HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 22, 2011, 09:17 AM
Canada, NS, Liverpool
Joined Apr 2011
122 Posts
Help!
TP-610c, batteries, and balancing, oh my!

Hi all,

Complete newbie here...I've been reading up on RCGroups for a week now though. I just received a Super Cub and a bunch of other equipment from a private seller. Among that equipment is a ThunderPower TP-610c with attached balancing board (I assume that's what that is, anyway); a power supply with red and black terminals; two Rhino 11.1V 1350mAh 3s 25C batteries; and one mystery battery (it's wrapped in black hockey tape, and appears to be about the same physical size as the two Rhinos). EDIT: I unwrapped the black hockey tape--it appears to be a "home constructed" 3s battery, which I'm assuming for now is the same type as the other Rhino batteries (obviously I'd want to check that somehow, although I don't know how).

Now, I have no idea what state these batteries are in. They could all be totally dead, or they could all be fully charged--either is equally possible. The seller was getting rid of everything because he had to move and "wouldn't have time for his hobby"; but he could've last used the batteries two days ago or two years ago. I've sent a couple of emails to him asking, but have yet to receive a reply.

Anyway...so now I want to go fly. I've carefully read the TP-610c manual, and it's as clear as mud to a newbie such as myself. As I said, I've read through RCGroups extensively, and read the stickies in this forum. I know theoretically the difference between a volt and an ampere, I know what C means, etc. None of this helps me figure out what to do now though It doesn't help that I'm very dense when it comes to electrical concepts--I'm not stupid, but understanding batteries and electricity doesn't come naturally to me.