HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 14, 2012, 04:14 PM
Registered User
near Chicago
Joined Apr 2008
276 Posts
I bought the DX7s three weeks ago. DOA! HH had to replace the antenna & RF module. My DX6i went back 4 times before they replaced it. So 1 down,...

Chuck
clp.eng is offline Find More Posts by clp.eng
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2012, 05:32 PM
You can't take the sky from me
copperbricks's Avatar
United States, OH, Cincinnati
Joined Aug 2011
1,083 Posts
Today I mailed out my sold Dx7s, and picked up an aurora 9 at my lhs. Not dissappointed- a lot more functionality at a marginally higher price
copperbricks is offline Find More Posts by copperbricks
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 02:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2006
1,067 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by copperbricks View Post
Today I mailed out my sold Dx7s, and picked up an aurora 9 at my lhs. Not dissappointed- a lot more functionality at a marginally higher price
I went with the original Dx7 manufactured by JR. It wont have all the bells and whistles of the new shiny transmitters but I doubt it will ever fail me either.

Does the Aurora 9 have some clones Rxs out at all? I might look into other brands if there are reasonably priced Rxs, I am way too cheap to pay $60-120 per Rx.
Kurpal is offline Find More Posts by Kurpal
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 02:46 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,083 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurpal View Post
... I doubt it will ever fail me either. ...
Becareful of the BACKUP MEMORY ERROR, it will brick your TX and you will have no choice but to send it in for service.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 03:57 PM
You can't take the sky from me
copperbricks's Avatar
United States, OH, Cincinnati
Joined Aug 2011
1,083 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurpal View Post
I went with the original Dx7 manufactured by JR. It wont have all the bells and whistles of the new shiny transmitters but I doubt it will ever fail me either.

Does the Aurora 9 have some clones Rxs out at all? I might look into other brands if there are reasonably priced Rxs, I am way too cheap to pay $60-120 per Rx.
No clones, but full range minima 6s can be had for about $38 a pop. And then full range optima 6s with built in voltage telemetry are only about 48-50, and 130 for a three pack. The other two Optima receivers (more channels) have the same features, plus capabilities for a full house telemetry system, and the price for them goes up in about $15 dollar increments:
copperbricks is offline Find More Posts by copperbricks
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 04:54 PM
Registered User
seefest's Avatar
United States, MA, Bristol
Joined Sep 2009
1,561 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by copperbricks View Post
No clones, but full range minima 6s can be had for about $38 a pop. And then full range optima 6s with built in voltage telemetry are only about 48-50, and 130 for a three pack. The other two Optima receivers (more channels) have the same features, plus capabilities for a full house telemetry system, and the price for them goes up in about $15 dollar increments:
Go Nitro.com has O6's on e-bay for $42 or so, 3 packs for $108.

I wish HK had a clone out even though the genuine receivers are pretty reasonable.
seefest is offline Find More Posts by seefest
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 06:52 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2006
1,067 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
Becareful of the BACKUP MEMORY ERROR, it will brick your TX and you will have no choice but to send it in for service.
Sending it back once after 5 years is better than sending it in 5 times in less than 1 year .

I have heard of that bug, it seems to be the biggest/worst one of the Tx has suffered.
Kurpal is offline Find More Posts by Kurpal
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 07:21 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,083 Posts
Hey some people rather drive a mustang that's in the garage once a month then drive a focus.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:09 PM
Registered User
kushal_22's Avatar
Kamloops
Joined Dec 2001
6,844 Posts
Can Someone help me with finding throttle elev Mix with the DX7S

I cannot find it for the life of me

Thanks
Mal
kushal_22 is offline Find More Posts by kushal_22
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:17 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Aug 2009
955 Posts
Custom mix 1 ?
pach is offline Find More Posts by pach
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 06:45 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Cedar Park
Joined Oct 2011
109 Posts
I'm finishing up on my Hangar 9 Twin Otter and running into something I can't figure out. While everything seems to work OK the problem is the left elevator. When I make a Mid Flap % change (or Land % change) in the Flap System menu the flaps move as expected but so does left elevator. Nothing has been entered into the Elevator side, everything is 0%

Current config with stock receiver:

Wing Type:
Wing: 1 Aileron 2 Flaps
Tail: Dual Elevator

Throttle: Y-plug to motors
Aileron: Y-plug to Ailerons
ELEV: Left Elevator
Rudder: Y-plug to Rudder and Nose gear
Gear: Right Elevator
Aux 1: Right Flap
Aux 2: Left Flap

Any ideas as to why the left elevator would move when I'm making Flap % changes?
sq0nk is offline Find More Posts by sq0nk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 07:41 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,083 Posts
Can you post your SPM file here so we can have a look at it. Pretty sure Andy's going to ask the same thing.

Change the xxxx.SPM to xxxx.TXT and upload here.

Why did you opt to use 1 aileron and 2 flaps? Just curious.

When selecting 1 Aileron and 2 flaps and dual elevator tail

The servo arragement the DX8 selects does not match what you describe.

Throttle
Aileron
Elevator - Right Elevator
Rud
Gear
Aux1 - Right Flap
Aux2 - Left Flap
Aux3 - Left Elevator.

On a fresh new blank model.
1 Aileron and 2 Flap wing type
2 elevator tail type

25% mid flap
50% land flap

No movement on both elevators.

Chances are you have something/programming that you don't see right away that is affecting your elevator/s.

Any chances you have other mixing/programming and are you sure you have the servos connected where the DX8 wants you to connect them? If you look at the servo monitor screen it renames the channels that should be a good indication of where to plug the actual servos.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Last edited by freechip; Apr 29, 2012 at 07:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 09:01 PM
AMA 125691
wmcneal's Avatar
Jacksonville Florida
Joined Jul 2002
2,241 Posts
I ran into a similar problem on another twin otter. The pilot had the wrong wing type selected. Just something to double check.
wmcneal is offline Find More Posts by wmcneal
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 09:29 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
22,078 Posts
You created left elevator on Gear by using a mix. That's the problem.

Your elevator > gear mix takes the elevator INPUT (the stick) and connects it to the gear output. What you really want to do is connect the elevator FUNCTION to the gear output, but the DX8 does not provide a was to do that.

To gain access to the flap system functions on the elevator, you need to plug the left elevator into the Aux3 port on the receiver.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 12:46 PM
Registered User
SMCLEODVT's Avatar
Joined Nov 2009
978 Posts
i had same issue - its your wing type selection
SMCLEODVT is offline Find More Posts by SMCLEODVT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Spectrum dx7 like new bhood Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 14 May 03, 2011 07:51 AM
Sold Spectrum DX7 Like new, Airplane, Mode 2... Joe in Dublin Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Apr 06, 2011 08:37 PM
Discussion New Spectrum DX8 Registration iwchris Radios 6 Mar 31, 2011 02:10 PM
Sold Brand New DX7s Air Mode 2 190.00 shipped Pri Mail rino Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Dec 22, 2009 11:26 PM
Question Speculation on new Dx7s? spython Radios 1 Oct 01, 2008 08:34 AM