HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2011, 02:56 PM
master of the universe
captaingeek's Avatar
USA, CA, Novato
Joined Jul 2008
3,076 Posts
Discussion
can you use a single esc to run 2 motors?

lets say you have 2 10A brushless motors and a 20A ESC. can you use the single ESC to run both motors?
captaingeek is offline Find More Posts by captaingeek
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2011, 03:23 PM
Reduce the drama...
rick.benjamin's Avatar
USA, OR, Damascus
Joined Apr 2004
4,044 Posts
Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.
I would use a 30a ESC in the experment.
rick.benjamin is offline Find More Posts by rick.benjamin
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2011, 03:57 PM
Registered User
Ireland
Joined Apr 2001
4,031 Posts
No problem with dc (brushed) motors but ac/3 phase (brushless) might not start up if not exactly the same.
So if you want to try you must use 2 exactly the same motors and props.
The reason is that the coil that will be powered by the esc is "decided" after measuring the location of the magnets.
It can only do that for one motor so if the other "gets behind" when turning (and when starting) the wrong coil in that motor will be powered and then the motor will shake back and forth but not rotate.
cmulder is offline Find More Posts by cmulder
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2011, 05:00 PM
The Fixer
Martin Y's Avatar
Canada, ON, Milton
Joined Jan 2009
3,855 Posts
I've done it, sometimes it works no problem and others you have to play with the throttle a couple of times to get the motors to sync/start up together. Once your flying they go no problem.
Martin Y is online now Find More Posts by Martin Y
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Flyfly Fox Glider
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2011, 05:50 PM
"Unnecessary Necessity"
coriolan's Avatar
Canada, QC, Quebec City
Joined Sep 2006
5,822 Posts
Seems to work well with 2&4 poles inrunners(tried it with two Medusa in DF)
coriolan is online now Find More Posts by coriolan
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can you run 2 brushless motors from 1 ESC??? SGTalon Power Systems 1 Jun 30, 2006 10:20 AM
Can I use a 2 cell brushless ESC with a single cell micro joule system? Matthew Cotten Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 2 Jul 05, 2005 10:19 AM
can you run 2 motors on one speed controler jswjimmy Power Systems 8 Nov 22, 2004 05:52 PM
can you run 2 brushless motors off of one esc? jeff262 Power Systems 4 May 31, 2004 12:39 AM
Can you run 2 brushless motors off of one ESC nikolaus_c Power Systems 1 Jul 05, 2003 12:44 PM