kim in Korea or a Paris plug and play or Warthox plug and play board from Multiwiicopter in Australia, you can just plug the board in and fly. However you can also get a lot deeper and play with all the setup if you like.

On the KK controller the gains are set with three pots on the board. However on the MultiWii board the gains are set with the GUI software. So it is a plug and play board but you still have to learn to use the software.
do you think im going about this the right way bruv? thats the whole learning thing when it comes to programming boards?
n3m1s1s is offline Find More Posts by n3m1s1s
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 12, 2011, 05:45 AM
Suspended Account
UK, Buckinghamshire, High Wycombe
Joined Feb 2007
4,133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Mortimer View Post
Plug and Play would be very possible if everybody used exactly the same frames/speed controllers/props/motors etc etc etc.

In a couple of processors time auto tuning will probably happen.

Until then there has to be a bit of trimming either on a GCS or via trim pots.
kinda like a Minsoo Kim setup if you buy EVERYTHING from him his kk setup looks great but you need everything he has on his multi if you want your multi to fly like how his flies especially the 1500kv motors matching props and possibly the esc's as well

or a rule of thumb that seems to work for me so far ismatch kv or go slightly higher but try to pick a prop so you end up drawing the same amps (or less) at WOT (full throttle) and you should be nice and stable for the board you fly
n3m1s1s is offline Find More Posts by n3m1s1s
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 12, 2011, 08:32 PM
Registered User
Hawaii
Joined Feb 2003
5,958 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by n3m1s1s View Post
do you think im going about this the right way bruv? thats the whole learning thing when it comes to programming boards?
I figured no matter how plug and play a controller is, the user needs to know how to trouble shoot and adjust. These multi rotors thing is not like a RTF fixed wing. There are some knowledge involved.

So I think the KK controller and the MultiWii controller really offer an entry level view into the world of multi rotors control. If every one has the money to just go out and buy a Dragan Fly the price of multi rotor will stay at $25,000.

Even the really plug and play electronics such as the Gaui GU344, HoverFly. MK Mikrocopter have some learning curve. You need to know how to solder with the MK. You have to learn the interface software with the HoverFly and you have to know how to calibrate the ESCs with the GU344. So why not dive a little deeper and learn to flash different codes into the KK and learn to used the GUI in the MultiWii.

Personally I like the challenge of it and I have learned a lot. I am still learning every day by just reading on this forum.

So that is the long way of saying that I think you are going at it exactly the right way.

The next thing you know you will be playing with BMA 180 accelerometers and ITG3200 gyros on these boards.

Who knows maybe you will be writing a new kind of codes for a different processor for us one day.
SeismicCWave is offline Find More Posts by SeismicCWave
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 08:50 PM
Suspended Account
UK, Buckinghamshire, High Wycombe
Joined Feb 2007
4,133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeismicCWave View Post
I figured no matter how plug and play a controller is, the user needs to know how to trouble shoot and adjust. These multi rotors thing is not like a RTF fixed wing. There are some knowledge involved.

So I think the KK controller and the MultiWii controller really offer an entry level view into the world of multi rotors control. If every one has the money to just go out and buy a Dragan Fly the price of multi rotor will stay at $25,000.

Even the really plug and play electronics such as the Gaui GU344, HoverFly. MK Mikrocopter have some learning curve. You need to know how to solder with the MK. You have to learn the interface software with the HoverFly and you have to know how to calibrate the ESCs with the GU344. So why not dive a little deeper and learn to flash different codes into the KK and learn to used the GUI in the MultiWii.

Personally I like the challenge of it and I have learned a lot. I am still learning every day by just reading on this forum.

So that is the long way of saying that I think you are going at it exactly the right way.

The next thing you know you will be playing with BMA 180 accelerometers and ITG3200 gyros on these boards.

Who knows maybe you will be writing a new kind of codes for a different processor for us one day.
ahhh good just what i wanted to hear bruv

wii wiring was dodgy in places (mine) fixed that just finished linking it all to my test quad so will try and get it all setup in software over the weekend but true missus will be home migh not be no flight till tuesday

but it is coming along
n3m1s1s is offline Find More Posts by n3m1s1s
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 14, 2011, 03:26 AM
Registered User
Hawaii
Joined Feb 2003
5,958 Posts
>>but true missus will be home migh not be no flight till tuesday<<

There is always something to get in the way of our hobby.
SeismicCWave is offline Find More Posts by SeismicCWave
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 06:36 AM
Suspended Account
UK, Buckinghamshire, High Wycombe
Joined Feb 2007
4,133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeismicCWave View Post
>>but true missus will be home migh not be no flight till tuesday<<

There is always something to get in the way of our hobby.
oh you know it bruv but she is a diamond so i'll just wait

no props on yet but i can confirm motors spun up real nice after some head scratching turns out if you got ya wiring right and the motors still wont arm but the esc's make the beeps like they are armed? you might need to swap from "heli" to "acro" all my builds so far have been on a heli setup so flipping to plane was way down on the to do list for checks lol took me hours to suss
n3m1s1s is offline Find More Posts by n3m1s1s
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 14, 2011, 07:04 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,397 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by n3m1s1s View Post
oh you know it bruv but she is a diamond so i'll just wait

no props on yet but i can confirm motors spun up real nice after some head scratching turns out if you got ya wiring right and the motors still wont arm but the esc's make the beeps like they are armed? you might need to swap from "heli" to "acro" all my builds so far have been on a heli setup so flipping to plane was way down on the to do list for checks lol took me hours to suss
You need to set the EPA of the throttle and yaw channels to somewhat around 110 - 120% to make the motors arm/disarm.

btw: I wonder why you don't ask your questions in the main MW thread (or my blog). You'll meet experienced MultWiiers there.
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 07:13 AM
Suspended Account
UK, Buckinghamshire, High Wycombe
Joined Feb 2007
4,133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
You need to set the EPA of the throttle and yaw channels to somewhat around 110 - 120% to make the motors arm/disarm.

btw: I wonder why you don't ask your questions in the main MW thread (or my blog). You'll meet experienced MultWiiers there.
because you will answer my questions instantly bruv but info will be lost in 2 days here i can make all my noob mistakes and/but get info i need at my pace its much easier for me to recap over 5/6 pages and refresh my memory and i can slowly build myself up to speed here then come on your blog and get clued in when i want to try some more advanced stuff

also if anyone reads this thread i want themto get the impression that they CAN do it without any knowledge as there really are lots of clued up people here to help you
n3m1s1s is offline Find More Posts by n3m1s1s
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 14, 2011, 12:30 PM
Suspended Account
UK, Buckinghamshire, High Wycombe
Joined Feb 2007
4,133 Posts
Pipo arrived today
n3m1s1s is offline Find More Posts by n3m1s1s
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion PARIS Aerial Photography Plug-n-Play boards for MultiWiiCopters AlouetteIII Multirotor Electronics 4537 Dec 23, 2014 11:40 PM
Article Hangar 9's Piper J-3 Cub 40 Plug-N-Play PNP Plug N Play Evo 46NT Powered ARF Review tailskid2 Scale Fuel Planes 8 Dec 24, 2013 05:08 PM
Discussion warthox FPV Plug-n-Play boards for MultiWiiCopters AlouetteIII Multirotor Talk 22 Jan 31, 2012 03:45 AM
Sold warthox FPV - MultiWiiCopter board - v2.0 Plug-n-play Huskiemuskie Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 May 05, 2011 08:08 AM
Discussion Air Hogs Plug n'Play Flight Deck Simulator trust416 Micro Ready-to-Fly 14 Aug 05, 2007 11:44 AM