Old Apr 23, 2011, 08:19 PM
There's Something in the Air
United States, NH, Hillsborough
Joined Jul 2005
269 Posts
Help!
PVA Application Issues

Hi all,

This is my first time using PVA and it did not come out as I had expected, planned, or desired. So I'm looking for advice on technique or alternatives.

Here is the problem in detail: I have a set of half-plugs (left and right fuselage sides) mounted to a backer-board and inside a frame. The plugs have been painstakingly finished and primed and sanded all the way down to 1200-grit sandpaper followed by #0-0-0-0 steel wool to buff the primer surface up to a nice shine. I followed this with 5 coats of wax, buffing, and polishing between coats. Everything was nice and shinny

Now comes the step that failed. I brushed on a thin coat of PVA and let it dry, then over an hour later added a second coat of PVA to the plug and the board. I let the whole assembly dry for 4 hours. Since this is my first time with PVA I also ran a test piece of flat wood side-by-side of the plugs. The flat piece looks better but the gracefully rounded and sanded plugs show visible brush-strokes and running my hand over the plugs I can feel pin-prick sized high points and an occasional drip.. I know if I went from here to applying the tooling resin, all of these unwanted features would be perfectly transfered to the tool.

So I peeled off a piece of the offending PVA and applied another coat but have the same results. From what I've read, the PVA should flow smooth as it dries and that brushing it own it the way to go -- it seems to work fine on flat surfaces.

Ok, so I'm asking the experts for some advice on how to get past this PVA issue and get on to building my tool -- I have three to complete.

Thanks in advance,
John
Ne-Aero is offline Find More Posts by Ne-Aero
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 23, 2011, 08:44 PM
Just fly it!
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
I spray it with a gravity feed spray gun when I want the best finish.