HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 16, 2001, 12:10 PM
closed
Gilbert AZ
Joined Jun 2001
9,323 Posts
Public School Flying Field

HI All.

I have been flying my Pico Stick FD on a Public School football field. Most of my flying is on the weekend or after school hours when the kids have gone home. I have been doing this for several months now without any problems. I didn't get permission from the school to do this and my biggest fear is being thrown off the school property. Does anyone else fly on Public School property with or with out permission? If you got permission how did you get it. Thanks.

David
fly4fun is offline Find More Posts by fly4fun
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 16, 2001, 01:31 PM
Canada, NS, Lunenburg
Joined Oct 1999
3,866 Posts
If you ask for permission, the answer will almost certainly be no. If you don't ask for permission, it's quite likely that anyone seeing you will assume you do have permission and will leave you alone.

BUT - Look closely at your insurance policy. Some say that if you don't have permission, you don't have insurance. If you don't have third party insurance, stop flying until you do.
DaveSawers is offline Find More Posts by DaveSawers
Old Oct 16, 2001, 02:19 PM
Most Exalted Windbag
Newark, DE USA
Joined May 2001
1,632 Posts
I began eflight in June of this year. I found a public school 5 minutes away. Great Macadam parking lot and large field. I'm retired and flew there just about every day at daybreak. One time there were two cop cars parked there. I guess the guys were chatting and eating donuts. I pulled out my Bleriot III and flew for as long as I normally would have. I had to restrict my usual pattern so as not to go too close to the cops since the parking lot is my landing strip. One of them left before I was finished flying. I didn't bother them, they didn't bother me.