HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 01, 2011, 06:41 AM
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2005
1,026 Posts
Discussion
Clarification of Styles of Planes and Styles of Flying

Hi Guys

I am a Heli pilot looking to get into fixed wing aircraft and have a few Newbie questions for you.

The main question is

What is the main difference between Sport planes and 3D planes?

What is the difference between flying styles or methods?

Can a sport Plane do 3D and can a 3D plane fly sport?

e.g.
I am a big fan of the Precision Aerobatics Katana MD and Addiction X

The Addiction X is to me a true 3D aircraft and the Katana MD more of a sport plane. But both are marketed as 3D.

However I cannot really tell the difference between and Edge 540 and a and AJ Slick or a Velox or an Sbach etc etc!!

What are the main characteristics of a particular plane that makes it either a sport plane or a 3D plane?

Also

It seems almost every RC plane these days, no matter what style of plane it is, is capable of some Aerobatics. Loops Rolls Knife Edge etc etc.

At what stage do basic aerobatics become sport flying or 3D?

Thanks in advance for any clarification on the subject!

Cheers
Ben
wazzer is offline Find More Posts by wazzer
to remove ads between posts
Old May 01, 2011, 06:54 AM
Fueled by Arabica Beans
United States, NY, Syracuse
Joined Oct 2008
3,679 Posts
It's really hard to say where the cut off is, the main requirement for 3D is that you have giant control surfaces and a lot of throw. There are planes specifically designed for this like the Addiction, and then there are planes that are simply capable with the right setup... planes like the Extra 300 or Edge 540. Those scale models that are of Unlimited class aerobatic planes are often capable with an aft CG, lower pitched props and larger control throws. I don't really know how to define 3D however, all I can say is it usually involves a lot of hovering, and some maneuvers are simply called 3D, and some are not.