HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 27, 2011, 09:00 AM
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Nov 2004
186 Posts
Discussion
Need Input on Large Heli Purchase

I am new to large electric helis and kits. I am wanting to buy my 1st large electric heli and donít want to spend a ton of money. I donít want to do 3D but just want to sport around.

What is a clone?

What would be the best dollar value for my first 550 - 700 size. I am willing to do upgrades on any kits.

Iíve looked some at the HK and Chaos Kits but I donít know what I am looking at.

I have been flying RC planes for 10 years....use a DX7 radio.....and consider myself a good intermediate heli flyer. I would want to set up my large heli in low rates for sports flying.
rnorth is offline Find More Posts by rnorth
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 27, 2011, 09:05 AM
United States, CA, Ventura
Joined May 2010
216 Posts
I had good luck with the HK600GT. Had to change the the tail drive gear, main gears, added the RJX flybarless head with the Turnigy flybarless electronics. It was a simple build and it flies great. No issues aside from my own learning curve with the flybarless setup.
weimer20 is offline Find More Posts by weimer20
Old Apr 27, 2011, 09:18 AM
Will fly for food.
United States, TX, Killeen
Joined Jul 2002
402 Posts
You cannot go wrong with the Chaos. The price is right, the kit is complete and you only have to upgrade what you want to upgrade, but no upgrades are required.

$500'ish shipped...can't go wrong.

Jon
Jonathan Ott is offline Find More Posts by Jonathan Ott
Old Apr 27, 2011, 09:44 AM
Blue Bell, PA USA
Joined Sep 2008
911 Posts
If you are looking for a 450 sized heli (which may be bit less "intimidating" for your first heli), consider the Helios 450S Complete Package... you get everything for $250.
Steve Joblin is offline Find More Posts by Steve Joblin
Old Apr 27, 2011, 12:10 PM
Joined Jul 2008
1,653 Posts
Check out the Century Swift NX combo with the 600+motor and their 85A ESC.