HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 15, 2011, 07:30 PM
Renegade Eggroll
USA, IL, Chicago
Joined Jan 2011
788 Posts
Discussion
Explain the mechanics of bank and yank

I'm a new pilot and I flew a UMT-28 previously and now a HZ Super Cub. With the UMT-28, when I bank left, I push the stick left and while holding it left, move it down (up elevator). My UMT-28 always nose bank hard into the ground. I gather that it's the wrong way to bank and yank. How do I bank and yank properly? Do I push the stick left, return it to center and then down? Help?
impostor is offline Find More Posts by impostor
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 15, 2011, 07:43 PM
Shelter Kitty "Orange Death"
United States, FL, Monroe
Joined Jan 2008
3,165 Posts
The Cub has a ton of dihedral (wings angle up) this makes the plane want to right itself in a turn.
The T-28 not so much so you have to release the bank, holding it over will roll the plane into the ground.
bartricky is offline Find More Posts by bartricky
Old Apr 15, 2011, 08:35 PM
Wake up, feel pulse, be happy!
United States, AK, Fairbanks
Joined Aug 2009
12,569 Posts
I do the bank and the yank at the same time so that the stick is moving diagonally, though usually on a slight curve so that the bank comes in a bit before the yank.

The main problem you're probably having is that you're giving it too much bank and not enough yank; the yank part will help to keep the nose up but as the roll angle increases, the elevator just starts to cause problems.

For the T-28, you may want to add a bit of opposite rudder during turns. It's known as a coordinated turn and it helps to keep the nose up.
C₄H₁₀ is online now Find More Posts by C₄H₁₀
Old Apr 15, 2011, 09:12 PM
WARNING: May contain spam
United States, CA, Alpine
Joined Oct 2007
21,001 Posts
You have to vary your aileron input to keep the airplane in the same bank angle. Seems complicated, but eventually you will get it- holding roll input amidst a turn is not going to work out